Great Clips "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident(in 192 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, nice people, fast-paced, well paid(in 148 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's hard to find stylists in today's market(in 236 reviews)

  • "I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts(in 150 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist 

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, nice people, fast-paced, well paid

    Cons

    The normal girl stuff.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-03-11

    Great Clips Response

    March 12, 2020

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon each day! Thank you.

    Continue reading
  2. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetologist in Pocatello, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The tips are great, it is fast paced, it is cheap

    Cons

    It can be really draining

    Great Clips2020-02-06

    Great Clips Response

    February 6, 2020

    Thank you for having been a member of a great community of stylists and managers!

    Continue reading
  3. "Depends on owners and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management training. Working with a team. Flexible scheduling if you have enough staff. Independence to run the salon. Fast-paced environment.

    Cons

    Owners are manipulative. Only care about customer count and new customer returns. Dont care about returning customers or stylists. Gm doesn't know how to cut hair. Too many expectations with not enough pay. Will give you $5 giftcards for "incentive" instead of raises. Dress code expectations were super high when I started but they did start to ease off a little. Experienced stylists with 10+ years were only making 13.50 when I started and I got them raises.. anything less than 15 is a joke honestly. Management should be paid 20 an hour minimum. Tips are not an excuse to pay your employees less! And management technically shouldn't be doing as many haircuts as a full time stylist because they are also doing scheduling and other tasks. However most managers do the bulk of the haircuts as well.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-08

    Great Clips Response

    February 10, 2020

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you would like, you can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will forward it to the franchisee for you. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "$1 $2 tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You might be lucky enough to make a second family. I love the girls I work with. Being payed hourly is always nice because even when your not working you get paid You will learn and grow especially if you have a good manger or other stylists are usually happy to help

    Cons

    You don’t get paid much and depending on your location my not make very good tips You will never have a set schedule and need to request days off for doctors appointments or anything serious. Understaffing is in almost every great clips and you’re expected to work ridiculous hours and pick up the slack of people that have left There’s a possibility they might try to move you to other salons after bonding with everyone in your home location. You have to take customers right up until it hits 9:00 which has you leaving late sometimes so if you have children this job may not Be the best for you No benefits It is a very fast paced environment, some people can handle it and some can’t.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-09-03

    Great Clips Response

    September 4, 2019

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your comments and feedback. If you would like, you can email jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will provide it to your franchisee. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in New Braunfels, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Going on 10 years with an amazing franchisee and salon family. Fast pace industry with lots of opportunities for growth and training within the company.

    Cons

    Holidays and weekends can be hard to take time off but that comes with the industry.

    Great Clips2019-06-20

    Great Clips Response

    June 21, 2019

    Congratulations! We appreciate you sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hourly pay due to the fact that you get product bonuses. and tips. Fast paced environment, so you have to work fast to make productivity and tips. Pay varies on Franchisee owners. and tips vary on location. Work life balance. Not a full service salon

    Cons

    This is not a job you want to stay at long term. Unless youre in management. If you have a high clientele you are better off renting your own space. If you do not liked to be timed on haircuts this is not the place for you either.

    Great Clips2019-06-19

    Great Clips Response

    June 20, 2019

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand for our customers!

    Continue reading
  7. "Perfect for entry-level & experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Yucca Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly pay, no clientele required Fast-paced environment Positive team with education opportunities Incentives & bonus for certain achievements

    Cons

    Limited services for a creative/expressive stylist Scheduling is inconsistent based on consumer-traffic

    Great Clips2019-06-18

    Great Clips Response

    June 19, 2019

    Thank you for having been a member of a great community of stylists and managers!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company. Great people. Very structured and many opportunities to advance. Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's fast-paced, like I love. No chemicals which is even better bc I love to cut!

    Cons

    Although they recently raised the starting wage, if you were a manager (or anyone with responsibility), it's not enough. It's a lot of stress and on call 24/7, but it's very fulfilling. Open Sunday is the worst thing.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-06-08

    Great Clips Response

    June 8, 2019

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand for our customers.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Helena, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Busy, fast paced environment, commissions/bonuses/tips, hourly wage, continuous training

    Cons

    Strict attendance policy makes it difficult to account for sickness or family emergencies.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-06-05

    Great Clips Response

    June 6, 2019

    Thank you for being a valued member of a GREAT team!!!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun, fast paced environment. Steady customer flow. Supportive management.

    Cons

    I have no complaints! Everything has been wonderful.

    Great Clips2019-05-25

    Great Clips Response

    May 26, 2019

    Thank you and your team for everything you do each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

    Continue reading
Found 166 reviews