Gray Plant Mooty Reviews | Glassdoor

Gray Plant Mooty Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
David Bahls
5 Ratings
  1. "Terrific place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Plant Mooty full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The people here are great. The firm really makes the effort to stay true its collaborative, respectful firm culture, which has been in place for decades. It's fun to work with really smart people in a collaborative environment.

    Cons

    This may or may not be a con. As is common with law firms, there isn't a lot of hierarchy. For non-attorney positions, you may stay in the same position for awhile before advancement.

    Gray Plant Mooty2017-04-03
  2. "Pick your department wisely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gray Plant Mooty full-time

    Pros

    Great attorneys, solid legacy in Minnesota and worldwide in franchise law.

    Cons

    Marketing and human resources struggle with leadership. Both teams are led by people who lack empathy and believe control, not collaboration, is what it means to be a leader. There is staggering turnover in marketing (terminations and resignations) and the departmental culture is not representative of what the firm stands for.

    Advice to Management

    Take a hard look in to marketing and HR. They have worked very hard to insulate you from the dysfunction and culture of fearing for one's job in their teams.

    Gray Plant Mooty2016-08-19
  3. "Outstanding people and well run firm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Plant Mooty full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    There is a strong sense of collegiality and people genuinely like each other. Health Care, Franchise, Estate Planning, and Employee Benefits are particularly strong practice areas.

    Cons

    Sometimes the firm is too slow to seize opportunities. While the firm is generally transparent, some decisions are made in a black box.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course--firm profitability is on a strong upward trajectory and the firm's dedication to maintaining its strong culture should remain a top priority.

    Gray Plant Mooty2014-10-24
  4. "Great people, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Plant Mooty full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Respectful work environment, talented attorneys, room to grow

    Cons

    Some practice groups can be more challenging than others.

    Gray Plant Mooty2013-08-15
  5. Helpful (4)

    "They talk the talk but don't walk it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gray Plant Mooty full-time

      Pros

      Great training opportunities! Lots of nice people who have been with the firm for a very long time. Beautiful facilities.

      Cons

      The firm likes to think it has a great work/life balance but it's more for show than reality. Attorneys are treated very differently from staff even though they like to think that is not true. HR department is very "clicky" - if they like you (regardless of how well you do your job) you will be reviewed and compensated well, but if you are not in the "in" group with them, watch out! HR seeks input from attorneys and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Put more emphasis on how you treat the staff. It's not all about the attorneys.

      Gray Plant Mooty2013-06-25
    • "Great pay and benefits, stiff group of people."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Attorney, 1st-Year in Saint Cloud, MN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Gray Plant Mooty full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice and supportive superiors that are willing to help young attorneys learn. Great resources, great pay - even at satellite offices.

      Cons

      If you don't work in the Minneapolis office, be expected to be regarded as the red headed step child of the firm. Don't expect to be treated like you exist during video conferences unless you speak up frequently.

      Advice to Management

      Do a better job of describing your expectations to new attorneys.

      Gray Plant Mooty2012-10-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends

      I worked at Gray Plant Mooty

      Pros

      The firm focuses on diversity and a good work/life balance. While I know others around me were unhappy with the management, I never had a problem with communication, workload, and being treated well. I felt like I was recognized for my hard work and when I expressed an interest in going to law school, many of the attorneys I supported and worked with were very helpful in giving me projects that an LAA wouldn't normally...

      Show More

      Cons

      Many of the LAAs have been with the firm for upwards of 10 and 20 years. While most are very nice and welcoming, some were catty, and insantly suspicious of newcomers. Some LAAs also refused to change their practices to conform with the changes in technology, making things difficult and complicated.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to reward those who go above and beyond and do their jobs well.

      Gray Plant Mooty2012-04-04
    • "My experience at GPM has been beneficial in terms of learning new skills and continued knowledge of the law."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant in Minneapolis, MN

      I have been working at Gray Plant Mooty

      Pros

      In general, the employees there are nice and helpful. The firm has up-to-date technology that includes copiers, scanners, and software. The firm stresses the importance in keeping up your skills through various computers classes provided.

      Cons

      The firm has become less flexible in the work hours for its staff. This was due to the layoffs of some of the legal assistants while the remaining legal assistants had to absorb their attorneys. The annual reviews are somewhat unfair. Supervisors tend to "twist" the words from the attorneys in order to find fault, therefore, less percentage in raises.

      Advice to Management

      Management needs to make attorneys accountable in their lack of time management. It seems like management is 'suggesting' that the attorneys meet various deadlines, but there is no disciplinary action if the attorney fails to do so.

      Gray Plant Mooty2011-06-24
    Found 8 reviews