Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated May 27, 2017
1,012 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

1,012 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Its a fast paced work environment so you are always guaranteed to make some money (in 69 reviews)

  • Make great tips and flexible schedule (in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule, home/work balance, long hours (in 25 reviews)

  • Long hours especially if you're low staff (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "GM"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Best career opportunities ever! We LOVE our franchisee and our TEAM s!!

    Cons

    Days can be long, very busy.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 21, 2017

    We appreciate everything you and your team do to deliver the Great Clips brand. Thank you!!!


  2. "Area Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great team to work with. Everyone from corporate to local management work together as a team to build the brand. Love the national family!

    Cons

    I havd been with the company for 21 years and have no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Join the team

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 21, 2017

    Thank you for being part of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  3. "Why I love great clips"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Mishawaka, IN
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Mishawaka, IN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I love working for great clips. This company has allowed me to grow personally and professionally. It has allowed me to achieve so many goals and dreams in my life. I have worked here almost 8yrs and I couldn't imagine being any where else.

    Cons

    I don't have any come :)

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 21, 2017

    Thank you for everything you and your team do in the salon each day!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Stylist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule if you've a family

    Cons

    No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    If you like being reprimanded for no reason in front of customers...then this is the place for you.

    Great Clips Response

    May 4, 2017

    We are sorry that this was your experience. Because the salons are independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the person best able to address your concerns. You can email ... More


  6. "Balance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Family and Career Life Balance, geniue care and belief in people

    Cons

    Once you come, you're in for life! ; ) Great Company to be a part of!

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 18, 2017

    We appreciate that you are a part of a GREAT team! Thank YOU!!!


  7. "Hairstylist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Positive environment, constant flow of clientele, loving the busyness ALWAYS! Great tips, and amazing management.

    Cons

    Sometimes a bit too corporate and monotonous.

    Advice to Management

    Let the stylist blossom into the great customer service employee you are hoping them to be, and you will ALWAYS have a fun filled and positive environment, even among coworkers.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 18, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you were a member of a great team.


  8. "Personal experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Lynden, WA
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Lynden, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There is built in clientele. Lots of available hours to work. Lots of options for training and growth in the business.

    Cons

    Some closing shifts are required plus weekends. Requested days off arent always allowed due to high demand of customer flow and hours open.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 18, 2017

    Thank you for your comments and for being part of a great community of stylists and managers.


  9. "Management at Great Clips(Future Keys Franchise)"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plainfield, IN
    Current Employee - Manager in Plainfield, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love our franchise of Great Clips! You create your own destiny. Our pay scale let's you make up to $12 an hour as a stylist! Our team atmosphere is comforting and amazing. We offer pto, health, dental, vision, and life insurance and not benefits as well! We have our own training programs also.

    Cons

    There really are no cons. As long as you want to work and create a fantastic career!

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 17, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand! We appreciate your comments and feedback.


  10. "Unprofessional franchisee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager in Richmond, KY
    Former Employee - Salon Manager in Richmond, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Gained knowledge and customers were always friendly

    Cons

    No health care, employees lack appreciation from upper management and franchisee, NO RAISES. Huge turnover .

    Advice to Management

    Professionalism is key.
    To the Franchisee: Very disappointed in how I was treated, and compared to your ex wife and her mental disabilities.

    Great Clips Response

    May 24, 2017

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisee may use a number of different factors to determine benefits and compensation. If you would like, you can email Jeanne@greatclips.com ... More


  11. "Great Clips Stylist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    401k, Health/Vision/Dental Insurance, Paid Vacation.

    Cons

    No set schedule, home/work balance, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fairly.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 12, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to have you as a part of a GREAT team!


Showing 1,012 of 1,016 reviews
Reset Filters