Gray Television Reviews | Glassdoor

Gray Television Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Gray Television CEO Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
42 Ratings
  1. "Reasonably Progressive Company at the Local Level but Some Senior HQ Suits Utterly Lack Tact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television

    Pros

    The company does a better than average job of running the 36 television stations it owns in 30 small to mid sized U.S. local markets. In an industry beset by change - both technological (e.g. the migration to HD) and economic (e.g. the global economic meltdown of 2008/2009) - Gray has coped better than most. I found local management to be dedicated, hardworking and, in a few cases, exceptional. Local staff was mostly...

    Show More

    Cons

    Larger technological and economic forces afoot in the land make employment at ANY television station an iffy proposition in this day and age. Gray is implementing Ross OverDrive across its entire station group. Inevitably, this automation technology will mean cutbacks in operations staff - particularly in News. Such staff cuts - especially if they are deep - may well bring visits to affected local stations from the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some HQ suits need to get over themselves and realize that the real world at the local station level is where the money is made that makes their compensation packages possible. And they need to understand that the local folk who inhabit these outposts do not necessarily perceive emissaries from Corporate with the same delusions of grandeur as can tend to afflict such visitors from afar.

    Gray Television2010-04-05
  2. "A good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - News Producer 

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Overall nice people at the station I worked for. - You are often overworked, but you learn a lot. - Decent benefits (health, HSA, dental, vision)

    Cons

    The pay is extremely low.

    Gray Television2019-04-12
  3. "Little Engine that Could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    WFIE is a great place to start a news career. Enough veterans to help coach people coming right out of college. 14 News accomplishes a lot with a small staff, and is the dominant #1 in the market because of the people who are behind daily shows. Would put one of their 6pm newscasts up against bigger markets any time.

    Cons

    Consistently understaffed, although that may be more due to the market-size and the number of people going into broadcasting. Newsroom has needed a makeover since about 1995.

    Advice to Management

    Continue encouragement over criticism.

    Gray Television2019-04-04
  4. "A Good Foot in the Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    An understanding company, great working conditions. I enjoy the people I work with and like our management.

    Cons

    Gray Television has grown from a small market TV station company into one of the largest TV companies in the country. Unfortunately, pay hasn't gone up accordingly.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your top talent better before they all leave for other industries.

    Gray Television2019-03-14
  5. "Gray TV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - News Department 

      I have been working at Gray Television full-time

      Pros

      Co-workers are fun to work with.

      Cons

      Benefits are not very good

      Gray Television2019-02-26
    • "Poor Work Atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Gray Television

        Pros

        There are really no pros to this posisiton

        Cons

        Hours, Workload, Training, Work Environment

        Gray Television2018-11-04
      • "They've been reasonable employers."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Chief Meteorologist in Springfield, MO
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Fun job, treated w respect

        Cons

        Weak benefits, low pay, no chance for growth

        Advice to Management

        Management has been fine... Problem is the shrinking industry.

        Gray Television2018-10-16
      • "Okay for first job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Gray Television full-time

          Pros

          Good direction and training by management

          Cons

          Pay was low compared to other companies in similar market sizes

          Gray Television2018-09-25
        • "Broadcast IT Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Broadcast Engineer in Sherman, TX
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Gray Television for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Close to home. Commute not a problem. Benefits offered are close to those of bigger companies.

          Cons

          Management not experienced to handle complex situations properly.

          Gray Television2017-12-15
        • "WCTV"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - News Producer in Tallahassee, FL
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Gray Television

          Pros

          Fun team, understanding management, promotion opportunity

          Cons

          Low pay, expensive benefits, time off growth is slow

          Advice to Management

          Spend more money on your producers and reporters

          Gray Television2016-06-06
        Found 102 reviews