Great Clips "haircuts" Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Employee Reviews about "haircuts"

Updated Feb 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident(in 192 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, nice people, fast-paced, well paid(in 148 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's hard to find stylists in today's market(in 236 reviews)

  • "I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts(in 150 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "haircuts"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Clips is a brand I can really believe in! The brand promise to customer service is exceptional and revolutionary!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coming out of beauty school it was very easy to gain practice and become really good!! Now I do 20-30 haircuts a day and I love it! Growth within the salon and corporate are available if you work hard! The availability to immediate success, training, and growth to employees is amazing!!

    Cons

    Great Clips has a bad rep as a chop shop. I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts! We don’t “just do cuts”!! I think it would make our customers believe in us more, As well as make other stylists be inspired to want to become a part of our team!

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-05-24

    Great Clips Response

    May 24, 2019

    Thank you for being a valued member of a GREAT team! We appreciate your comments and feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always busy . Fast days. Good tips

    Cons

    Its fast food haircuts. You cant do color

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-29

    Great Clips Response

    March 1, 2020

    We appreciate that you were a valued member of a great team! Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "This place doesn't value its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Winter Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    $2-5 Avg tips if you're willing to give compromised-quality, 15-minute haircuts, a social outlet, physical exercise being on your feet.

    Cons

    Inadequate training, hires people without conducting background checks, company has NO HR department, pay is not enough for the amount of work, disorganized, you don't get your schedule until 2 days ahead, everyone takes advantage of one another

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-12

    Great Clips Response

    February 13, 2020

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your feedback. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed. We will forward it to the franchisee. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  4. "Depends on owners and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management training. Working with a team. Flexible scheduling if you have enough staff. Independence to run the salon. Fast-paced environment.

    Cons

    Owners are manipulative. Only care about customer count and new customer returns. Dont care about returning customers or stylists. Gm doesn't know how to cut hair. Too many expectations with not enough pay. Will give you $5 giftcards for "incentive" instead of raises. Dress code expectations were super high when I started but they did start to ease off a little. Experienced stylists with 10+ years were only making 13.50 when I started and I got them raises.. anything less than 15 is a joke honestly. Management should be paid 20 an hour minimum. Tips are not an excuse to pay your employees less! And management technically shouldn't be doing as many haircuts as a full time stylist because they are also doing scheduling and other tasks. However most managers do the bulk of the haircuts as well.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-08

    Great Clips Response

    February 10, 2020

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you would like, you can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will forward it to the franchisee for you. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist 

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Security Consistency Multiple locations Flexible hours Room for growth

    Cons

    Clientele is cheap Haircut sale May be left alone for a couple of hours

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-01-16

    Great Clips Response

    January 17, 2020

    We appreciate that you were a member of a great community of stylists and manages.

    Continue reading
  6. "Petty G.M."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can use your own Brand of clippers. You pay for own equipment. You are not forced to use a certain brand clipper.

    Cons

    Latest closing hours of all salons in America, low wages, Favoritism, catering to let certain stylist have whatever schedule they want just because they want that schedule. No floor mats where I worked. This job is hard on ones back already.. To have a cutting stool you have to have a Doctor's note for the franchise I work at. So you have to kneel to the floor. When you are cutting long hair. The constant harrasment of making every stylist do a haircut from 12 to 16 minutes. Even disabled stylist which is not being Compliant with the Disabled American disability Act.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-02

    Great Clips Response

    February 4, 2020

    We are sorry to read your frustrations with the management. Because each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your comments and feedback. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will provide it to the franchisee. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Clips Is Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very organized, they will teach you everything you need to know about haircuts as a new stylist, as well as the most efficient practices so you have the tools to make the most money possible. The perks are unrivaled(at my franchise, anyway) you will make great money if you are willing to work. Ongoing education. Educators with this company are amazing and humble and talented. Working with people every day and making them feel good about themselves.

    Cons

    The schedule is very inconsistent, and the hours can be long. Which is very draining for a hairstylist as we must adapt to different Guest's energy all day long. Every Franchisee is different, so they do NOT all offer the same benefits.

    Great Clips2019-12-07

    Great Clips Response

    December 9, 2019

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sole sucking but decent money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Leesburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow at hair cutting Decent money for a new stylist

    Cons

    Sole sucking corporate salon. No one cares about you they only care about your cut times Cheap, picky clients. Great clips attracts the people who only want to pay $15 for a haircut

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-16

    Great Clips Response

    December 17, 2019

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your concerns would be your franchisee. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist 

    I worked at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    Half off haircuts and products

    Cons

    boring sometimes yet stressful other times.

    Great Clips2019-12-05

    Great Clips Response

    December 5, 2019

    Thank you for having been a part of a great team. We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t get trapped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can’t think of any

    Cons

    Long hours, a lot of haircuts, split shifts, picky customers, having to spend an hour on a blowout and only make a $2 tip when there were haircuts you could’ve been doing, you will be guilt tripped if you are sick or don’t want to cover someone’s shift, I was here for 4 years and once I decided to leave no one fought for me...I was great employee. But yet they continue to let drug addicts work there who are high while cutting hair. They let managers who bully employees to continue to work there. They are going to continue to loose the good employees if something doesn’t change. Start showing you care and respect your employees and maybe they will stay. If you are a good worker and actually care ..find somewhere else to work. You will not be appreciated

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-12

    Great Clips Response

    December 13, 2019

    We are sorry that this was your experience. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will provide it to the franchisee for you as each salon is independently owned and operated. Thank you.

    Continue reading
Found 213 reviews