KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Grayling

Part of Huntsworth
Is this your company?

Grayling

Add a Review

Grayling Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 of over 161 reviews

3.9
66%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Grayling CEO Committee Loretta Ahmed, Sarah Scholefield, and Jan Simunek (no image)
Loretta Ahmed, Sarah Scholefield, and Jan Simunek
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home Fridays is nice to avoid the toxic environment of the office(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and learn and also work life balance is good cares about employees wellbeing(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management turns a blind eye to the extremely high turnover rates (over 10 account servicing staff have left within a year)(in 10 reviews)

  • "Team spirit (between the PA and PR team)(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      My best opportunity

      Sep 26, 2017 - Senior Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I took a position at Grayling from a small boutique agency, which had very little opportunity for growth - it was the best decision I ever made. Grayling offers me constant learning opportunities. I love working for a global agency and collaborating across boarders on a daily basis. It's a fun fast-paced work environment, where hard work is acknowledged and rewarded.

      Cons

      Working on a Microsoft based IT system can be challenging and frustrating at times. Many clients want to collaborate on other types of platforms, which are not allowed for security reasons.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not impressive

      Jul 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There were some good people at the time - smart and kind.

      Cons

      The overall direction and leadership of the firm were not strong.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Apr 22, 2021 - Account Manager in Poland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Grayling is an international PR agency and support growth of its employees continously.

      Cons

      Too much pressure, work load could be high.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      a 3 sized pr agency

      Jan 14, 2019 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good PTO and few recognized clients..

      Cons

      Horrible managing staff, the company has a toxic culture. where its no play and work 24*7. They can remove any employee at any point in time when the client leaves the agency. The company has a disgusting work -life balance. The pay is unbalanced based on gender.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Best experience at a PR agency

      Oct 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in the LA office which was very tiny, so you were given tremendous opportunities to grow, very quickly. The people were very friendly. I still keep in touch with nearly everyone I worked with. The collaboration. Having a global network you got to team up with NY or SF colleagues on clients and / or projects.

      Cons

      Not grayling specific, but industry wide there are pretty demanding hours. But if you put in the work you get rewarded.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Old Fashioned

      Oct 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, hardworking people really stand out

      Cons

      Not enough smart, hardworking people

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      A good place

      Jan 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care about clients and their needs.

      Cons

      Doesn't care much for employees.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Discriminated against for being a woman and pregnant

      Jan 4, 2018 - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Grayling Europe has an excellent reputation.

      Cons

      I was a vice president in the Los Angeles office of Grayling when my managing director, a talented friend of mine with about a year more time in the biz than me, resigned to take an in-house position. He had been at the helm about a year. After 3 months in the role, he was promoted from interim managing director to full managing director. After he left and upon his recommendation, I lobbied to take his place to our CEO Peter Harris. I had an excellent rapport with the global team and had helped improve the Los Angeles office since joining the company. As second in command to my colleague, no one could say I wasn't capable and that it didn't make sense. My lobbying was met with immediate resistance. "It's a big job." "Are you sure you want to do this at this point in your life?", etc. I had just gotten married and am of child bearing years. A first strike. Begrudgingly, I was allowed to assume the role, but was offered only a promotion to SVP and an extremely low raise for that title (though I wouldn’t know how much less I was making than my male predecessor and future MD in SF until later, when the CFO accidentally shared a document with salary allocation to the entire leadership team - in case you’re curious it was a full 70K less at first and then 30K when I insisted we close the gap further after 3 months. I was never was paid equally, even when I asked specifically to make what was being paid to men in the same role.) During the SVP promo conversation, I asked about interim managing director title. I had seen my male predecessor's trajectory and given our identical qualifications, I expected to follow suit. I was told, “we are not sure we’re going to continue with individual office MD’s.” I accepted, and towed the company line, requesting/demanding quarterly reviews to ensure I was crystal clear on expectations and progress. I had to hammer Peter Harris to get those meetings, and get clear and measurable goals and timelines for my “earning” the title of managing director. I was told to meet the numbers for the office, reduce turnover and maintain the client roster, as well as grow the new business pipeline from zero. He refused to set timelines with me. Point blank. In addition to saving clients from other offices, maintaining my team and growing my clients organically, toward the end of the year, I secured a six-figure project with a former client due to my work and reputation. This not only closed the numbers for LA, but also went toward closing the gap for the U.S. I was concerned about not being in the office, as it was an on-site 100% allocation project, but Peter told me it wasn’t an issue and that the lack of momentum on new biz wouldn’t be an issue. While I was off-site for the last quarter of 2016 with this project, I found out through the grapevine that the leadership has been searching for a new MD in SF, so obviously the managing director structure was to continue. I pushed immediately for a review. it was November. In February 2017, literally the day before my maternity leave was to start, I was finally granted the check in conversation - not even a formal review. I was told that I wasn’t creating enough new business momentum through the prior quarter and that I “just wasn’t ready.” So not only did he back pedal on what he had said previously, but the reasons for not promoting me were nebulous. I had earned it and then some, clear and simple. To me, there is no clearer example of discrimination on the basis of sex than my experience described above. I was pregnant, young and a woman. Despite constant meeting of a consistently and randomly raised bar, I was still not paid or titled equally to my male counterparts. While this did happen at Grayling, and I strongly suggest you do not work there if at all possible, it happens everywhere in this industry. I hope this is a call to other professionals to shine a light where one is so desperately needed.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Account Coordinator

      Nov 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity for growth, flat hierarchy, interdisciplinary

      Cons

      Company should provide better compensation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Clients and a Solid Team

      Sep 6, 2017 - Account Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Grayling has gone through a transition over the past 12 months, but it feels like it has found a good groove. The west coast offices have a really interesting mix of FinTech, consumer, healthcare and enterprise clients and the teams are super focused on delivering for each one. In SF in particular the roster is growing almost weekly. The agency blends a good mix of traditional media relations, digital content and public affairs, which I’ve found rare in Bay Area PR firms. I also like that management is open to new approaches and is super accessible.

      Cons

      Like most agencies, there’s a strong focus on client service which can lead to occasional long days. Likewise, as the company is very much in growth mode, teams can sometimes play “fast and loose,” but that actually appeals to me as it definitely opens up opportunities. Coordination between the offices also can be tough with different time zones.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 128 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Grayling Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grayling? Share Your Experiences

    Grayling logo
    or