Grassroots Campaigns Reviews | Glassdoor

Grassroots Campaigns Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 488 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Grassroots Campaigns CEO Douglas H Phelps
Douglas H Phelps
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Canvassing has been one of the single greatest experiences I've had in my professional career(in 65 reviews)

  • "Great people, high morale, fantastic values(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is everything that sucks about canvassing(in 127 reviews)

  • "Sometimes long hours however you are compensated well(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO

      I worked at Grassroots Campaigns part-time

      Pros

      Great people, casual environment, a lot of flexibility and also a lot of opportunities to work and pick up shifts!

      Cons

      Canvassing can be tough work depending on the day, but it is still rewarding!

      Grassroots Campaigns2018-12-09
    • "Ok but not for everyone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Canvasser 

        I worked at Grassroots Campaigns full-time

        Pros

        It's a great learning experience and good for activism.

        Cons

        Needs better equipment and raps to get the information out there but that also helps make a great connection with the people you are talking to.

        Grassroots Campaigns2019-07-15
      • "It is just an Okay job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Canvasser 

          I have been working at Grassroots Campaigns full-time

          Pros

          This job has a youthful feel as most employees are young adults, so if your coworkers are fun the job will be fun. Also you spend your days outside, experiencing the world instead of being cooped up in an office.

          Cons

          The high turnover rate and general job instability. This job requires a lot of mental stamina as you spend most of your time being rejected and ignored, so there's a high burnout rate as well.

          Grassroots Campaigns2019-06-30
        • "Awful Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Field Manager in Boston, MA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Grassroots Campaigns full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The people you work with will make it bearable.

          Cons

          The quota/review system is designed to keep turnover high, so don’t think you’re sticking around.

          Advice to Management

          Stop engaging in illegal anti-union activity.

          Grassroots Campaigns2019-07-19
        • Helpful (1)

          "Eh"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Canvasser in Chicago, IL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Grassroots Campaigns part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Positive environment; co-workers very supportive and nice

          Cons

          More physically and emotionally taxing than the pay reflects; job is always on the line if you don't make quota

          Grassroots Campaigns2019-06-12
        • "Recommendation: Not worth your time"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Canvasser in Washington, DC
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Grassroots Campaigns part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Good Cause, Reputable, Wonderful Mission

          Cons

          Disheartening, doesn't pay enough, part of the job is to be treated badly from strangers, but that's typical of any canvassing job.

          Grassroots Campaigns2019-07-18
        • "DO NOT WORK HERE"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Assistant Director in Philadelphia, PA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Grassroots Campaigns full-time

          Pros

          There are no pros to working at this company

          Cons

          Extremely long hours Minimal pay No overtime (even though an average workweek is 60 hours here) Horribly mismanaged and unorganized Does not treat employees well No work-life balance

          Advice to Management

          You should actually start caring about all of your employees, rather than just exploiting them to make a profit. Offices also need to be more organized and well managed. Copious amounts of time are wasted because all employees must share one laptop and one phone, and many daily tasks are either left uncompleted or completed long after the 10-hour workday because only one person is in the office all day. Extremely disappointed...

          Show More
          Grassroots Campaigns2019-07-18
        • "Toxic Work Environment - Pressure Cooker"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Career Opportunities
          Former Employee - Field Manager 
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at Grassroots Campaigns part-time

          Pros

          Got to meet some cool people.

          Cons

          Incredibly toxic work environment. Fundraising numbers dominate everything, which is understandable to a certain point. You will get screamed at by the Assistant Directors if you don't have a good fundraising days. Not a great place to work.

          Grassroots Campaigns2019-07-15
        • Helpful (4)

          "Feeling hopeless"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Assistant Canvass Director 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Grassroots Campaigns full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Some of my closest friends are former directors and canvassers from my office. You'll meet good people who can be friends for life.

          Cons

          I've just felt completely depressed. I've been unable to spend time with my significant other, my friends, even to call my family. Work is consuming my life. My boss makes me feel extremely uncomfortable. I find his anger to be explosive and unprofessional in a workplace. I personally feel that his behavior towards young women in college is alarming. The past few months I've been completely isolated from anything that...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Please, I beg of you, pay attention to your glassdoor reviews. Pay attention to mental health claims. Some of us are teetering on the edge.

          Grassroots Campaigns2019-06-11
        • Helpful (1)

          "Great Place to Work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Grassroots Campaigns full-time

          Pros

          Get a lot of managing experience in an entry level positions, get to raise money for great causes you believe in, ability to be promoted quickly if you demonstrate that you are good at canvassing, raising money, and recruiting a large team

          Cons

          The hours can be long

          Grassroots Campaigns2019-04-05
        Found 488 reviews