Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Great Clips Reviews

Updated January 17, 2018
1,280 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,280 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced-environment with great energy and ample learning opportunities (in 93 reviews)

  • Very flexible schedule to balance my home life (in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule so it can be hard to schedule stuff, but they do allow you to request time off (in 33 reviews)

  • Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Wilmington, NC
    Former Employee - Manager in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love cutting and styling hair

    Cons

    Owners knew nothing about hair

    Advice to Management

    Drop the 10 steps

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 28, 2017

    Thank you for having been a member of a great team. We appreciate your feedback and comments.


  2. "Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in De Pere, WI
    Current Employee - Manager in De Pere, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great money, try and make like a family.

    Cons

    Busy, sometimes you don’t get a break.

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 28, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!

  3. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Stylist in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Clientele provided ~ face paced ~ team environment ~ Great Franchisee’s & Management ~ growing salons ~ open 7 days a week for flexibility in scheduling ~ advanced training & room for growth

    Cons

    Cons ~ nothing that I can think of. They really make you feel valued and that is hard to come by now a days

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 28, 2017

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day. Thank you!


  4. "Decent money but terrible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent tips, crappy bennifits

    Cons

    Little to no bennifits

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible with scheduling if you want good stylist

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 10, 2018

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisees may use a number of different factors to determine stylist's compensation & benefits. If you would like to share more, please email... More


  5. "Really good company, make really good money!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    Well know by customers, have there clientele. Good paying. Good owners and managers!! 😀

    Cons

    To many close by, that gets clients confuse at times.

    Advice to Management

    Great job keeping employees and customers happy :)

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 26, 2017

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day! Thank you.


  6. Helpful (36)

    "Stylist/ Recruiting Specalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Stylist/Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Great locations provides consistent customer flow. Flexable scheduling and advancement opportunities. Bonus and incentives.

    Cons

    Cannot make appointments...but online check in and walk in welcome.

    Advice to Management

    I've been with Great Clips for over 6 years. I appreciate the standards and goals this company has set for us. This has not only helps us to grow the business and clientele but as stylists and individuals. I appreciate the leaders who help build us up with advice, guidance and training along with professionalism and patience. This company has made me successful in achieving my professional growth and I just want to say thank you for making me GREAT too.

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 29, 2017

    Thank YOU for everything you do to help deliver the Great Clips brand in the salons!


  7. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Styli in Shakopee, MN
    Current Employee - Styli in Shakopee, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome company the clients come to you! Friendly fast pace environment! Productivity bonuse, product bonus and great tips!

    Cons

    We could use mats to stand on at all locations.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Thanks for bringing us food and treats on really busy days

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 21, 2017

    We appreciate that you are a part of a great community of stylists and managers. Thank you!

  8. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - General Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The Possibilities with this company are endless. I’ve been with this company for 16 years and every day I cut I’m still amazed at how much I make an hour. Super flexible hours. Fun meeting 20 or more new people a day. You can learn so much from just listening. Support from anyone is just a phone call away!

    Cons

    I’ve been trying to think of a con for the last 30 minutes and the only thing I can say is I don’t understand why more people don’t work for such a great company and great caring people.

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 21, 2017

    We appreciate your comments and feedback! Thank you for being a valued member of a GREAT team.


  9. "Manager/stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Broomfield, CO
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Constant customer flow..always busy..great additional training

    Cons

    Would love a retirement plan and it would be absolutely perfect

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 20, 2017

    Thank you for everything that you and your team do in the salon every day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  10. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The hours are flexible. They gave me the freedom to work around my kids school functions and schedules. Go to appointments, etc. The money is great ! Hourly wage, incentives, and bonuses I can average $23+ an hour easily. With on going training and awesome classes they offer, you have the opportunity to grow and move up in the company. I have met some great people over the years through customers and the staff I have worked with. I have work for this company for over 30 years, and I still ❤️ my job. I truly believe it’s gets better every year!

    Cons

    Maybe update the apparel guidelines to more trendy styles. Beyond that I honestly cannot think of any cons. I love this company!

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 21, 2017

    Thanks to you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day!


Showing 1,280 of 1,285 reviews
Reset Filters