Great Lakes Caring Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Lakes Caring Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 405 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "NO cons that I have experienced(in 26 reviews)

  • "We are losing too many good employees due to appearances of or actual lack of support to those in the field(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Outstanding Teamwork in our Topeka Kansas Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    -Wonderful, Professional, Inspiring SUPERvisors -We work together, to provide the Best Care Possible -This isn't a Job, It is a Blessing to work together - we are not micromanaged -when one of us needs help, everyone supports us and goes out of their way to ensure we are there for each other -We have time for self-care. Outstanding peer support

    Cons

    - Not much leeway in the colors regarding "Preferred" Options on what we are "Encouraged" to wear

    Advice to Management

    -Add 2 Chaplain positions to our group. -Thanks for keeping our Wonderful Supervisors in place. Provide them (In house Management more support).

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    November 23, 2018Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback!

  2. "AMAZING COMPANY TO WORK FOR!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Manager in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Great Lakes Caring for 4 years and could not imagine working anywhere else. There have been many changes within the Company but we have remained strong and a very close knit Team. There is so much room for growth and advancement within this Company, as I started out as a RN Case Manager and was able to advance to Clinical Manager. My management Team is amazing and always available to me when needed...

    Show More

    Cons

    I cannot think of any Cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    No complaints at this time.

  3. "Good people struggling to find their way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Mid-Management cares about their staff. Tries to create a positive work environment. Most employees truly care about our patients

    Cons

    A large merger occurred and moral is currently low, with new changes all the time.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    March 18, 2019Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review. I appreciate your feedback and have forwarded your comments to our leadership team.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Relations Specialist in Jackson, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Used to consider employees and patients value, not anymore though.

    Cons

    Lack of communication from new owners, elimination of majority of positions without communication

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    March 18, 2019Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I've forwarded your comments to our leadership team to review. If you'd like to further discuss any of your concerns, please feel free to reach out to Carrie, VP of HR, at 517.768.7413 .

  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great manager, not mico managed awesome RN and therapy staff

    Cons

    The health insurance is very expensive

    Advice to Management

    My manager is very good

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    February 19, 2019Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fair pay, work a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pay is fair, not likely to receive pay increase

    Cons

    Poor work to personal life balance

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    February 5, 2019Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review. I've forwarded your feedback to our leadership team for discussion.

  7. Helpful (1)

    ""WAS" a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Adrian, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Lakes Caring full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I had a great Manager and my fellow nurses and therapist all worked as a team. Pay was good and benefits were ok when I started with GLC.

    Cons

    The merger with Elara ruined the medical benefits/doubled our premiums, no overtime allowed even if you had to work over. Staff left and work load became ever more difficult. Never got a raise.

    Advice to Management

    Need to have better medical benefits, take care of the employee's who take care of the customers or you wont have any employee's left.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    February 22, 2019Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. I have shared your comments on benefits and work load with our leadership team. We take employee feedback seriously and take these reviews into consideration as new policies and procedures are developed.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Changes keep getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Front line management and staff are great

    Cons

    New "merger" which seems much more like a buyout keeps bringing more changes, none so far have been good. Upper management does not communicate changes to staff, at all. Field staff are just winging it and hoping for the best. Benefit premiums more than doubled for worse coverage, with no warning. They cut PTO and stopped allowing PTO cash out with absolutely no warning in advance

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with staff, stop treating them like they are disposable. The Great Lakes Caring reputation has taken a beating and if something isn't done it will only continue to worsen.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    January 30, 2019Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I've forwarded your concerns to our leadership team for review and discussion. If you'd like to address anything further, please contact Carrie, VP of HR, at 517-768-7413.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "What the....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Home Health Aide in South Bend, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    the Office windows are tinted

    Cons

    Lacking positive intelligent leadership ; Your traveling is reimbursement is .32-.37 a mile,which really isn’t much for 400-500 miles every 2 weeks($140-$170) which you pay more for fuel then that in 1 week; The government allows Atleast .54 a mile! Patients denied transfers to other hospices because they do not meet criteria yet meet elara criteria? Thought hospice guidelines were all the same for patients meeting...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen when spoken to in a calm professional manner; stop bullying employees; stop throwing others under the bus. Why is Adam still listed as CEO!? He left this company right befor it became tarnished and filtrated with money first. Patients and employee last! I.E. elara “caring”merger!

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    February 5, 2019Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. We take this feedback very seriously, and I've forwarded your comments to our leadership team. If there is anything you'd like to discuss further, you can reach out to Carrie, VP of HR, at 517.768.7413 or anonymously report your privacy concerns to our ...

    Show More
  10. "Hospice Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Great Lakes Caring

      Pros

      * Thorough Training before assignments * Ongoing Support from Volunteer Coordinator * Regular Communication regarding Patient Status changes

      Cons

      None that I am aware of :)

      Great Lakes Caring Response

      November 30, 2018Digital/E-Marketing Manager

      Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate it!

    Found 405 reviews