Gravity Jack Reviews | Glassdoor

Gravity Jack Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Luke Richey
0 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Gravity Jack for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay good people friendly

    Cons

    None it is a great place

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2018-09-26
  2. "I love being a part of shaping the future in AR."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Interactive Designer in Liberty Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gravity Jack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get to work on some pretty innovative projects using Augmented Reality in a variety of use cases. Every day brings new and exciting challenges to tackle. We have a great team of thinkers and problem solvers.

    Cons

    The only cons I see are the limitations of current tech in the space. AR makes the imagination run wild. And sometimes the technology just isn't there yet. The big word is "YET".

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2018-05-10
  3. "Creating The Future Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gravity Jack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team is very collaborative and great at communicating between departments. Throughout my time here I always felt like a valuable team member who's ideas an opinions were being heard an implemented. Every project is different as Gravity Jack works with cutting edge technology. That requires the team to solve unique solutions, often to questions that haven't been answered before. Great benefits including unlimited PTO!

    Cons

    As in any small business all employees wear many hats working on many projects at once. While this keeps all employees involved longer in the process it takes away from the time that can be spent on refining each project.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2017-10-05
  4. "Innovative and driven company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Producer in Liberty Lake, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gravity Jack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A tight knit community of incredibly intelligent and creative individuals. I never felt uncomfortable working with any other player on the team, and everyone is incredibly agile in the way they work. The office space is great, and employees are respected (flexible time off and work from home when necessary, stocked kitchen, HTC Vive and other gaming fun for lunch or after work, etc etc). The benefits package for health, dental, vision, and 401k were shockingly awesome for a company of that size.

    Cons

    Not cons at all, but instead, expectations you should have going in to a job with GJ: - Be ready to work in a very independent environment. Your ideas will be valued, and likely awesome. Create, but never be afraid to ask questions of your peers. Learn the specific roles of each person on the team (sales, QA, Unity dev, back end dev, modeler, videographer, etc) and figure out who to go to with which questions you have. - Do not be afraid to contribute to creative discussions, and do not be upset or offended if your idea isn't the right one for a particular project. The best idea is always implemented, and oftentimes your seed of an idea that is initially rejected will be changed and blossom in to the best solution. - Client needs are always first, so respect their ideas even if they don't seem to click. Many clients are open to our creative suggestions (my favorite type of client) but if they have something oddly specific in mind, get it done! - Be ready to drink from a firehose! You will hit the ground running, but you have a crew of individuals who will happily support you during those likely confusing first months.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2016-11-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing projects and good environments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gravity Jack

    Pros

    Incredibly fun and challenging projects Good work culture

    Cons

    New employee intake wasn't the best, but if you're the type of person who likes to go out of your way to meet people it will be perfect.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2016-10-11

    Gravity Jack Response

    October 18, 2016CEO

    Hey there -- and thank you for this incredible review. As you know, our culture is priority number one and will always have a direct influence on the work that we do and the way that we meet the expectations of our clients. So, I'm incredibly glad that it's one that breeds fun and excitement for the work we do. Thank you, also, for your input regarding our on-boarding. It's timely, as our team has been working on a brand new approach to our entire on-boarding process that we're polishing up and preparing to share with the team for 360º feedback in the coming weeks. We appreciate your thoughts and wish you the best! Come by and visit anytime!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Incredibly low standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gravity Jack

    Pros

    Some of the developers are very intelligent.

