KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Great Expressions Dental Centers

Is this your company?

Great Expressions Dental Centers

Add a Review

Great Expressions Dental Centers Employee Reviews about "gedc"

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 393 reviews

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Great Expressions Dental Centers President and CEO  Adesh Ramchandran  (no image)
Adesh Ramchandran
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "CE courses and great specialty doctors to work with(in 14 reviews)

  • "GEDC has great Benefits and room for growth with in the company(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management doesn't seem to care about employees and often puts people the wrong people in management positions(in 17 reviews)

  • "I worked at one in Macomb county and they kept going through dentist after(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Great Expressions Dental Centers and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "gedc"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Working for GEDC

      Sep 17, 2018 - Operations Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working for GEDC for 8 years and it was the best decision I ever made. I have built so many personal and professional relationships with GEDC and it has not only made me a better person, but a better employee as well. I have been blessed with great doctors and coworkers who make the work place fun and exciting. My supervisors are amazing and are very understanding to our family needs because they too have families. I trust that they always have my back and it only serves to make me strive harder to be the best I can be. GEDC saw potential in me when I was just a PC and gave me the tools I needed to grow to be the OM I am today. I wouldn't change jobs for anything in the world because of how understandable they are. I love what I do and who I work for.

      Cons

      I do not have anything negative to say about Great Expressions Dental Centers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Horrible

      Aug 25, 2019 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I want to say something positive. Really, I do. I worked for GEDC for 13 years.

      Cons

      The culture is horrible. They fired the 2nd CEO. Currently, there is no CEO. Because GEDC has such a bad reputation, many other DSO will not consider a current or former GEDC employee. Stay away from this sinking ship.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Practice Admin

      Sep 12, 2018 - Practice Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome co-workers and great benefits

      Cons

      I wish everyone loved GEDC like I do!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Patient Coordinator

      Jul 30, 2018 - Patient Coordinator in Decatur, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GEDC has great Benefits and room for growth with in the company.

      Cons

      No cons at so far so good.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Stay Positive, Work Hard, Make it Happen

      Oct 4, 2017 - Leader in Southfield, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like having work autonomy and the fact I am not micro managed by upper management which shows GEDC has trust in my abilities. I have access to mentorship when I seek it out. GEDC has proactive career meetings to keep you engaged. I have a good immediate boss that leads by example. I have seen the company work to improve health and wellness activities, increase good performance recognition, add better training programs, focus on quality of hiring and employee retention and process improvement specifically in the last 2 years of me working at the company compared to years past.

      Cons

      Health benefits are still a work in progress and there is still no 401K match yet which can be a large concern for employees pursuing this company for a long term career path and not just a few years.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      RDH

      Jul 24, 2017 - Rdh in Gainesville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The opportunity to partner with large network of dental healthcare professionals to make a positive difference. Competitive benefits. Continuing ED opportunities. The VP of operations for the North region is an amazing business leader who has always had an open door policy with me. Along with the North dental hygiene director who constantly advocates quality customer care I have been thankful for their leadership . Our jobs/professions are no better than the very best we give them.

      Cons

      There are aways areas in professional communities to improve. I feel GEDC does strive to find those areas to improve on. Yes, seems to have a large turn over BUT, is it necessarily the company or could it be the individual employees? ( That's one to give some thought to anyway)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Corrupt corporation with no regard for employees.

      Jun 9, 2017 - Associate Dentist in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company offers decent benefits including medical insurance as well as malpractice insurance for the doctors. Doctors also get a meager base pay.

      Cons

      Great Expressions basically financially punishes their doctors for resigning. They require a 60 day final notice period after turning in your resignation, and they expect you to go that entire two months with no pay at all! I literally worked the last sixty days and was told I wasn't owed anything at the end. They have completely unethical business practices! Upper "corporate" management obviously does not care the employees in the practices at all. The office was completely understaffed with no assistant or hygienist. The office manager was at one point an assistant, and they required her to act as an assistant even though she did not have an active license, which is, of course, illegal. Also, the office suffered from an extremely low patient base with zero foot traffic, and GEDC did nothing to increase the flow of patient through the office. Also, their proprietary charting software "Dental Vision" is abysmal, slow, and incredibly outdated.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Great Expressions Dental Centers Response

      Vice President of Human Resources

      Dr. I am sorry you still feel you were not paid. We did send you explanation of your last payments. You did receive payments for your work performed. Additional deductions were made to deduct things like a signing bonus, which you authorized us to do rather than writing a check back to us. If you do not meet your requirements of your contract for length of employment you do not keep a signing bonus. You are welcome to call me again for an additional call if you want to discuss further.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Office manager

      Jul 16, 2016 - Office Manager in Flint, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at GEDC has been a wonderful experience. My office feels like family, and the AOM always tries to make sure we have what we need.

      Cons

      It is hard to find temps to fill positions when other employees are out. It can get overwhelming

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Your Job is what YOU make it...

      Mar 19, 2016 - Operations Manager in Sterling Heights, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Let me just say this. Every company is going to have bad reviews wrote by disgruntled employees, so you need to take what you see with a grain of salt. Sadly our current generation feels entitled to high pay and less hours. Working for Great Expressions has taught me a lot about the industry that I was not able to learn at another DSO. There are a ton of tenured employees within the company that you can always reach out to if you have questions about anything. The sky is the limit with this company and you can start at the bottom and move to the top...if you put fourth your best effort. Compared to other DSO's GEDC works most similar to a private practice. Most offices have a family like environment, and they do not force products down patient's throats. Some reviews make mention that this is the case, but remember, it is all about who is running the office. Unfortunately for every company they are exposed to below average employees, and when this is the case an office will perform poorly. You must remember that GEDC is not the problem, but the bad apples are the ones to blame. Great Expressions is a great place to start and end your dental career depending on your goals. GEDC is not for everyone just like working IT at Apple isn't for everyone. As an employee you need to deliver on what you signed up for, work your hardest, and the results will not go unnoticed. I see other people that mention that they have went to private practice for "higher pay" and it makes me laugh at times. Private practice has a ceiling and you cannot move up from there. Do you want to be an assistant for the rest of your life? What are your long term goals? Think about these things before taking a job, and see how GEDC will help you meet your end goal. The benefits package is geared towards young adults and includes an option for an HSA. For me this is great. I can contribute money towards an HSA to reduce my taxable income (better for you come tax return time) and use that money to pay for co-pays.

      Cons

      DSO's are not for everyone like I mentioned above. Do your research and know where YOU want to be in 2, 5, and 10 years and see if GEDC makes sense for you. Don't sign on just to get a paycheck and then complain a year later when you do not receive a raise for mediocrity. Your job is what you make it!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jun 30, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall great company. I enjoy being a part of the GEDC team. There are opportunities to advance and it's a great place to build a career.

      Cons

      I don't have anything negative to say - overall I am very happy working for Great Expressions Dental Centers. Great company!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Great Expressions Dental Centers Response

      CEO

      Thanks for the comments.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Great Expressions Dental Centers Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Great Expressions Dental Centers? Share Your Experiences

    or