KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Grayling

Part of Huntsworth
Is this your company?

Grayling

Add a Review

Grayling Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 165 reviews

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Grayling CEO Committee Loretta Ahmed, Sarah Scholefield, and Jan Simunek (no image)
Loretta Ahmed, Sarah Scholefield, and Jan Simunek
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home Fridays is nice to avoid the toxic environment of the office(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and learn and also work life balance is good cares about employees wellbeing(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management turns a blind eye to the extremely high turnover rates (over 10 account servicing staff have left within a year)(in 10 reviews)

  • "Team spirit (between the PA and PR team)(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Agency Workplace in Industry

      Jun 23, 2016 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work environment, great work-life balance, very positive and friendly people; ability to take initiative in your career growth and your ideas are heard; team is open to new perspectives and new techniques and not stuck in outdated PR tactics like so many other competing agencies. No micromanagers, no pushy people. By far a better workplace environment than any other agency out there.

      Cons

      Very little downsides to working at the agency. Still developing its culture. Sky's the limit.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A wonderful place to work.

      Dec 27, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atomic (soon to be Grayling) is a truly unique public relations agency where office politics are kept to a minimum and the focus is on producing quality results for clients. The company puts great trust in its employees which gives employees both flexibility with their work/life balance and the opportunity to be creative, knowing that the agency has their back. On multiple occasions, I've seen Andy Getsey show 100% confidence in employees. Again, this is unique from other agencies as the approach to any issues that arise at Atomic is solution oriented, not a question of "where can we place the blame?" Atomic has a generous vacation policy and is welcome to having employees work from home. It's a wonderful place to learn and grow and a true family.

      Cons

      If you're not self-motivated or ready to work hard, this probably isn't the best company for you. Also, be prepared to make a strong case for yourself when it comes to promotions and raises - employees at Atomic often perform far beyond what their title would correlate to at another agency.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      My time at Grayling was well spent

      Sep 24, 2015 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at Grayling for several years and it was an overall positive experience for me. I left the company grateful for my time there and with lifelong connections both professionally and personally. Opportunity, growth and reward abound for those who are determined and play well in the sandbox with others. The majority of my Grayling colleagues (both on the front lines and in management) exhibited guts, creativity, teamwork and a conscientious work ethic day in and day out. I gained continual growth opportunities and increased my knowledge and skills immensely. Grayling does more to promote work/life balance than any company I worked for in the past. The generous U.S. benefits package is unrivaled in the communications industry. It’s a good time to be at Grayling. New energy is emerging after a period of growing pains from expanding the U.S. region. Global leadership is ambitious, committed and connected like never before. More multi-market accounts are happening across all regions. My role kept me in the bigger picture each day where I could see the great things on the horizon for this organization.

      Cons

      The U.S. mergers over the past couple of years were tough in the couple of offices where local talent and leadership were merged. Whether you are the acquiring or the acquired, mergers could always go better. No doubt we could have done a better job in those offices. Consolidating and rolling out new processes and systems in large scale takes time and it is understandable that it can feel like things are not moving fast enough if you are not involved in that process. From my vantage point and experience, the people who keep it productive and work respectfully with others are plentiful in Grayling’s 50+ offices.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Absolute misery

      Jun 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The career growth opportunities at Grayling used to have tremendous appeal, as you were able to grow quickly based on performance. That has completely gone away as the company has struggled to maintain a consistent client roster and senior mentors within, with no budget for raises and promotions and zero incentives left for remaining employees. The only other perks were work from home Fridays for work/life balance and flexibility, and unlimited vacation, but WFH Fridays no longer exist because management does not trust employees.

      Cons

      - Incredibly high rate of turnover, both for clients and employees - unstable - Terrible management - unprofessional and inappropriate, management does not know how to lead by example or take constructive feedback - Insane workloads due to understaffed accounts - Completely toxic culture filled with micro aggression from management - Below market pay and empty promises from management - spot bonuses based on performance and salary audits/adjustments were promised numerous times, with zero follow-through

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unbounded growth for star players

      Sep 21, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Grayling SF offers one of the purest meritocracies I’ve seen in my career. For entrepreneurial people who demonstrate passion, hard work and raw talent, growth is rapid and unbounded. Specific examples: Intern to Account Manager in 3 years, AAE to SAE in under one year. Unlike many organizations where promotions only come when someone above leaves, Grayling promotes frequently based purely on individual performance. Additionally, Grayling has a family-friendly culture. Benefits such as unlimited vacation, work from home Fridays and a flexible work environment allow for greater work-life balance.

      Cons

      Following a merger and some office reconfigurations, Grayling is in a period of change. While that can be scary, it is also presents a unique opportunity to shape your own path, grow rapidly, and make a meaningful contribution to your team.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      On the path to success

      Mar 13, 2015 - Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The past several months with Grayling San Francisco were tumultuous - due to the transition from Atomic to Grayling and a lackluster Managing Director who has since left - but it's allowed the team to recalibrate and forge a new path entirely our own. It's exciting to be part of a team that gets to rebuild the way we want to rebuild. The clients we target are entirely up to us and we get to implement our own ways of tackling new business. Additionally, the current employees - across both the consumer and tech practices - are absolutely brilliant and driven. We not only focus on delivering really great results for our clients but we also are adamant about creating a workplace culture that everyone appreciates, whether it's scavenger hunts in our new neighborhood (we moved offices), breathing exercises with a local yogi or baking competitions. It really is an exciting time to be part of the Grayling San Francisco team. The world is our oyster. And, of course, we have incredible flexibility and a legitimate work/life balance. We work from home on Fridays (unless there is a client meeting) and have an unlimited vacation policy. We have nine Grayling locations in the US and can work from any of those offices at any time.

      Cons

      Previously, it felt like every team worked it its own silo and didn't share resources. The company has made a concerted effort to change that, including putting processes and training in place. We still have work to do but it's definitely moving in the right direction. Compensation is on par with the San Francisco market, but our bonus program has all but disappeared. It would be great to see that come back.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      a 3 sized pr agency

      Jan 14, 2019 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good PTO and few recognized clients..

      Cons

      Horrible managing staff, the company has a toxic culture. where its no play and work 24*7. They can remove any employee at any point in time when the client leaves the agency. The company has a disgusting work -life balance. The pay is unbalanced based on gender.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Going through a lot of changes

      Jan 26, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Passionate people, interesting clients and a good atmosphere

      Cons

      work life balance can be difficult

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid!

      Apr 9, 2017 - Account Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home Fridays is nice to avoid the toxic environment of the office

      Cons

      No work/life balance, little appreciation for junior staff, lots of gossip, everyone is out for themselves, LOTS OF TURNOVER.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Grayling Response

      Managing Director

      This review does not paint an accurate picture of the reality of Grayling today. The reality is that Grayling offers tremendously flexible working conditions for all team members, including the ability to WFH. We have unlimited vacation days and observe ton of holidays. We encourage our people to take the time they need to rest and recoup. It is very rare for any of our team members to find themselves in an extended crunch time experience. Do folks stay late every once in a while? Sure, that's agency life. The norm at Grayling, however, is that our team members come in, get their jobs done, and head out to enjoy life. We are very flexibile and sensitive to workloads.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to work

      Sep 30, 2019 - Account Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and learn and also work life balance is good cares about employees wellbeing.

      Cons

      Don't expect a salary review anytime

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Grayling Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grayling? Share Your Experiences

    Grayling logo
    or