Gray Television Reviews | Glassdoor

Gray Television Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Gray Television CEO Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
Hilton H. Howell, Jr.
44 Ratings
  1. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meteorologist in Eau Claire, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy going work environment and friendly

    Cons

    low pay scale and not much opportunity to move up

    Advice to Management

    None at this time

    Gray Television2014-04-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great first job in the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant in Panama City, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience. They gave me a chance when no one else would.

    Cons

    Pay. I asked if I could be trained for weekend director, and they informed me that I'd have to learn other jobs that will be phased out first. They are going HD some time this year, and will be reducing the staff. My position was only part times you can not exceed 29 hours a week. But, being there at 4AM, you're too tired to do anything else. If you can live with your parents, or get support elsewhere, it may be worth...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management was great! They are always doing things for employees. It's not their fault that behind the scenes people don't matter enough to get paid more money and treated differently.

    Gray Television2014-02-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "An interesting job that will not lead to any promotions whatsoever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Media Producer in Harrisonburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you have an interest in the way that TV station works, its a great job.

    Cons

    You will not make very much money or have great benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Pay the TMPs more. They do a lot of work.

    Gray Television2013-07-13
  4. "Fun work, terrible pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Lincoln, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television

    Pros

    The television industry by nature is a fun industry to work in. It's a fast-paced environment and you learn a lot in a small amount of time. Your co-workers know what they're doing and it's a great team environment. Gray has high standards for their stations, and that definitely helps you in the long run, especially if you don't plan on working there the rest of your life. It's a good place to learn the ropes.

    Cons

    You get paid horrendously for the work you do and the hours you put in. I worked on the morning broadcast for a while, which meant getting in by 4 a.m. every day. For that I got paid under seven an hour. You better have another job, savings or generous parents before you take a job with Gray. Many of my co-workers, as well as myself, had a second job to make ends meet.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more.

    Gray Television2009-02-11
  5. "Behind the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are very nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Known for eliminating jobs year after year.

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve Health benefits. Not progressive, very old-school, get up to speed with 2019.

    Gray Television2019-03-31
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Learning opportunity for beginners in news industry, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MMJ, Producer, Anchor in North Platte, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gray-owned KNOP (North Platte, 209) is in a friendly and forgiving market. With a high turnover rate, new MMJs are quickly able to move into anchoring and producing roles. The studio is clean, relatively modern and looks good on air, considering market size. Several longtime personalities help provide good insight on the news industry and the North Platte newsroom is often conducive to developing new skills.

    Cons

    KNOP is one of several Gray-owned stations in a network across Nebraska, so much of KNOP’s management is in Lincoln (over three hours away from North Platte). Management seems out of touch and apathetic toward employees at KNOP. Over recent years, many positions at the station were eliminated, increasing the workload for remaining employees. Management seems to abuse the employees’ willingness to assume these added responsibilities...

    Show More
    Gray Television2018-08-31
  7. "Don't agree with outlook of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Our previous owners were great, caring and genuine. Old broadcasters with class

    Cons

    After hearing the new CEO at last management conference. I can't believe we are owned by this man. The old days of genuine and caring will fall to the waste side with new owner. The vision of the company is fueled by narcissism and desire to inflate thyself. The debt ratios are alarming and they keep buying

    Gray Television2018-07-11
  8. "Not much more than expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time

    Pros

    Willingness to hire students right out of college Friendly colleagues (for the most part) Opportunities to try different roles

    Cons

    Experienced paycheck errors on Gray's end News pay rates leave you in poverty Health insurance they have is ROBBERY Environment can be hostile Bottom line is corporate profit exceeds employee prosperity

    Advice to Management

    Pay livable wages. Don't add any more stress on employees in a high pressure industry

    Gray Television2018-07-07
  9. "WOWT NBC OMAHA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gray Television full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Number 2 station in market. Great opportunity to work in a larger market.

    Cons

    Steady stream of employees abandoning a sinking ship. (more then 10% in five months) Toxic management (most people leaving are moving to other industries) The benefits started out very average but continue to get cut in half.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. Focus on higher quality.

    Gray Television2018-05-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid Gray Unless You Need a Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Services Producer in Harrisonburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gray Television full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had some amazing co-workers in the Creative Department. They were what made the job bearable, helped me learn, and got me through the tough days.

    Cons

    The pay was absolutely laughable for the amount of work one did. I was fortunate to still be on my parents' insurance as the benefits package sucked out a huge portion of your paycheck. You were expected to only work 40 hours and were reprimanded if you went more than an hour overtime. Our department started out with six members and has now dwindled down to three - two people quit and their jobs were expected to be absorbed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually visit your stations and see the day to day workings that go on. You can't expect three people to take on the work of six without even seeing how each employee operated and which tasks were delegated to them. Raise the pay. Grow a heart.

    Gray Television2018-02-01
Found 105 reviews