Great Harvest Bread Co. Cashier, Sandwich Maker Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Harvest Bread Co. Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Great Harvest Bread Co. CEO and Director Mike Ferretti (no image)
Mike Ferretti
20 Ratings
  1. "It was a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work environment was great

    Cons

    I do not think that there are any

    Continue reading
    Great Harvest Bread Co.2019-03-03
  2. "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - AM Front of House/Bread Kneader in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It smells really good, customers were usually really nice, coworkers were also nice

    Cons

    Ever since my first day, I had wanted to quit right then and there. I barely made it at this place for a week, and I am the type of employee that is loyal and hardworking. This is the first place I ever worked where I left immediately after I started. The people who run this particular location are THE WORST CASE of micromanagement I have ever encountered. First of all, customer service the VERY LOW on the priority scale. I remember getting fussed at for engaging with a customer, abandoning a customer mid service, and the managers encouraged getting customers in and out as fast as possible, by any means necessary. The managers yell at you for absolutely everything you do (can be as little as the way you hold a pencil), they contradict themselves about everything and blame their employees for everything and love belittling them in front of others. Coworkers couldn't engage with one another because they would get yelled at, and even told me to quit the place as soon as possible. Honestly it's a miracle this place is still even open. Everyone hates their jobs, hates working there, there is huge turnover with their employees, and the management are the absolute worst people to their employees.

    Continue reading
    Great Harvest Bread Co.2020-03-17
  3. "Stressful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AM Baker in Austin, TX

    I worked at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are willing to train you how to bake, no experience needed.

    Cons

    Management was some of the worst micro managers I have ever encountered. They run you into the ground and the whole time they are rude and make you feel like every single thing you do is wrong. The most senior employee when I worked there had only been there 11 months, everyone else was in their first month and most people would leave after a week or less. The pay and lack of benefits does not make this level of work worth it. It's hard tedious work that is so chaotic there is no time to even drink water and management will show you no appreciation.

    Continue reading
    Great Harvest Bread Co.2020-03-14
  4. "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Cashier, Sandwich Maker 

    I worked at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, organization needed, and always on your feet.

    Cons

    minimum wage salary, and tough to find good people to work.

    Great Harvest Bread Co.2020-02-06
  5. "Good Company - Solid Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Harvest Bread Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small company. Lots of room for growth.

    Cons

    Small company. Needs to develop product bookbag.

    Continue reading
    Great Harvest Bread Co.2019-11-19
  6. "Quality depends on location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Baker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are friendly, creative freedom when baking

    Cons

    quality depends on management.

    Continue reading
    Great Harvest Bread Co.2019-10-08
  7. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest Bread Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was overall a good place to work. Hours are flexible, especially for those with school / family / other jobs. Coworkers are great, and they have the nicest customers to deal with. Free bread and sandwiches, overtime pay for holidays.

    Cons

    Pay is only slightly above minimum wage. Not the greatest, but like I said, schedule is flexible, which a lot of places are not, and work environment is pleasant.

    Great Harvest Bread Co.2019-08-26
  8. "Okay first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good bread and bakery experience

    Cons

    Sometimes position duties were not entirely explained

    Great Harvest Bread Co.2019-08-27
  9. "Bakery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Baker/Front Registers in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great owners. Learn how to bake if you don’t know how. Closed Sundays . Will work around your schedule

    Cons

    It’s only part time work. You don’t get raises very often even though you deserve them. There’s not positions where you can move up. No paid vacations or holiday pay or sick pay days

    Great Harvest Bread Co.2019-07-25
  10. "Great work environment but understaffed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Baker in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Harvest Bread Co. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work, good product, happy customers... also access to the bread board (YUM).

    Cons

    Difficulty working with management. Low salary. They keep the minimum amount of employees in the store, which makes doing a good job and satisfying every customer very difficult.

    Great Harvest Bread Co.2019-06-03
Found 122 reviews