    Cons

    The place is a meat grinder. High turnover rate, and a disappointing lack of quality in all of the products. The existing code bases for the projects were a complete mess. Management routinely lied to clients and employees. The attitude of most employees was tarnished by a complete lack of faith in management. Seemed like most employees were trying to find better employment the entire time they were there.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2016-10-08
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Not what it seems."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liberty Lake, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gravity Jack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Truly thought this place would be amazing to work for while providing a dynamic work culture. Sadly, it is not. Management is absolutely horrid and the work culture can only be described as misogynistic, low energy, good ol boys club. Can't overemphasize how polluted management is and how it influences a poor work culture. Lack of diversity is stating it lightly. It's a sausage fest with a meathead mentality. Three women work here/there and zero Hispanic/Latino, African Americans, Asian Americans. Inexcusable in this day and age! There is no official training for new hires and you are expected to dig and search for answers as if you are on a scavenger hunt. This is NOT an exaggeration. When suggested that there should be a protocol for new hires and business processes clearly laid out, management laughed and said it was unnecessary. The CEO's personality is detrimental to the work culture and severely cripples the employees. You basically have three guys that run the place and produce the poor working environment (not the Dr, though). I can't see things changing unless they are replaced. This will never happen, though. They will literally take on contracts and lie to clients saying they have the resources to complete the job. What else? Unprofessional work attire by some employees who literally walk around in miniskirts schmoozing clients who are visiting from out of town, as if somehow that's supposed to be a good representation of the company.

    Cons

    The president and CEO set the tone for it's employees and what kind of work environment they wish to have. The GOP tone of the company is ridiculous. The CEO and DDP pompous attitudes are detrimental to an otherwise genuine group of employees. Sad. Unless you're a "man's man" drink Monster energy drinks and love MMA fighting, you're going to struggle to fit in. Zero diversity.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2016-10-02

    Gravity Jack Response

    October 4, 2016CEO

    While the experience that this individual voices is certainly not the experience we would hope for from anyone who has worked alongside our incredible team (nor the transparent, conversational and direct approach we would hope this type of feedback would come through), we wish them only the most incredible success in the future. We absolutely welcome the feedback — as most of the points here address key issues that our team feels incredibly passionate about. Gravity Jack will always be the first to admit that we are not a perfect company. Frankly, any company that feels as though it is, is bound to cease growing and improving -- ultimately, losing the hunger to be an influencer for change. 
 Over the last few years, Gravity Jack has made a great effort to be a leader in not only inland northwest technology, but also in the growth of diversity and jobs available for all genders and ethnicities as well. As many are well aware, this is no small task.
 As of this year, Gravity Jack represents a gender mix of 77% male and 23% female. While we look forward to to the day where this number is more balanced, on both the national level and worldwide, the honest reality is that our team has managed to closely meet many of the world's major companies that share our space within the tech industry. These companies exist in the most competitive job markets and are blessed with access to incredible resources, allowing them to implement massive diversity initiatives. This includes Intel (75/25), Apple (69/31), Twitter (70/30), Google (70/30), Instagram (61/31), and Facebook (68/32). Gravity Jack’s ability to meet a similar level of diversity despite a far different market and level of available resources is something our team is incredibly proud of, but not yet content with. We continue to do all we can to improve the opportunities available in the northwest for all. 
 When it comes to ethnic diversity, this is a front that Gravity Jack continues to work to improve as well — and one that we can whole heartedly agree is not yet there. Our team is an equal opportunity employer and there is not a single individual at the company who would consider the race of an applicant as a factor in any interview. There are no excuses for teams that lack a shared dedication to the mission of diversity — but that does not describe Gravity Jack. The facts from Spokane’s latest census are that the Spokane region is represented by a population that is just 6% Hispanic, 3% Asian, 2% African American and 1% Native American. While both the growth of mobile and STEM education are making great strides in opening the world of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics to many students who would have, previously, rarely considered software engineering as a career path, the applicant sample for Gravity Jack is still limited from a diversity perspective. 
 It is Gravity Jack’s discomfort with these realities that have driven our actions. It is one thing to talk about these issues, but taking action is what is required (and the responsibility of any team like Gravity Jack). Gravity Jack’s partnership with (and weekly work alongside) the Spokane NAACP chapter is just one example of how our team is dedicated to being a voice of change, diversity and encouragement for all within the world of technology. Additionally, earlier this year, Gravity Jack created Team.Digital — a collaborative partnership, bringing together the biggest technology companies and organizations in the inland northwest. Team.Digital was formed with the sole mission of working to bring these resources together to proactively address these issues head on, by attracting increased talent and diversity to the region. It is something we’re incredibly excited about. More information is available at http://team.digital.
 The challenges raised here are not unique to (or caused by) Gravity Jack. They are critical, real world responsibilities that each and every company must address and dedicate themselves to improving. 
 Gravity Jack always prefers to have honest, direct and face-to-face interaction but we’re incredibly grateful for the dialogue that this review creates. Our team is humble enough to admit that, while we may be actively taking steps, true, authentic change across an entire industry takes time. There is no doubt: We are not there yet. There will always be more that Gravity Jack is able to do to help support diversity in the northwest and I speak whole heartedly for our team when I say that we will never back down from that responsibility. We are thankful for the opportunity to openly share where our team stands in our mission each day.
 Should anyone have questions that our team can help answer, we fully encourage you to reach out via email (hello@gravityjack.com) or our website. We’d love to listen, discuss, open our doors for a visit or hear how we can continue to be an advocate of change in the amazing and beautiful inland northwest!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Innovative & Exciting: A Great Team to be On!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liberty Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gravity Jack

