Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Not the best pay, horrible management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Waxahachie, TX
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Decent tips depending on the day

    Cons

    Bad hourly pay Horrible management Feels like pulling a tooth when asking for a single day off, weeks or even months in advance

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-28

    Great Clips Response

    December 29, 2019

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisees may use a number of different factors to determine stylists total compensation. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Always hiring..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Definitely a good staff makes it easier, easy to find a schedule that works with you

    Cons

    Low base pay, credit card tips are counted as pay so my base pay might be $x p/h, but they'll insist that my tips really pull me up to $xx-$xx per hour. When the complaint of my education and experience not being considered comes into play, the argument and insult of the possibility of being paid a waitress base wage instead, it's frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-19

    Great Clips Response

    December 19, 2019

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Clips Is Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very organized, they will teach you everything you need to know about haircuts as a new stylist, as well as the most efficient practices so you have the tools to make the most money possible. The perks are unrivaled(at my franchise, anyway) you will make great money if you are willing to work. Ongoing education. Educators with this company are amazing and humble and talented. Working with people every day and making them feel good about themselves.

    Cons

    The schedule is very inconsistent, and the hours can be long. Which is very draining for a hairstylist as we must adapt to different Guest's energy all day long. Every Franchisee is different, so they do NOT all offer the same benefits.

    Great Clips2019-12-07

    Great Clips Response

    December 9, 2019

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sole sucking but decent money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Leesburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow at hair cutting Decent money for a new stylist

    Cons

    Sole sucking corporate salon. No one cares about you they only care about your cut times Cheap, picky clients. Great clips attracts the people who only want to pay $15 for a haircut

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-16

    Great Clips Response

    December 17, 2019

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your concerns would be your franchisee. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. "A fast paced environment with good pay and a positive energy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Education and upward mobility Busy

    Cons

    Pay often depends on customer flow High expectations

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-02

    Great Clips Response

    December 3, 2019

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand for our customers!

    Continue reading
  7. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist 

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, customers are interesting

    Cons

    Mean girls but they are young

    Great Clips2019-12-11

    Great Clips Response

    December 12, 2019

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a great team of stylists and managers.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "They don't care about who is cutting hair as long as someone is doing it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Training, Immediate clientele, networking, provided cleaning supplies

    Cons

    Bad management, no breaks, bad pay, double taxed tips, long days,

    Great Clips2019-12-08

    Great Clips Response

    December 9, 2019

    We are sorry that this was your experience. Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will forward it to the franchisee for you. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Adjustable schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to get a variable schedule

    Cons

    Pay is less than some competitors

    Great Clips2019-11-20

    Great Clips Response

    November 21, 2019

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Okay Partime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetologist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tips everyday, meeting new people and some old friends, pay more than some other franchises

    Cons

    Overworked, seriously underpaid, every weekend

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-04

    Great Clips Response

    December 4, 2019

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisees may use a number of different factors to determine stylists total compensation. We appreciate that you were a member of a GREAT team!

    Continue reading
  11. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist 

    I worked at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    Half off haircuts and products

    Cons

    boring sometimes yet stressful other times.

    Great Clips2019-12-05

    Great Clips Response

    December 5, 2019

    Thank you for having been a part of a great team. We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 2029 reviews