Gray Television Reviews | Glassdoor

Gray Television Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Gray Television CEO Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
43 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadcast Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good experience, Lots of good people and friends

    Cons

    No training, low pay, low or no bonuses, poor benefits, long hours

    Gray Television2016-03-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They care about their employees. Everybody works hard but it's also okay to network and socialize.

    Cons

    Company keeps growing but not adding enough staff to handle the growth.

    Gray Television2016-01-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Company--Management at local level need help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, good parent company, decent compensation.

    Cons

    Too many management changes, current management has no professionalism nor leadership skills. My way or the highway mentality. No training.

    Advice to Management

    More training for management roles and new hires, positive support for current employees. Just because someone has worked in an environment for several years does not mean they know how to manage a whole department!

    Gray Television2016-01-04
  4. "Great first job, I learned a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter in Grand Junction, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment. Tons of experience; writing, editing, producing, and on camera.

    Cons

    Long hours, you often work over-time but your are not allowed to take overtime pay. Low salary.

    Advice to Management

    Increase salary and allow reporters to get paid for the overtime that is often required to re-write stories for multiple shows as well as the web.

    Gray Television2015-01-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good Place to Start, Bad Place for Longevity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of new skills to learn and build resume with, mostly friendly staff, ability to network and meet people with similar goals. SOME managers are absolutely great to work with. A good place to see how the local television industry works.

    Cons

    Vindictive upper management, low pay, raises few and far between and when they do happen they are often so small that you don't really see the increase in pay due to taxes eating it all up. Not much room at all for true advancement. Think waiting 10 plus years for someone else to retire so you could "maybe" get that position. Awful hours, almost no one behind the scenes will ever work normal hours, you are either there...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting money on "random" drug tests to 9.99 times out of 10 NOT bust them. Reinvest money into upgraded technology AS WELL AS the people who use that tech. Think about lowering turnover and the costs of hiring new when you could just reward current employees with REAL raises they truly deserve and in return keep a well rounded, well trained, well experience staff that will actually know what the heck they are doing...

    Show More
    Gray Television2014-08-08
  6. "Good training market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gray Television

      Pros

      Entry Level Training IN A Small market that is tough for new journalists but good experience that can make or break you.

      Cons

      Structured culture and traditional thinking management style. Station departments do not always go with team practices

      Advice to Management

      Let them fly

      Gray Television2014-07-26
    • "Old technology, supportive News Director and Asst News Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Assistant in South Bend, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gray Television part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good leadership in the newsroom, ND and Asst. ND were very involved and supportive of the staff.

      Cons

      Notre Dame is all that mattered. Seemed like PR arm of university. Dated equipment.

      Advice to Management

      Put more money into the technology, competitor was tapeless and high definition in the field while we were up converting off of tape using technology from the 90's. Please invest more money in your on-air product and equipment in the field. Felt hindered by the old, outdated cameras, editing system and workflow.

      Gray Television2014-06-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Hard work, good experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Reporter 
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I was a reporter at one of Gray's entry-level, small stations. Once you get benefits after the first 90 days they are amazing. The management at my station was very smart and supportive. Good company culture.

      Cons

      Low pay. Long hours. Working holidays. One-man-banding all my stories. But that's media nowadays.

      Advice to Management

      Stop updating the editing systems every year and hire some photogs.

      Gray Television2014-06-21
    • "Good Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Meteorologist in Eau Claire, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Easy going work environment and friendly

      Cons

      low pay scale and not much opportunity to move up

      Advice to Management

      None at this time

      Gray Television2014-04-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great first job in the field"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Assistant in Panama City, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gray Television part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Experience. They gave me a chance when no one else would.

      Cons

      Pay. I asked if I could be trained for weekend director, and they informed me that I'd have to learn other jobs that will be phased out first. They are going HD some time this year, and will be reducing the staff. My position was only part times you can not exceed 29 hours a week. But, being there at 4AM, you're too tired to do anything else. If you can live with your parents, or get support elsewhere, it may be worth...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Management was great! They are always doing things for employees. It's not their fault that behind the scenes people don't matter enough to get paid more money and treated differently.

      Gray Television2014-02-27
    Found 103 reviews