Graybar Reviews | Glassdoor

Graybar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 397 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Graybar CEO Kathleen M. Mazzarella
Kathleen M. Mazzarella
209 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upward mobility is a positive but you will most likely have to move cities/states a few times by the time you get to upper management(in 13 reviews)

  • "Below average salary and executive level employees have little to no outside accountability(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Graybar is an outstanding place to work with a great history and a outstanding future."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Graybar full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    The culture is great. Benefits are very good. Employee ownership is really unique. People top to bottom want to succeed.

    Cons

    Distribution is a tough business.

    Advice to Management

    Fantastic job! Leverage the rich history for another 150 years and 90 years of employee ownership.

    Graybar2019-03-05
  2. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Buyer 

      I worked at Graybar full-time

      Pros

      Great people. Room for advancement

      Cons

      low starting salary. Long commute

      Graybar2019-04-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Never should have left"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Graybar full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits were excellent. Pay was average but raises were consistent.

      Cons

      Limited opportunities for advancement. Salary could have been higher.

      Advice to Management

      Hire me back!

      Graybar2019-04-05

      Graybar Response

      April 8, 2019Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. All of our jobs are posted on our website graybar.com/careers so please check them out!

    • "Lack of growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Graybar full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Benefits, company culture, and stability.

      Cons

      No room for growth at the branch level. Hard for the younger generation coming in to grow without being told to "put in your time". Extremely outdated and old school ways of thinking.

      Advice to Management

      Less micromanagement more trust in your employees to preform. Work/life balance is a must to keep younger generations coming in, happy.

      Graybar2019-04-08
    • "Mixed Bag - pay attention to this review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Specialist in Jacksonville, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Graybar full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Stock Options / Profit Sharing/ Nice customers

      Cons

      Very old school iapproach to business / technology Favoritism / limited advancement opportunities even for top contributors Low pay I worked in two different branches and my experience was night & day. At the first branch I worked in, I was a top performer for over 5 years (even rec’d Cause for Applause recognition) but was never promoted to next grade level of that position. I was always praised by mgmt...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get up to speed with the times and re-evaluate some of your business practices with regard to technology, remote opportunities, etc. Please acknowledge pay is low by industry standards and refrain from using the canned “we benchmark our salaries by position” response. That profit sharing check deposited to the 401k is nice for the future but won’t pay someone’s mortgage current payment due to low salary.

      Graybar2019-03-31
    • "Room For Advancement, In For The Long Haul"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Graybar full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Excellent Training - Well Structured - Stock Options - Room For Advancement

      Cons

      - Poor Management - Low Starting Pay - Long Term Employment (5+ Years) In Order To Increase Pay And Access Valuable Stock Options - Sales Budgets Unrealistic To Marketplaces

      Advice to Management

      More realistic sales budgets, increased management interaction, and a strategy for employment/annual benchmarks that is realistic. Upper management must coordinate in order to encourage employee morale as well as present a united workforce rather than the very apparent hierarchy.

      Graybar2019-03-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "First office job, sales support"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Graybar

        Pros

        College student, was hired out of retail management, so I love this place... it’s way better. General attitude geared towards improvement Friendly coworkers and managers Mentor program Stability and consistency, expectations are made clear Some Opportunity to grow and move

        Cons

        Communication is an issue at times but they are aware of it and working on it. Training is also a little soft, but if you put in the effort they will be forgiving of mistakes. Some office drama, but whatever There are some bad apples, sure, but nothing that makes it a bad job.

        Advice to Management

        Communicate and stay enthusiastic and positive. It really motivates me when I feel some investment from above.

        Graybar2019-02-14
      • "Fair pay and fair work makes for an easy recommendation"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Collections Representative in Saint Louis, MO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Graybar full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good hours and flexible depending on team. Pay was good and benefits (PTO, health insurance, and even work life) were more than acceptable. If you're in the collections department, your ability to talk to people should be enhanced as you're talking to customers over phone.

        Cons

        Deadlines can be hectic and also when trying to collect money from various businesses it could be tiresome. May take you months to collect a simple payment from some people. This only applies to collections department.

        Advice to Management

        Dont treat people like robots and people will thrive more. People respond better to better work environments, and to that end I've never had any major problems with Graybar.

        Graybar2019-02-11
      • Helpful (2)

        "WORST LOCAL MANAGEMENT TEAM IN AMERICA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Account Representative in North Canton, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Graybar full-time for more than 19 years

        Pros

        Great benefits and perks, lots of pto

        Cons

        Local management in North Canton Ohio is incompetent and sleazy!

        Advice to Management

        Ever wonder why all the employees with 15+ years experience would quit? LOOK AT YOUR LOCAL MANAGEMENT TEAM!

        Graybar2019-02-09

        Graybar Response

        February 11, 2019Human Resources

        Thank you for leaving a review. We encourage you to speak with your local director of HR regarding your concerns.

      • Helpful (2)

        "Okay place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Representative in Columbus, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Graybar full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Decent pay and good benefits

        Cons

        Bad management compared to other locations

        Advice to Management

        Have a much better plan in place for becoming a manager. It should not rely on picking unqualified 2nd and 3rd generation employees.

        Graybar2019-01-30
      Found 397 reviews