Great Harvest Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Harvest Reviews

Updated 8 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
59%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Great Harvest CEO Mike Ferretti (no image)
Mike Ferretti
20 Ratings
  1. "Best Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Baker in Grand Haven, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Great Harvest full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment. Great co-workers.Worked early so I had the rest of the day to sleep or do whatever.

    Cons

    Sometimes you only work 3-4 hours a shift so you aren't getting paid a whole lot. Not really a career.

    Great Harvest2016-03-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Chill job with basically no other benefits than being easy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Prairie Village, Johnson, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free product - Most coworkers are very chill, good people - job is really not hard, most of the time

    Cons

    - pays slave wages - turns out the people that buy 11.00 bread are often very entitled and hard to deal with - management was extremely haphazard and disorganized; somehow simultaneously over-involved with and under-supporting the staff

    Advice to Management

    I get that this is a "free" franchise, but seriously: put in a standardized training program for the owners. it hurts your brand not to do so; the people at the franchise where I worked had Zero bakery experience and no small business experience, and it showed. They were underfoot getting in all the workers' way, but never actually helping. If you're going to hand over your name to random yahoos, you need to make... sure they represent what you want your brand to represent. They tanked the businesses and sold it within three years of my working there, as well.

    Show More
    Great Harvest2016-03-17
  3. "Crew Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Crew Member in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest

    Pros

    Easy going, very friendly company to work for. Good atmosphere almost all the time plus free bread!!

    Cons

    The pay was a bit low but being able to work at farmers markets, etc made it worth it for me

    Advice to Management

    I have nothing to share at this time.

    Great Harvest2016-03-01
  4. "Still learning the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sandwich Maker Lead in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Great Harvest

    Pros

    Get to take home bread or other unsold items after every shift. Free lunch during the shift. Discounts on other items

    Cons

    On your feet the entire time in a warm environment. We are learning our jobs, so until we do, everything seems to be tough

    Advice to Management

    No advice to give at this time... This is still a new business, so we are all learning.

    Great Harvest2016-02-22
  5. "Solid Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Food Server in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest

    Pros

    Very nice, enjoyed my time there. Nice boss, flexible hours

    Cons

    Not great pay and bad tips

    Great Harvest2016-02-14
  6. "Great company, free food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest full-time

    Pros

    Nice staff with a good mission to provide healthy, good food and baked goods. Perks of free bread and a sandwich/loaf

    Cons

    Some internal discrepancies and issues with management, but overall a great company to work for.

    Great Harvest2016-01-21
  7. "Front Counter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Harvest part-time

    Pros

    Great bread, easy going customers, all and all stress-free job!

    Cons

    no such things as 40 hours a week even at minimum wage :( Terrible!

    Great Harvest2015-12-18
  8. "good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Great Harvest

    Pros

    good culture and nice friendly people.

    Cons

    Not enough time off for lunch

    Great Harvest2015-12-02
  9. "Overall Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Great Harvest

    Pros

    great perks such as free products and holiday bonuses and flexible hours especially for those going to school or with other jobs. Almost everyone there is friendly and loves their job.

    Cons

    Management needs a lot of work. They do not care that much about issues that some employees have an do not take important issues as seriously as they should.

    Great Harvest2015-11-25
  10. "A good job for a student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Harvest part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Casual environment. Free or discounted bread and sweets. Generally friendly people.

    Cons

    Really early hours some days. Low pay.

    Great Harvest2015-10-12
Found 66 reviews