    Pros

    They support creativity and growth, an internal Shark Tank atmosphere minus Mark Cuban. They are supportive and nurturing while also demanding excellence and accuracy. The place has a "cool vibe" that even uncool people would feel part of as there is no exclusion. They are on the cutting edge of software and systems and their tech creations and ideas are mind-blowing.

    Cons

    I haven't gotten to use the ping pong table yet.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2016-03-16
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Poor Management and Culture - Wouldn't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liberty Lake, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gravity Jack full-time

    Pros

    The work that is done at Gravity Jack is exciting and the clients are great.

    Cons

    Management is poor - lots of egos and stuff said behind your back. The company boasts that they have an awesome culture, yet hardly anyone even so much as says "good morning" or "goodbye" to each other. Basically everyone comes in, sits down with their headphones, does their job and hardly talks to each other, then leaves when the day is over. People tend to point the finger at each other and the environment can seem tense/hostile, rather than working as a team to come to a solution. There is definitely no sense of "family." Management tends to talk bad about employees behind their backs rather than keeping the matter confidential - this should only be a issue discussed between CEO/President and the employee. Management also expects employees to work late when its needed, then criticizes you if you're unable to stay late.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2015-12-07

    Gravity Jack Response

    December 9, 2015CEO

    Well, we’ll be honest: This review is something that we would never hope to hear from any Gravity Jack employee –– former or existing –– but especially from someone who is an active member of our team. Four times each year, every member of Gravity Jack’s team gets a chance to offer feedback, receive feedback and discuss any possible concerns directly with me (CEO) and other relevant leadership in quarterly reviews. In addition to these incredibly valuable conversations, our team proactively takes part in anonymous surveys. Through this, we can confidently say that the overwhelming majority (if not all) of our team would strongly disagree with the sentiments expressed here. One thing we can all agree on is this: As a growing agency, focused on collaboration and, together, creating fun and exciting new experiences for some of the best clients we could ask for, each and every member of our team shares the goal of making Gravity Jack (and our culture) as great as it can be. This includes voicing frustrations in a transparent and constructive way that mirrors and represents the culture that we all hope to continue to foster and provides the entire team the opportunity to proactively respond to and fix on a genuinely personal level. We feel that this is always a far more effective approach to resolving frustrations. While it’s unfortunate to have one person’s anonymous decision affect the rating of our team, we’re confident that it doesn’t define us. Gravity Jack is an entire team of people who are personally invested in the company that we are and the culture we create. To the individual who feels this way, we would encourage you to bring the dialogue to the team in person so we can ensure it’s addressed –– even if we happen to have our headphones in! Just tap us on the shoulder. :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Spokane Valley, Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gravity Jack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I interned at Gravity Jack the previous summer. Between then and my second summer employment, they had really grown a lot. They were at the time of my internship using an agile like methodology. When I came back, they had moved to utilizing scrum in a big way, though not fully. I really appreciate the care and concern for one another. It made it feel like a second family.

    Cons

    Scrum is used primarily as the software lifecycle; however, it is more of a hybrid of that methodology. I do wish that scrum was more adhered to when doing sprints. It would be nice that at the end of sprints a demo day occurred to show progress. I think it would be a great tool for ensuring quality of the project and satisfaction of the client.

    Continue reading
    Gravity Jack2015-09-06
Found 30 reviews