Gray Television Reviews | Glassdoor

Gray Television Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Gray Television CEO Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
42 Ratings
  1. "Company as whole was excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The department I worked in had a wonderful team of individuals and the job, with training, was pretty interesting at times.

    Cons

    the benefits can take up half your check if you are not careful but again, with education and a few years under your belt, you can possibly move up, so this would not be a problem. stick with the company if you want to stay in the industry, they are going places slowly, but surely

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Gray Television2018-06-25
  2. "Not much more than expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time

    Pros

    Willingness to hire students right out of college Friendly colleagues (for the most part) Opportunities to try different roles

    Cons

    Experienced paycheck errors on Gray's end News pay rates leave you in poverty Health insurance they have is ROBBERY Environment can be hostile Bottom line is corporate profit exceeds employee prosperity

    Advice to Management

    Pay livable wages. Don't add any more stress on employees in a high pressure industry

    Gray Television2018-07-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    progressive, generous, fun, rewarding, industry leader

    Cons

    there are no cons to working at Gray Television

    Gray Television2018-04-24
  4. "Excellent employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multimedia Marketing Specialist in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    supportive management, excellent income potential, innovative product offerings, rewarding client interaction

    Cons

    can't think of any cons

    Gray Television2018-04-24
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Unethical, corrupt company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Producer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very generous with accrued vacation time. You begin accruing right away, 4 hours per month the first year, then 8 hours per month after that.

    Cons

    This is the honest truth. Gray management, even at the corporate level, advises local management not to allow hourly employees overtime. If you manage to have any overtime, they pressure payroll to illegally change your timecard. I've urged colleagues to report this practice and file complaints. In my state I can't do it in their behalf or I would have already. It's unfathomable to me that they have gotten away with it...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop your illegal practices before you get sued.

    Gray Television2018-05-24
  6. "WOWT NBC OMAHA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Number 2 station in market. Great opportunity to work in a larger market.

    Cons

    Steady stream of employees abandoning a sinking ship. (more then 10% in five months) Toxic management (most people leaving are moving to other industries) The benefits started out very average but continue to get cut in half.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. Focus on higher quality.

    Gray Television2018-05-01
  7. "Gray Television"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gray Television full-time

      Pros

      You'll gain good experience in a number of areas.

      Cons

      Management doesn't listen to employee suggestions.

      Gray Television2018-03-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "KVLY Fargo"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gray Television full-time

      Pros

      Very good company. Solid benefits. Seem committed to invest in local stations.

      Cons

      No glaring cons that I can think of.

      Gray Television2018-03-14
    • "Okay job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Production Assistant in Fargo, ND
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gray Television part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great to work for to get foot in the door and they’re willing to hire freshly out of high school/college students with little to no experience

        Cons

        Pay is low, better to work elsewhere like fast food for higher pay.

        Gray Television2018-02-19
      • "Great Compnay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anchor/Producer 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Lots of stations in a variety of markets. Stable Great growth

        Cons

        just typical news industry things. you work holidays. etc.

        Gray Television2018-02-14
      Found 102 reviews