Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Great Clips Reviews

Updated January 22, 2018
523 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
10 Ratings

523 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced-environment with great energy and ample learning opportunities (in 96 reviews)

  • Very flexible schedule to balance my home life (in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule so it can be hard to schedule stuff, but they do allow you to request time off (in 33 reviews)

  • Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Marvelous Management
    Endless Education
    Comfortable Culture
    Supportive Staff
    Steady Customer flow

    Cons

    Keep your mind open to peak opportunities: Nights & weekends are steady!!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create a culture that keeps talented stylists happy!

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 10, 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  2. "Hair stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Howell, NJ
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Howell, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It’s a very professional workplace environment . It’s a steady customer flow , incredible management , awesome team to work with .

    Cons

    Pay is hourly rather than commission

  3. "Initial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    Opportunities; Productivity bonuses; Teamwork; Consistency

    Cons

    Weekend work is primary;

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 21, 2018

    We appreciate that you are a member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I get to make my own schedule with in reason
    I make great money
    I have a amazing staff
    On going education to keep up on trends
    Owners that appreciate me

    Cons

    You are expected to do nights and weekends witch can be difficult sometimes if you have small children and need to rely on sitters and daycares

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 19, 2018

    Thank you for being a part of a great community of stylists and managers!


  5. "Its gonna be Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Evans, GA
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Evans, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I can proudly say I am a Great Clips lifer! I love the fast paced atmosphere! Our salon is very team oriented and my co-workers are more like family. Great Clips provides flexible work schedules, incentives to make more $$$ and career advancements. I love the continuing help and support from fellow managers at neighboring Great Clips salons as well as my franchisees.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 18, 2018

    Thank you for your comments. We are happy to have you as a member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  6. "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Exton, PA
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, like to work for public, good customer service skills, data entry, retail

    Cons

    Get good quality haircuts, good attitude, optimistic, cheerful, boldness,

    Advice to Management

    Very dependable,hard worker, always on time, never absent. Team player,

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 18, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you are a part of a great team.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Canton, MI
    Current Employee - General Manager in Canton, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Wonderful owner, great team, quick paced, busy! Competitive pay. Works well with flexible people. If your looking for a long term place to work, this is it! Flexible hours since the salon is open 7 days a week!

    Cons

    There really is no cons to this location. Everyone works really well together and the management does what they can to make each individual stylist happy.

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 10, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day! Thank you.

  8. "Best job experience I've ever had! I've grown in so many ways!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist/Assistant Manager in Manchester, PA
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist/Assistant Manager in Manchester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love coming to work everyday. I love that I am able to grow and feel so accepted. I love my co workers and franchisee like my own family...great clips actually is great in so many ways beyond a haircut!

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons at all. I love this job and the people I work around each and every day!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 16, 2018

    Thank YOU for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand! We appreciate your feedback and comments.


  9. "Family oriented, fun and fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Airway Heights, WA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Airway Heights, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Many possibilities for growth. Receptionist, stylist, lead, assistant, manager, sr manager, general manager and corporate positions to develop and grow

    Cons

    Not having a set schedule makes family’s a bit stressed. Need set schedule to plan for daycare and Home life

    Advice to Management

    Schedule for employees as well as customers. Employees need it

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 13, 2018

    Thank you for your comments. Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your feedback would be your franchisee. If you would like, you can email... More


  10. "15 year Anniversay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - General Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    We care about our customers and our employees! Having fun messing with other people's hair.

    Cons

    Overall a good company to work for.

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 11, 2018

    We appreciate that you are an important part of a great community of stylists and managers. Thank you!


Showing 523 of 1,290 reviews
Reset Filters