Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated September 21, 2017
1,145 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,145 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, team environment, friendly people (in 78 reviews)

  • Very flexible schedule to balance my home life (in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule, home/work balance, long hours (in 28 reviews)

  • Weekends are long hours but worth the money you make (in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Corporate staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great family-oriented company. Wonderful benefits. Everyone really seems to genuinely care about one another and love working there.

    Cons

    I feel there are no cons for this company.

    Advice to Management

    No advice.

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 31, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback and comments!


  2. "AMAZING OPPORTUNITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great tips, friendly staff who make you feel like family, awesome clientele.

    Cons

    Open until 9pm on weekdays

    Advice to Management

    We appreciate all the positive feedback! Makes us feel appreciated!

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 29, 2017

    WE appreciate all that you do in the salon every day! Thank you.

  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager
    Current Employee - Project Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Amazing franchisee, coworkers and clients! Offer incentives that I never thought would be possible being a stylist

    Cons

    None to mention.. it has been a great company to work for!

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 29, 2017

    Thank you for being a part of a great community of stylists and managers!


  4. "Area Manager/ Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Salon Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Area Salon Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced, easy money, great franchisees which support us 100%, great corporate staff, amazing training and advancement opportunities both within franchise as well as corporate! Thanks for helping me become Great !

    Cons

    Rhoda Leaving, However it's ok since we get to keep Steve! We are sad to see you go but excited to see what the future brings for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep continuing to help staff grow by providing the necessary tools to help each employee succeed! Together we are GREAT!

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 29, 2017

    Thank you for being a member of a GREAT team! We appreciate your feedback and comments.


  5. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Meridian, ID
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Meridian, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I love working for a company that is current with trends in business. The online check-in system is great! Great Clips does their research and know what works to be a successful brand!

    Cons

    nothing to complain about. Great company to work for.

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 29, 2017

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!


  6. "Money daily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They provide steady clients, get cash tips daily, my location stayed busy, if you do enough haircuts you can increase your hourly rate although that "productivity" has gone up making it much harder to reach

    Cons

    Sometimes work 7+ days in a row, credit card tips are taxed and put on paycheck at some locations, care more about money than well being of stylist

    Advice to Management

    It is important to care about wellbeing of staff; happy, well rested with a balanced work life balance increases morale and stylists ability to preform at 100%

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 13, 2017

    Thank you for being a part of a great team. Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your feedback would be the franchisee. If you would like to share more... More


  7. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Guaranteed hourly wage. AWESOME tips! Motivated teammates. Very clean salon.

    Cons

    Hours of operation are 7 days a week.

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 25, 2017

    Thank you for everything you and your team do in the salon each day!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "National Design Team Master"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Assistant Manager in Clemmons, NC
    Current Employee - Stylist/Assistant Manager in Clemmons, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    So many wonderful things about working for this company! I could be here for days! Number one, it's a team player and grow kinda atmosphere! Here, I see people who truly care about, not only the customers, but their employees as well! You do not have to advertise or pay booth rent! The great thing about having a cosmetology license is: we can pick which area we want to grow in whether it be nails hair facial what color you're at great clips and follow my dreams because I know all great here starts at a great haircut! I love to see people smile with a great cut! It's about making everyone feel welcome here. I love my career at Great Clips! I never would of imagined it would be this GREAT! Ask about joining our team today!!!

    Cons

    The only con I see is that you may fall in love with customers and then need to relocate due to growth or ever personal reason. (At Great Clips they want to put you where you want to be or where they see you growing)You get to know these people and then they become like family. The only con I see is missing those you have gotten to know, but then again you get to meet new people as well and continue to grow!

    Advice to Management

    Maybe you guys should consider shortening everyone shifts due to standing all day and wear and tear on body parts. Also, not being able to spend a lot of time with family due to school and chaos of work on top of dealing with a 8 to 10 hour day. I feel as though shorter shifts will allow stylist to spend more time with their family, rest their body. Therefore, they're able to work at their best. Otherwise It's GREAT!!!!

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 21, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  9. "We are a busy salon with a great salon environment! Our clients and stylists are amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetologist in West Des Moines, IA
    Current Employee - Cosmetologist in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great stylists, great pay, and a great management team! Benefit package for full time employees! Recruiting bonus' ! So much to tell!

    Cons

    Some nights and weekend hours- we rotate to be fair! I truly cannot say anything more about what I think are cons.

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 25, 2017

    We appreciate that you are a member of a GREAT team! Thank you for your feedback and comments.


  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Good money if in management position

    Cons

    No time for family. Work every weekend. Always short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Be friendly to your employees. Help them and They will help yoh

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 8, 2017

    We are sorry that this was your experience. Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your concerns would be the franchisee. If you would like to share more... More


Showing 1,145 of 1,150 reviews
Reset Filters