Great American Insurance Group Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Great American Insurance Group Co-President, Co-CEO, and Director Carl H. Lindner III and S. Craig Lindner
Carl H. Lindner III and S. Craig Lindner
146 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Underwriter II in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance. A lot of PTO. Work from home options. Flexible work hours as long as you work 40/week. Lots of room to grow. Management encourages you to move up and look for other opportunities in other divisions if you are interested.

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of

    Great American Insurance Group2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Underwriter in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    30+ business units. If you don't like what you're doing, you can completely change your career and remain at the same company. I love my job and the culture. I feel valued and more than a number. I feel like my hard work is recognized and that I have been given plenty of growth opportunity. The company pays for designation studies are really urges employees to pursue additional degrees, insurance designations, etc. and even pays incentive bonuses for completion.

    Cons

    It's not a very diverse company. Pay can be a little on the thin side compared to the industry but I feel the other benefits (401k, PTO, etc.) do make up for that. The company tries hard to ensure salaries and benefits stack up with the rest of the industry.

    Continue reading
    Great American Insurance Group2020-03-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits and work life balance for the industry. Over 30 different specialty divisions to explore. Overall a great company to work for.

    Cons

    Can be difficult to move up within divisions - but some of this is due to people staying with the company for 20, 30, or 40 years. So on one hand, it's a great company and people stay. On the other, if you're ambitious and looking to move up within your division fairly quickly, that may not happen.

    Great American Insurance Group2020-02-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company and Leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and career development. Opportunities for growth and a lot of other employee perks.

    Cons

    With a lot of tenured employees and employees making a lifetime career here it may take some time to move up

    Great American Insurance Group2020-02-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I have worked at Great American for almost year"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Have been very accommodating to my schedule for schedule Very friendly and pleasant atmosphere

    Cons

    Can be very slow at times

    Continue reading
    Great American Insurance Group2020-02-03
  6. "Good Stable Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Stable Company to work for. Good Benefits Our. Managers left us alone, they didn't micro manage us.

    Cons

    Bad communication between higher ups and the support staff. Heavy loads of work too much work to do and not enough assistants.

    Continue reading
    Great American Insurance Group2020-01-22
  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Analyst & Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team. Great Management. Love the Christmas parties

    Cons

    No real cons. Work can be a little boring sometimes

    Great American Insurance Group2020-01-07
  8. "Culture is atrocious"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group

    Pros

    A challenging and interesting industry

    Cons

    Culture and management. Favoritism, nepotism, and no accountability for management.

    Continue reading
    Great American Insurance Group2020-02-11
  9. "Good Pay, No advancement opportunity (Summit Help Desk)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Helpdesk Technician I in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Time Off, Any job other than the Help Desk

    Cons

    All 3 Helpdesk Technicians have applied for promotion opportunities and none were able to advance, even with Bachelors Degrees and Certifications. They will hire someone with no IT experience from a department like claims over qualified individuals who are familiar with the job. So don't come here looking to get your foot in the door or grow your career if you want to work in IT. They are also number heavy on metrics, you will get audited every single day on graphs, recorded phone calls, and numbers that have no impact on customer satisfaction, it will just make you miserable. You will also be answering outside phone calls about the website on top of taking care of internal IT issues. Don't expect any support from the IT staff above you.

    Continue reading
    Great American Insurance Group2020-01-16
  10. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Underwriting Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great American Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, approachable and intelligent management, good communication on teams

    Cons

    Not so great communication between divisions

    Great American Insurance Group2019-12-20
Found 257 reviews