Granular Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Granular Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Granular Co-Founder and CEO Sid Gorham (no image)
Sid Gorham
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to learn and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time

    Pros

    - Great work environment - Dog-friendly office - Fantastic work and life balance - Great learning environment - Some great people - Generous management team - Great future

    Cons

    - Relatively poor compensation compared to other SF/ Bay Area tech companies of similar size - No stock option after the acquisition - Need a tighter relationship across offices (IA, IL, CA) - Not hiring junior engineers in CA... not sure why

    Granular2020-01-08
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Granular full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, tons of flexibility and unlimited PTO

    Cons

    Corporate company still trying to act like a start up

    Granular2019-12-17
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Big Money, Big Egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granular full-time

    Pros

    Excellent devops/cloud engineering practices. Really high-quality and interesting work in remote sensing. Very skilled and dedicated UX people. The company is willing to pay top-of-market for software engineers and has very nice benefits, including 12 week paid parental leave. Agtech is an interesting domain both in business and tech, with lots of potential. There are major cultural differences between the San Francisco office and the others, but the company seems to recognize this and spends a lot of time and money to bring people together across offices.

    Show More

    Cons

    Simplicity, teamwork, and optimism are the official company values, but none of these are truly integral to the culture, at least not in my local office (Des Moines). What is deeply ingrained (and has been since before the Granular acquisition) are big egos and an alpha-male culture. Frequent layoffs and reorgs mean lots of insecure people tooting their horns as loudly as possible, watching their backs, befriending the right insiders. If you admit mistakes or are on a less successful team or product, you will have a target on your back. Humility and servant leadership are not valued. The business always seems to be under enormous pressure to deliver as fast as possible. Every new initiative seems to have a runway of several months at the most before amazing results are expected. Overpromise -> underdeliver -> reorg/layoff -> repeat. The Iowa office has cycled through hundreds of both full-time and contract employees in just the last 2-3 years. The VP of Engineering just resigned, and some of the best devops and remote sensing people have left. The ag economy has been in a slump for the last several years, which isn't making anything easy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show some humility and servant leadership and encourage the rest of the company to follow. Promote more people with boots-on-the-ground ag experience into senior leadership.

    Granular2019-03-05
  4. "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer(Internship) in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Granular for less than a year

    Pros

    All people are very nice

    Cons

    Not much of an intern program

    Granular2018-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "First few months have been great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a ton in my first few months: - creating database migrations - writing API endpoints with Flask - creating and setting permissions on AWS resources with Terraform and Cloudformation - random bits about remotely sensed imagery, like the difference between pixel interleaved and band interleaved data

    Cons

    Coordination between offices can be a challenge

    Granular2018-09-07
  6. "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular for less than a year

    Pros

    They make sure interns are working on projects that are interesting and important without putting too much pressure on you to complete a deadline. I was assigned a project that I really enjoyed working on (geospatial software and its operations), and learned A LOT from it. You are provided with the learning material you need to succeed in it. You're given a lot of independence in the project, and as such gain experience in higher-level planning (e.g. overall architecture). I also learned quite a bit from other people's work, even if they're on other teams. I've also been impressed with the management. Engineering management here is open to your concerns and will act on your feedback.

    Show More

    Cons

    The ramp-up time can be difficult because there are certain parts of the development and deployment workflow that need TLC. The engineering teams are currently undergoing some major restructuring, and while this might not be a direct concern for interns, it might impact the time a mentor can spend. In contrast to my previous position, I also did not notice as much involvement (at least from my POV) with product design.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While I value independence in doing coding projects, I can see why some interns would feel lost. I think for interns that might not have as much experience outside of your typical CS course, it might be helpful to set clear goals for a future intern. I think Granular should also try to make some effort for engineers to interact with the main user base of farmers. having that interaction with users helps build perspective on how your clients approach the product, and can help guide the functionality.

    Show More
    Granular2017-01-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Engineering Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular for less than a year

    Pros

    At Granular, you get to solve really interesting problems in an industry that is seeing a big growth in technology. Agriculture is extremely complex so you really get to apply your engineering knowledge to build robust systems. The engineering team is always looking to improve so if there's a system that's difficult to scale or maintain, they're willing to take a step back and build something better. Work is very impactful and everyone has an opportunity to create a noticeable difference. The team is full of smart people who are very friendly and willing to teach or help each other out with ideas and guidance. Leadership is also very involved without stepping on progress. The engineering team overall is excellent. Perks include unlimited vacation and flexible hours. Breakfast and lunch are provided via Instacart grocery deliveries and usually can accommodate most requests. Catered lunches are provided at least once or twice a week. Occasional offsites and happy hours for team building. Company also provides top notch equipment equipment for your workspace.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a startup in San Francisco with limited funds which means the bar is set very high for employees to perform. It's not a place for someone to just get by. Expect to work hard during working hours and occasionally rise to the occasion during crunch time. Industry is very complex so you may feel lost understanding the system and/or workflows. Can easily be left behind if not ambitious and a go-getter. Learning curve to pretty steep and climbing it is not for everyone. Average startup perks, medical benefits. Could always use more pay. Company is still identifying it's culture but it's visibly moving towards the right direction.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow selectively. We have a lot of hard work ahead of us and can use the right people. Keep building morale and culture up by encouraging everyone to have fun and enjoy what we're building. Sometimes it's easy to get too focused on goals and not enjoy the journey.

    Granular2016-05-24
  8. "Great place to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granular full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities to get

    Cons

    I dont kmow, pay maybe

    Granular2018-05-19
Found 8 reviews