Great Harvest Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Harvest Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Great Harvest CEO Mike Ferretti (no image)
Mike Ferretti
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free bread, fun environment, little stress(in 5 reviews)

  • "great perks such as free products and holiday bonuses and flexible hours especially for those going to school or with other jobs(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, high volume in inconsistent intervals, high turnover rate of employees after you train them(in 4 reviews)

  • "Bakery equipment would break and it was not fixed, and management did not deal with major health and safety concerns(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It was a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work environment was great

    Cons

    I do not think that there are any

    Advice to Management

    none

    Great Harvest2019-03-03
  2. "Quality depends on location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Baker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Harvest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are friendly, creative freedom when baking

    Cons

    quality depends on management.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent, keep your promises, be available, be a good role model for your employees, listen to feedback and act on it. Take quality seriously because food and baking should be seen as a service of passion and an artform, not just a means of trying to get people to buy and balance costs.

    Great Harvest2019-10-08
  3. "Great work environment but understaffed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Baker in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Harvest part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work, good product, happy customers... also access to the bread board (YUM).

    Cons

    Difficulty working with management. Low salary. They keep the minimum amount of employees in the store, which makes doing a good job and satisfying every customer very difficult.

    Great Harvest2019-06-03
  4. "Great Harvest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Great Harvest part-time

    Pros

    Free bread and food everyday

    Cons

    Low pay, disorganized, inter-coworker problems

    Great Harvest2019-01-02
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Harvest part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Such a fun environment! So many kind customers come in and it is a very warm, relaxed environment in the store. My coworkers and my managers make working there an amazing experience for me.

    Cons

    At my Great Harvest we are understaffed currently, which makes finding someone to cover me difficult at times. Occasionally I have had to work two shifts in one day because of this as well.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees!

    Great Harvest2018-10-11
  6. "Nice owner, great food, great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Baker in Maplewood, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free loaves of bread every week

    Cons

    4 AM shift start time

    Great Harvest2018-09-09
  7. "Great college part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sweets Baker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bread and sweets. I really enjoyed the energy of the people I worked with

    Cons

    Bakery equipment would break and it was not fixed, and management did not deal with major health and safety concerns.

    Great Harvest2018-08-27
  8. "Great environment, but some management issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest part-time

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, easy to learn on the job, benefits include free pastries

    Cons

    Poor management, was never officially let go

    Great Harvest2018-05-25
  9. "Awesome Job, Can Be Emotionally Exhausting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Part Time in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Harvest part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and fun, relaxed environment to work in!

    Cons

    You are almost constantly facing customers, which can be emotionally exhausting when you still have to put on a happy face even if you're having a bad day from time to time.

    Great Harvest2018-04-05
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, pretty good pay for a front counter salesperson, and you get to keep a loaf of bread every day! What more could you ask for

    Cons

    No cons, great place to work

    Great Harvest2018-03-13
Found 66 reviews