Great Circle Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Circle Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Clark Davis
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is truly a great place to work and I am blessed to be a part of the Great Circle team(in 7 reviews)

  • "Making a difference in the lives of children(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "large caseloads, long hours, higher up management making decisions not informed by those who changes affect(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low pay and did I mention that the management team is CORRUPT(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best professional decision I've made. Very rewarding, yet challenging profession."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Supervisor in Saint James, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Circle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely wonderful place to work. The kids make it worth it. Coming in each day with an opportunity to change a life makes each moment worth it. My colleagues are family and we operate as such. This is truly a great place to work and I am blessed to be a part of the Great Circle team!

    Cons

    I have no cons about my job.

    Great Circle2019-03-05
  2. "Lead youth care specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Great Circle

      Pros

      The supervisors and co workers and amazing and changing the lives of these kids is better than you could ever imagine.

      Cons

      People think that the kids are bad kids but in reality they have bad childhoods.

      Great Circle2019-06-21
    • "Case Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Case Manager 

        I worked at Great Circle full-time

        Pros

        Nice people & easy location to commute.

        Cons

        Poor real opportunity for advancement.

        Advice to Management

        Look outside the box and be willing to tap talent you already have.

        Great Circle2019-06-24
      • "Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Therapist in Webster Groves, St. Louis, MO
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Great Circle full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Awesome kids to work with. I loved my colleagues.

        Cons

        Poorly managed, unethical practices. Classrooms are too big.

        Advice to Management

        Classroom sizes are too big and staff is not safe. More natural consequences for the students.

        Great Circle2019-06-21
      • "Make A Difference"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Training Specialist in Saint James, MO

        I have been working at Great Circle full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Positive work environment, opportunities to help others, good starting pay for the area

        Cons

        It takes a special person to be successful, not for everyone, the work is difficult

        Great Circle2019-06-04
      • "It was——— okay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Foster Care Case Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Great Circle full-time

        Pros

        The pay and benefits were great. A normal caseload is manageable.

        Cons

        They will reassign you to a different county if that’s beneficial for them, if you have experience you will often end up assisting with others’ caseloads, not as much travel as working with the state but still a lot.

        Great Circle2019-05-30
      • Helpful (2)

        "The Worst Job I've Ever Had"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in Saint Louis, MO
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Great Circle full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The school staff were great. Working with kids.

        Cons

        Staff to client ratio, too many clients in one classroom, clients not held accountable, clients allowed to assault staff with no consequences, not allowed to contact 911 for any reason, therapist refusing to meet with out of control client, upper management not being involved in school, not enough staff in the cottages, do as I say not as I do system, CEO leading by intimidation, job security, no teacher contract so...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop looking at the $ numbers and start focusing on the children and how to keep EVERYONE safe.

        Great Circle2019-05-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Administration"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Great Circle part-time

          Pros

          Flexible schedule, You'll find your tribe

          Cons

          racial disparities in leadership, mixed messages on mission and practice

          Great Circle2019-04-24
        • Helpful (2)

          "Unstable"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Therapist in Saint Louis, MO
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Great Circle full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Colleagues Flexible hours Basically nothing else.

          Cons

          Management Billing requirements Unrealistic expectations Unsafe environment for staff and kids

          Advice to Management

          Close the place

          Great Circle2019-05-09
        • "Chaotic but fullfilling"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Child Care Worker in Saint Louis, MO
          Doesn't Recommend

          I have been working at Great Circle full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Great experience for social workers! You will be challenged to build your skill set and go into other jobs with a you can do anything mindset.

          Cons

          You will have to endure physicsl, emmotional abuse from clients. It is extremely demanding requiring one to work 14 hour back to back shifts with no breaks. You will be the janitor, you will administer meds, you will handle crises, you will tend to all childrens needs. Management is involved very little but they will fault you for anything that goes wrong.

          Advice to Management

          End punitive and counterproductive strategies. Hold yourself accountabl. Listen to the staff and meet their needs.

          Great Circle2019-04-07
        Found 96 reviews