Great Expressions Dental Centers Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Great Expressions Dental Centers President and CEO  Adesh Ramchandran  (no image)
Adesh Ramchandran
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "CE courses and great specialty doctors to work with(in 14 reviews)

  • "GEDC has great Benefits and room for growth with in the company(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management doesn't seem to care about employees and often puts people the wrong people in management positions(in 17 reviews)

  • "I worked at one in Macomb county and they kept going through dentist after(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing work life balance

      May 11, 2021 - Area Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, fun staff to work with, great training and support from upper management.

      Cons

      Nothing currently to complain about

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Its a Good Stepping Stone

      May 12, 2021 - Senior Operations Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company offers a lot to learn

      Cons

      A lot of difficult situations and scenarios (corporate politics) to navigate due to the way the company structure is set up (clinical being one chain of command; administrative being another chain of command and the expectation that the front line with cohesively collaborate).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good company to work at

      May 2, 2021 - Treatment Coordinator in Kennesaw, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good management, good benefits, fair pay

      Cons

      i really cant think of many right now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Eh

      Apr 11, 2021 - Front Desk Receptionist in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I met some amazing people who I still keep in touch with after 3 years. Good training

      Cons

      Unorganized. Patients were seen as appointments more than they were as people. Review and development was carried out by out of state management and wasn’t very productive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best office in Great Expressions

      Sep 4, 2020 - Patient Coordinator in Shelby Township, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I see the other reviews and they are the polar opposite from what I've experienced as a new employee. The Shelby office manager Jamie is beyond fantastic. She was very thorough with training and is always available to answer any questions I have regarding insurance and other odds and ends. She's fantastic at dealing with patients including the difficult ones. She comes in early and stays late whenever it is necessary and puts in the extra effort at every turn. The lead hygienist Sarah is very thorough and direct with patients and they respond very well to her. She has an upbeat personality and is great at explaining treatment plans. She's always always willing to jump on the front desk when we're getting slammed and help out with incoming and outgoing calls. Jennifer is only at The office part time but for someone who works as an unassisted hygienist, she gets the job done everytime and had a very call demeanor patients respond well to. We get an hour lunch half way through our shift and have never been asked or expected to work through lunches. The pay is extremely competitive and more than fair, especially when you're brand new to the industry. The benefits are really good and the dental coverage is absolutely fantastic. This is the first job I've had in a long time that I enjoy going to every day.

      Cons

      Some patients can be very difficult and unfriendly but the calmer and more helpful you are with them, the easier it gets.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very good overall

      Mar 21, 2021 - General Dentist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful management- progressive new CEO- administration willing to listen- autonomy to handle schedules-really good specialists in all fields-ability to move up in company. Let you grow into the dentist you want to be but there when you need help.

      Cons

      Was a bit of turnover in the past but new CEO and management have a really good idea of direction to take company .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid

      Apr 6, 2021 - Dental Hygienist in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You may make some friends

      Cons

      They work you like slave. Prophy and perio apts are 20 minutes from the time they walk thru the office doors. They try to say they’re longer by putting them in 2 columns. New patients and srp you have 30 min. They also schedule patients very close to lunch and at the very end of the day so being on time for either is rare. Overall you feel like a hygiene slave. This sort of “see as many patients as you can” culture is making me want to leave hygiene.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Whew

      Apr 15, 2021 - Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hours, flexible adjustment with schedule.

      Cons

      Not paid enough, added responsibility,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awful long days and so much running around

      Feb 21, 2021 - Dental Hygienist in Bayonne, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only job I found that was full time as a hygienist. I would've gotten benefits (don't know how good it bad they were though) if I hadn't quit so soon. Co-workers were not too friendly but they were nice.

      Cons

      I worked at the bayonne NJ branch for a week and then immediately put in my 2 weeks after that so I worked a total of 3 weeks. As a hygienist in this branch, they say you don't need to take the patient's x-rays or clean the room which sounded nice at first...but they work you like a DOG! You have 3 columns of scheduled patients every day that are staggered so you spend like 40-min or half hour per patient to clean them. This may not be too bad in a perfect world where there were always a clean patient chair ready to go or all the patients arrived on time, but most of the time, I ran around and typically half 20-30 min to clean each patient. Due to the nature of this office, all or most patients I saw needed a LOT of cleaning so 20-30 minutes probably only was good for 25-50% of their mouth, even for the case of SRP patients. The company's reasoning for triple booking hygienists were that they didn't make enough production. I felt so exhausted after work and even on the days I didn't work, I was in pain. It's NOT a good place to work in, you will just be running around all day scrambling. You shouldn't expect a promotion unless you do a really good job selling a bunch of electric toothbrushes and toothpaste and SRP's either. I was told from the office manager I would get my parking permit reimbursed since I paid for a whole year's parking permit but she never called or texted me after I left despite calling her so many times. She was 'nice' while I worked there but just left my hanging about that issue too. Oh, and you are looked down upon SEVERELY if you get sick and have to call out. The office manager was yelling on the phone at the vice office manager for calling out sick cause she got the flu. The OM was saying how she got the flu and she's still at work, like as if that's something to brag about. Besides being overworked, hearing that was pretty much the last straw.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Culture and place to work

      Jan 29, 2021 - Dentist in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great clinical and service approach to patients

      Cons

      Support center needs to do more to assist offices.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 343 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Great Expressions Dental Centers Job Seekers

    Dentist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Great Expressions Dental Centers? Share Your Experiences

    Great Expressions Dental Centers logo
    or