Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated May 26, 2017
375 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Rhoda Olsen
Rhoda Olsen
258 Ratings

375 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Its a fast paced work environment so you are always guaranteed to make some money (in 69 reviews)

  • Flexible schedule, 4 requested Saturdays off a year, more Saturdays off if haircut time is within standard (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule, home/work balance, long hours (in 25 reviews)

  • Long hours especially if you're low staff (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "The owners are amazing people!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetologist in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Former Employee - Cosmetologist in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Recommends

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Family business, very busy, great locations, room for growth

    Cons

    There is always a lot of people so the day can be stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!!!

    Great Clips Response

    May 27, 2017

    We appreciated everything that you did in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand. Thank you!


  2. "Family! Great Clips has been an amazing place to work, I've been with them for over 15 years."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, steady clientele and amazing staff to work with. Benefits depending on Franchise
    Realistic Bonus potential. Each salon runs a bit differently has a unique feel so once you find your perfect
    Culture you can have an amazing career.

    Cons

    Staying open till 9pm Monday thru Friday
    We do not have set stations so can be confusing to our clients.

    Great Clips Response

    May 25, 2017

    Thank you for being a member of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  3. "Couldn't have a better franchisee, GM, or manager. They have taught me so much & genuinely want the best for their staff"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Wentzville, MO
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Wentzville, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Money is great! The continuing education is amazing! No worries about building a clientele. Our door is always swinging!

    Cons

    None! I knew when I agreed to take the position what Great Clips expectations were. And after working there for 8 years I can honestly say they are amazing!

    Advice to Management

    Offer gcu or insite to assistants. I have been an assistant for 5 years and that would have given me extra motivation

    Great Clips Response

    May 24, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Clips has been GREAT to me!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Cosmetologist in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Licensed Cosmetologist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The culture of Great Clips is like no other. You are treated like a member of a big family. Great Clips from the corporate office to the franchisee to the salon employees truly care!

    Cons

    Can't think of anything that I would consider a con. You determine your own destiny.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value employees.

    Great Clips Response

    May 22, 2017

    Thank you and your team for everything you do to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  6. "I love working at Great Clips!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - General Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    It is a family! Great benefits and guaranteed wage. Plenty of customers. Great education. Opportunity for advancement. They are great with working with my schedule.

    Cons

    I find very few cons with my job at Great Clips. The job does require weekends, however they do pay extra for working weekends. They also close early on Saturday and Sunday.

    Great Clips Response

    May 22, 2017

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day! Thank you.


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Security"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration in Santa Rosa, CA
    Former Employee - Administration in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Clients generated for you no having to chase your income
    Income brought in for you all you have to do is show up with a smile and tools we take of the rest

    Cons

    You are where the culture starts if you are positive then it is contagious
    If you are negative and look for problems that can be contagious as well

    Great Clips Response

    May 8, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you were a part of a GREAT team!


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Very rewarding!! Love it!! I've worked with great clips for 11 years and I do what I love everyday."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Glasgow, KY
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Glasgow, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good pay, flexible hours good benefits. Fast paced. You will learn more about haircuts than what you did in school. Great people

    Cons

    Working weekends but that's part of being a hairdresser. That's really the only cons I can think of. And wearing dress shoes, but you can always find decent shoes that can be comfortable

    Advice to Management

    Let us wear better shoes😉

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 28, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. We appreciate that you are part of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  9. "Amazing place to spend you career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Clarksville, TN
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Clarksville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great education
    Great company
    Great customers
    Amazing place to work
    Clientele provided

    Cons

    On your feet a lot
    frequent tool maintenance
    wearing other peoples hair all day
    cutting yourself to much

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 28, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day!


  10. "Hair Stylist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Assistant Manager in Martinsburg, WV
    Current Employee - Stylist/Assistant Manager in Martinsburg, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hourly rate not commission sales . Love my salon family. Great owners . Most money I have ever made since I became a stylist.

    Cons

    Open 7 days a week, but if you are cable to work then it's a plus because more days to make money.

    Advice to Management

    Try to give a set schedule to employees

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 26, 2017

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day! Thank you.


  11. "GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Hagerstown, MD
    Current Employee - General Manager in Hagerstown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Schedules, guaranteed hourly rate, performance based raises, family atmosphere

    Cons

    open seven days but really it's not it gives me the opportunity to make money anyway of the week.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 26, 2017

    Thank you for being part of a GREAT team!


Showing 375 of 1,015 reviews
Reset Filters