Grayling Reviews | Glassdoor

Grayling Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Loretta Ahmed, Sarah Scholefield, and Jan Simunek
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home Fridays is nice to avoid the toxic environment of the office(in 14 reviews)

  • "Grayling does more to promote work/life balance than any company I worked for in the past(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some senior management were out of their depth and hanging on to positions for their salaries instead of committing to continuous improvement(in 9 reviews)

  • "As second in command to my colleague, no one could say I wasn't capable and that it didn't make sense(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "My best opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grayling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I took a position at Grayling from a small boutique agency, which had very little opportunity for growth - it was the best decision I ever made. Grayling offers me constant learning opportunities. I love working for a global agency and collaborating across boarders on a daily basis. It's a fun fast-paced work environment, where hard work is acknowledged and rewarded.

    Cons

    Working on a Microsoft based IT system can be challenging and frustrating at times. Many clients want to collaborate on other types of platforms, which are not allowed for security reasons.

    Advice to Management

    Continue rewarding and offering opportunities to your best employees.

    Grayling2017-09-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "a 3 sized pr agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grayling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good PTO and few recognized clients..

    Cons

    Horrible managing staff, the company has a toxic culture. where its no play and work 24*7. They can remove any employee at any point in time when the client leaves the agency. The company has a disgusting work -life balance. The pay is unbalanced based on gender.

    Advice to Management

    TAKE YOUR EMPLOYEE SERIOUSLY. LEARN TO RETAIN EMPLOYEES AND CLIENTS. THE UPPER MANAGEMENT THINKS THEY KNOW THE DRILL AND CAN DO PR BUT THEY NEED TO UNDERSTAND THAT IT IS AN ORGANIZATION THAT NEEEEEEEDDDDSSSS PEOPLE

    Grayling2019-01-15
  3. "Best experience at a PR agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grayling full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I worked in the LA office which was very tiny, so you were given tremendous opportunities to grow, very quickly. The people were very friendly. I still keep in touch with nearly everyone I worked with. The collaboration. Having a global network you got to team up with NY or SF colleagues on clients and / or projects.

    Cons

    Not grayling specific, but industry wide there are pretty demanding hours. But if you put in the work you get rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Re-grow the LA office!

    Grayling2018-10-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Old Fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grayling full-time

    Pros

    Smart, hardworking people really stand out

    Cons

    Not enough smart, hardworking people

    Advice to Management

    Less finance driven, more customer/employee-centric management, strategy and policies.

    Grayling2018-10-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grayling full-time

    Pros

    Care about clients and their needs.

    Cons

    Doesn't care much for employees.

    Grayling2018-01-05
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Discriminated against for being a woman and pregnant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grayling full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Grayling Europe has an excellent reputation.

    Cons

    I was a vice president in the Los Angeles office of Grayling when my managing director, a talented friend of mine with about a year more time in the biz than me, resigned to take an in-house position. He had been at the helm about a year. After 3 months in the role, he was promoted from interim managing director to full managing director. After he left and upon his recommendation, I lobbied to take his place to our CEO...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I hope the responses to negative reviews on here are true, but the environment I was in just 10 months ago can't have changed as much as you say. It's obvious the new leadership - since the CEO resigned or was fired, the MD in SF was replaced AGAIN, and a remote worker was named to a largely ornamental C-suite role - is needing to paint a rosier picture of the agency to get people to work there. Pretty transparent guys.

    Grayling2018-01-04
  7. "Account Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grayling full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth, flat hierarchy, interdisciplinary

    Cons

    Company should provide better compensation

    Grayling2017-11-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Clients and a Solid Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grayling full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Grayling has gone through a transition over the past 12 months, but it feels like it has found a good groove. The west coast offices have a really interesting mix of FinTech, consumer, healthcare and enterprise clients and the teams are super focused on delivering for each one. In SF in particular the roster is growing almost weekly. The agency blends a good mix of traditional media relations, digital content and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like most agencies, there’s a strong focus on client service which can lead to occasional long days. Likewise, as the company is very much in growth mode, teams can sometimes play “fast and loose,” but that actually appeals to me as it definitely opens up opportunities. Coordination between the offices also can be tough with different time zones.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building the team and identifying high performers. There’s some great talent in the office that’s waiting to be unleashed. Communicate more with employees about company strategy and management changes across the agency. Lose Outlook and get Google!

    Grayling2017-09-07
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Take a closer look"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grayling full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As someone with more than two decades of experience in the communications industry, who has worked for agencies big and small, good and bad, I can say without fear or favor that Grayling is a damn fine agency. I do not recognize the way some people have attempted to characterize it on this site – although I do know some of the people who have left negative reviews. I worked with them. Let’s just say there’s a reason...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are bigger agencies, with more and better resources

    Grayling2017-08-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grayling full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, including the ability to work from home, was one of the main things Grayling still had going for it by the end of my time there, though word is that it's since been reduced. There are a still a few good mid-level people left, and the high turnover sometimes means promotions happen quickly. I was able to work with a wide variety of clients, some of them very cool.

    Cons

    Senior management is disconnected from the people doing the day-to-day work, and doesn't seem interested in prioritizing changes that would really improve the work and culture. Morale has steadily decreased since the Huntsworth acquisition several years ago. For a long time, there were still fantastic, bright, hardworking people in the mid-to-senior levels, but many of them have been laid off in the past 18 months...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Trust them. Value them. Know that unhappy employees don't provide the kind of client service you need in order to win--and RETAIN--quality clients.

    Grayling2017-07-06
Found 103 reviews