Gray Television Reviews | Glassdoor

Gray Television Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Gray Television CEO Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
43 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Technical Media Producer in Casper, WY

      I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, fun, unlike any other, job security

      Cons

      low pay, poor communication, could be difficult to learn for new

      Gray Television2019-04-14
    • "Gray Bought Our Station and Made it Better!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Newsroom in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Brought in new resources - Motivated to keep good employees - Owns many stations across the country

      Cons

      - Pay isn't particularly competitive - Could make a bigger effort to give employees promotions within the company

      Gray Television2019-04-05
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Director 

      I have been working at Gray Television full-time

      Pros

      People are great and understand

      Cons

      Pay is way lower than expected

      Gray Television2019-03-15
    • "Company as whole was excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The department I worked in had a wonderful team of individuals and the job, with training, was pretty interesting at times.

      Cons

      the benefits can take up half your check if you are not careful but again, with education and a few years under your belt, you can possibly move up, so this would not be a problem. stick with the company if you want to stay in the industry, they are going places slowly, but surely

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Gray Television2018-06-25
    • "Gray Television"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Gray Television full-time

        Pros

        You'll gain good experience in a number of areas.

        Cons

        Management doesn't listen to employee suggestions.

        Gray Television2018-03-31
      • "Okay job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Production Assistant in Fargo, ND
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Gray Television part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great to work for to get foot in the door and they’re willing to hire freshly out of high school/college students with little to no experience

          Cons

          Pay is low, better to work elsewhere like fast food for higher pay.

          Gray Television2018-02-19
        • "Great starter station"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at Gray Television part-time

          Pros

          Great starter station that allows for a lot of room to try new things and work in all aspects of news reporting and production.

          Cons

          A lot of reusing content throughout newscasts and sometimes getting lazy. Not a lot of evaluation from upper management on what to do better.

          Advice to Management

          Give employees more opportunities for reflection and constructive feedback on how to get better and be more innovative and enterprising in storytelling.

          Gray Television2018-02-06
        • "Solid company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Gray Television full-time

            Pros

            401k match, good health insurance

            Cons

            No paternity leave offered to male employees.

            Gray Television2017-11-21
          • "GSM"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Sales Manager in Panama City, FL
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 10 years

            Pros

            Forward thinking company with heavy focus on digital growth. Supportive upper management allowing individual station to operate without overbearing influence. Great way to manage tv stations.

            Cons

            I’ve been with this company for over 10 years and cannot think of a @cin@ to offer here. Sorry.

            Advice to Management

            Keep doing what you are doing... it is working and we are happily employed.

            Gray Television2017-10-25
          • "Growing company"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Executive Producer 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Gray is one of the better media giants. We get upgraded gear, benefits are good, pto rolls over, managed local with regional oversight. Lots of room for growth

            Cons

            Managed local so, hope you have a good GM at the station. Intranet system is hard to use but pushed heavily by corporate. Corporate is slow to respond

            Advice to Management

            Corporate mandates are hard to utilize. It would be nice if prepackaged promos were sent to smaller affiliates

            Gray Television2017-07-26
          Found 103 reviews