Great Clips "stylists" Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Employee Reviews about "stylists"

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident(in 192 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, nice people, fast-paced, well paid(in 148 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's hard to find stylists in today's market(in 236 reviews)

  • "I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts(in 150 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "stylists"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Richmond Hill, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay never bored, always excited

    Cons

    Hard to find good stylist

    Great Clips2020-03-11

    Great Clips Response

    March 12, 2020

    Thank you for being a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Ashburn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great ownership team, exciting brand

    Cons

    It's hard to find stylists in today's market.

    Great Clips2020-03-07

    Great Clips Response

    March 7, 2020

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team or stylists and managers!!!

    Continue reading
  3. "Depends on owners and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management training. Working with a team. Flexible scheduling if you have enough staff. Independence to run the salon. Fast-paced environment.

    Cons

    Owners are manipulative. Only care about customer count and new customer returns. Dont care about returning customers or stylists. Gm doesn't know how to cut hair. Too many expectations with not enough pay. Will give you $5 giftcards for "incentive" instead of raises. Dress code expectations were super high when I started but they did start to ease off a little. Experienced stylists with 10+ years were only making 13.50 when I started and I got them raises.. anything less than 15 is a joke honestly. Management should be paid 20 an hour minimum. Tips are not an excuse to pay your employees less! And management technically shouldn't be doing as many haircuts as a full time stylist because they are also doing scheduling and other tasks. However most managers do the bulk of the haircuts as well.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-08

    Great Clips Response

    February 10, 2020

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you would like, you can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will forward it to the franchisee for you. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  4. "Grove City Great Clips is a terrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips

    Pros

    There are none. This place sucks.

    Cons

    The store manager only took the job to benefit herself. She hates the older more experienced stylists and treats them like crap. She's a know it all and likes to think she is better than everyone else.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-15

    Great Clips Response

    February 18, 2020

    We are sorry that this was your experience with the management in the salon. Since each location is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will provide it to the franchisee. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. "Petty G.M."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can use your own Brand of clippers. You pay for own equipment. You are not forced to use a certain brand clipper.

    Cons

    Latest closing hours of all salons in America, low wages, Favoritism, catering to let certain stylist have whatever schedule they want just because they want that schedule. No floor mats where I worked. This job is hard on ones back already.. To have a cutting stool you have to have a Doctor's note for the franchise I work at. So you have to kneel to the floor. When you are cutting long hair. The constant harrasment of making every stylist do a haircut from 12 to 16 minutes. Even disabled stylist which is not being Compliant with the Disabled American disability Act.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-02

    Great Clips Response

    February 4, 2020

    We are sorry to read your frustrations with the management. Because each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your comments and feedback. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will provide it to the franchisee. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. "Busy stores. Lots of customers. Not family friendly hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work if new to area, newly licensed, want cutting experience , want customers.

    Cons

    Hard on body, schedules change every week, unwashed hair is hard to cut well. The new stylist education is based on videos and not hands on.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-12-28

    Great Clips Response

    December 29, 2019

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns and feedback. If you would like, you can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "Flexible hours? Nope you must work night weekends and some national holidays!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Marina, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good tips, good tips and that’s it!

    Cons

    Horrible managers, not time off, 12-16 minute haircuts, majority of stylist do crappy work but it’s ok it’s a 12-16 min haircut on men women and children. Pay sucks, requested time off isn’t a guarantee unless your management. Your own your own for everything either sink or swim! Better choices of company’s out there that can help you develop into a better stylist. No room for growth! No room to actually do good work! Over worked and under paid, this place is for someone that doesn’t want a life

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-11-23

    Great Clips Response

    November 26, 2019

    We are sorry to read your frustrations. Since each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you would like, please email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will forward it to your franchisee. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great franchisee, great people, flexibility, community service, great values

    Cons

    beautu schools not preparing stylists for industry

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-10-15

    Great Clips Response

    October 15, 2019

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

    Continue reading
  9. "Bad and lazy management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Yucca Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for starting out and great tips.

    Cons

    Bad management. The manager picked on me and was extremely rude for no reason. She hardly ever actually did her job and just sat in the back eating all day. The assistant manager can’t even cut hair as she had several complaints yet for some reason I was the one who needed training when I only had at least two complaints. The owners don’t care they are best friends with the manager and are money hungry . Lastly I was written up cause my mbc was too high when I had only been on the floor for three weeks and this was my first job ever as a stylist. I was only given a week on the floor before I was told that my average haircut time was way to high, again this was my first job. It seems that they really only care about doing bad haircuts at a fast speed and then wonder why less and less people are coming in to get their haircut.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-11-06

    Great Clips Response

    November 7, 2019

    We are sorry to read your frustrations with the management in the salon. Because each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person person to address your feedback. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will provide it to the franchisee. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  10. "Yikes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’ll make fast money, so that’s good

    Cons

    Witnessed a lot of shady behavior. If you spoke out about rules being broken (unlicensed stylists working on the floor and owner just paying the state board fines and bringing them back right after still unlicensed-even unlicensed managers cutting hair) then they’d fire you for creating a hostile work environment. Never happened to me because I quit because I couldn’t work for a shady company. But happened to several of my friends. They were screamed at by other managers and fired on the spot when they would ask about the unlicensed stylists and managers. Also had their vacation time never given to them, even when approved. Watch out for them

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-09-23

    Great Clips Response

    September 25, 2019

    We are sorry that this was your experience. If you would like to share more, you can email jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location and details. Thank you.

    Continue reading
Found 236 reviews