Grayback Forestry Reviews | Glassdoor

Grayback Forestry Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Some like it hot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Wildland Firefighter FFT1/T in Merlin, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grayback Forestry for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The crews are great, the office staff is great. I was put on medical leave and they put me to work in the office to keep me employed. Anytime I needed anything they were there for me. It was like being home away from home.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints. If you are a driven, enthusiastic individual you should have no problems with the crew or excelling with the company.

    Continue reading
    Grayback Forestry2019-09-04
  2. "Good for single life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Grayback Forestry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good friendship, hard work, travel, new experiences.

    Cons

    Pay, management, assignments. This company used to be the shining example of how forestry contractors should conduct themselves. They taught professionalism, integrity, honesty, skilled labor, leadership skills. Now, they just paperback their employees because they fail to manage to retain any senior leadership. Because of the poor business decisions some of the base managers are making, employees are leaving this company like rats leaving a sinking ship.

    Continue reading
    Grayback Forestry2020-01-29
  3. "Okay experience, horrible people and wages."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wildland Firefighter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grayback Forestry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work outside in beautiful places and have the opportunity to learn several different aspects of the job.

    Cons

    Absolutely everything else. The way people are treated, the poor wages compared to anywhere else, the never-good-enough expectations, the small-town politics that keep people there even though they're either useless or counterproductive, zero guarantees of hours or even pay (variable pay for project work), a very apparent "class divide" between locals and those who traveled to work here.

    Continue reading
    Grayback Forestry2019-11-28
  4. "Wildand Firefighter (seneca)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wildland Firefighter in Seneca, OR

    I worked at Grayback Forestry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seasonal, Lots of hours, Good group cohesion Rent is 140 a month in their lodge Saved a lot of money

    Cons

    Crew and squad bosses are a mixed bag.

    Grayback Forestry2018-12-21
  5. "Great opportunity, work hard and they appreciate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grayback Forestry

    Pros

    You can rack up many hours, quite worth the effort.

    Cons

    It can be hard work, blisters and minor cuts/ bumps are common. Not to say they don't take care of you.

    Grayback Forestry2018-10-26
  6. "firefighter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Grayback Forestry

    Pros

    great entry level work to learn the trade

    Cons

    there can be laziness in middle management, to include trainees moving up.

    Grayback Forestry2018-02-24
  7. "Engine captain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Grayback Forestry

    Pros

    Spend time in nature. Do some travelling.

    Cons

    Poor employee management relationship. Low pay. Seasonal layoffs. Forceful homoerotic banter and practical joking.

    Grayback Forestry2018-01-14
  8. "Man up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SRB in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grayback Forestry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hard work brotherhood sisterhood doing something that matters serving other people not just yourself pride in your job digging deep and showing what your made of grayback saved my life forever great full

    Cons

    Reading lies on these reviews from snowflakes wanting everything given to them as if just because there born there entitled to be lazy and not have to earn a honest paycheck and work there way up grow up and be a man or woman not a cancer on society and live off the blood sweet and tears of the men and women who came before you and have spent their lives holding the line

    Continue reading
    Grayback Forestry2017-07-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I worked for Grayback a couple years ago and was extremely unhappy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firefighter in Seneca, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grayback Forestry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting job field, free training, get to work with experienced firefighters, some of the workers are nice enough to tell you to get out Of grayback asap

    Cons

    It's low pay- grayback is constantly using you to further their gains, and you get little-to-no kickbacks. You're working for $9.70 an hour while they make $400 a day off of you. You have to pay for rent, toilet paper, laundry detergent, food, any and all things you would think they'd cover. Groceries are super expensive in Seneca. The higher ups are all vulgar, fascist, sexist, and generally rallied to keep everyone down. The company was great about 15 years ago, but you don't find anyone who will stay for over a season there now. They're super vague with everything, they'll never give you a raise, and they don't care if you leave. They mostly profit off of people who can't find any other job.

    Continue reading
    Grayback Forestry2017-07-05
  10. "Hard working guys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Man in John Day, OR

    I worked at Grayback Forestry for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the hardest working crews out there.

    Cons

    Bunch of jerks and ill organized.

    Continue reading
    Grayback Forestry2017-03-04
Found 12 reviews