Great Lakes Caring Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Lakes Caring Reviews

Updated December 9, 2018
395 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You have work/life balance but still have the opportunity to work OT if you so desire" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Very good with leadership and lot of room for advancement" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "NO cons that I have experienced" (in 26 reviews)

  • "We are losing too many good employees due to appearances of or actual lack of support to those in the field" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Outstanding Teamwork in our Topeka Kansas Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Topeka, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Wonderful, Professional, Inspiring SUPERvisors
    -We work together, to provide the Best Care Possible
    -This isn't a Job, It is a Blessing to work together
    - we are not micromanaged
    -when one of us needs help, everyone supports us and goes out of their way to ensure we are there for each other
    -We have time for self-care. Outstanding peer support

    Cons

    - Not much leeway in the colors regarding "Preferred" Options on what we are "Encouraged" to wear

    Advice to Management

    -Add 2 Chaplain positions to our group.
    -Thanks for keeping our Wonderful Supervisors in place. Provide them (In house Management more support).

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 23, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback!


  2. "Hospice Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    * Thorough Training before assignments
    * Ongoing Support from Volunteer Coordinator
    * Regular Communication regarding Patient Status changes

    Cons

    None that I am aware of :)

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate it!

  3. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Company is organized, well established and dedicated to their patients and employees.

    Cons

    I cannot say that I have any to list!

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  4. "Clinical Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, great team work, fair benefits.

    Cons

    Very busy and high expectations

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for the feedback!


  5. "lpn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Grand Rapids, MI
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    supportive, flexible, encouraging, gratifying, comradery, ongoing education offered, comparable wage

    Cons

    occas long hours, individual mgt sometimes micromanages,

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for leaving us a review!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Rewarding Work, Knowledgeable and caring field staff

    Cons

    Poor communication from management, disorganized, over sized education department that does not offer needed education, recent changes have changed the focus of the company from quality patient care to quantity for a bigger profit, employees have become just a number, corporate management is not personally invested like former CEO Adam Nielson was.

    Advice to Management

    Treating your employees like you care makes employees care about the company and creates a better work environment translating to better patient care.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Employee satisfaction is a priority for us, so your comments have been forwarded to our leadership team for review and discussion. If you'd like to address any of your... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "GLC has changed due to being bought out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers and patients were great

    Cons

    This company used to be great to work for. Unfortunately with Great Lakes Caring being bought out it has completely changed; new corporate is no longer caring. No longer patient focused. Many people have lost their jobs. I would not recommend working here anymore. Very sad.

    Advice to Management

    If you continue to just think about the the bottom line and not the patients, you're going to lose patients and good clinicians and therefore not make any money. Laying off all of the massage and music therapists was a very big mistake.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Dec 10, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Employee satisfaction is a priority, so I have forwarded your comments to our leadership team for review and discussion.

  8. "Great home grown company that is expanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Equipment Technician in Jackson, MI
    Current Employee - Medical Equipment Technician in Jackson, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    great hour, decent pay, family-based company

    Cons

    there really wasnt any cons

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your review!


  9. "RN Clinical Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN
    Current Employee - RN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very Supportive Family Like Team

    Cons

    Work hours can be long

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "PCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Very fulfilling job helping patients every day.

    Cons

    I currently have no complaints

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!