Gray Television Reviews | Glassdoor

Gray Television Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Gray Television CEO Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
42 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Career opportunities, great family working atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creavtive Services Producer in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    comfortable benefits, easy to work with schedules

    Cons

    There is nothing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really.

    Gray Television2019-04-01
  2. "Excellent employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multimedia Marketing Specialist in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    supportive management, excellent income potential, innovative product offerings, rewarding client interaction

    Cons

    can't think of any cons

    Gray Television2018-04-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    progressive, generous, fun, rewarding, industry leader

    Cons

    there are no cons to working at Gray Television

    Gray Television2018-04-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "KVLY Fargo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time

    Pros

    Very good company. Solid benefits. Seem committed to invest in local stations.

    Cons

    No glaring cons that I can think of.

    Gray Television2018-03-14
  5. "Great Compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anchor/Producer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of stations in a variety of markets. Stable Great growth

    Cons

    just typical news industry things. you work holidays. etc.

    Gray Television2018-02-14
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good people that do a good job

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    none

    Gray Television2017-09-27
  7. "Non-partisan News - Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is very serious about being non-partisan. They say to give the facts and trust viewers to make their decisions. In the past year or two, the company has announced a program to help employees financially who have a catastrophe, and matched funds to it. They recently announced matching funds to the Red Cross help with Hurricane Relief. I'm glad they are caring about us this way. Benefits costs are controlled...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you work in a small market, you will have to relocate to move up.

    Gray Television2017-09-20
  8. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time

    Pros

    Very progressive and employee friendly. Best benefits and HR package in the industry.

    Cons

    Very autonomous, which is typically a good thing, but if you are a person who needs constant corporate interaction, that isn't the culture at Gray.

    Advice to Management

    Stay on this trajectory. Changes in benefits, management style, and support are all significantly better than just a few shorts years ago, and it is reflected in our results, our attitudes, and our product quality.

    Gray Television2016-12-19
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good company that is becoming great! They have greatly improved their employee benefits recently and analysts have Gray TV as the top station group of 2015.

    Cons

    Long hours if you want to get ahead and move up but it's that way with any job

    Advice to Management

    Keep the improvements coming and keep buying #1/#2 stations in new markets!

    Gray Television2015-10-29
  10. "Fixed Asset Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fixed Asset Accountant in Albany, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, salary and bonuses.

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything.

    Gray Television2015-08-16
Found 102 reviews