Graybar Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
54%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Graybar Chairman, President and CEO Kathleen M. Mazzarella
Kathleen M. Mazzarella
314 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits Employee Stock Profit Sharing WFH during covid Good company as a whole(in 87 reviews)

  • "They have great benefits for employees(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "More training and consistent meetings with upper management(in 19 reviews)

  • "Low pay for what's expected of you(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Graybar and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      #TeamGraybar

      Dec 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Graybar is an inclusive, diverse, and customer focused environment. Many colleagues share valuable insight and want you to succeed. I highly recommend Graybar. If you work hard you will be rewarded and recognized. Benefits: the people, managers really care, work life balance

      Cons

      there are none that I can think of at the moment

      3 people found this review helpful

      Graybar Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review! We are happy to see you are enjoying your time here and finding your work environment positive, welcoming and conducive to your success - it is something we strive to create for all of our employees at all locations.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Sales Representative

      Mar 16, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job and benefits as an employee owned company

      Cons

      Learning curve to understand new technology

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job

      May 7, 2021 - COUNTER SALES in North Canton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work for

      Cons

      Pay just isn't good enough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I'm an Employee Owner

      Jan 19, 2021 - Office Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you come to work here, you will meet some of the smartest and most dedicated people around. A major reason I have stayed with the company as long as I have is that I love the people I work with. I have also been given great opportunities to grow and learn, move up and around, and I know many other stories similar to mine. You can really grow a long-term career here and you don't have to be "stuck" in one job or location if you don't want. The benefits are unique here, being employee owned/private. The heath benefits offered are standard and good, but we also have great retirement and ownership benefits you won't really find elsewhere, with the opportunity for profit sharing and dividends.

      Cons

      Don't come to work here expecting glamorous office space full of sleek furniture and expanses of glass like you see in stock photos, because you won't find it. I also think our district structure may be a little outdated.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company

      Apr 28, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Long term benefits are great

      Cons

      Too many long term employees for their own good. Very rigid in how they think things should be done.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Apr 29, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      paid time off, benefits, culture

      Cons

      none that I am aware of

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Graybar

      Apr 19, 2021 - Financial Assistant in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Profit sharing Paid time off Certain managers are awesome

      Cons

      Pay Micro management Not permanent work from home options

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Would rate no stars if I could

      Mar 22, 2021 - Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great products Many locations Some employees really do try

      Cons

      Corporate management is out of touch with their branch employees. Some local branches are run by favoritism and nepotism. HR is easily manipulated by local managers leaving employees with no recourse to save their jobs. Employee reviews are often based on incorrect information or outright lies, and your comments are ignored, leading to wrongful statements in your personnel file (which can lead to the loss of your job). Entering data seems to be more important than sales results. Sales credit for your efforts is often stolen by someone else who is a long standing employee or can work the system.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Akron Branch Is HORRIBLY MANAGED

      May 5, 2021 - Outside Sales Representative in North Canton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good retirement benefits and co-workers

      Cons

      This branch is managed by an egotistical micro-manager

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company ran wrong

      Mar 25, 2021 - Delivery Driver in Carteret, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great money schedule location on your own

      Cons

      Supervisors not caring about safety

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 617 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Graybar Job Seekers

    Sales Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Graybar? Share Your Experiences

    or