Great Lakes Caring Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Lakes Caring Reviews

Updated September 14, 2018
384 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

384 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You have work/life balance but still have the opportunity to work OT if you so desire" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Very good with leadership and lot of room for advancement" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons everything is going well" (in 27 reviews)

  • "We are losing too many good employees due to appearances of or actual lack of support to those in the field" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A company that takes care of employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Great Lakes Caring is a company that takes care of its employees and works hard to ensure employees have the tools they need to succeed.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of recent growth and changes recently and this has created a lot of uncertainty.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 17, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your review!


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Case Manager in Lafayette, IN
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Case Manager in Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Supportive staff, flexible scheduling, rewarding work

    Cons

    Recent merger compromises integrity of company with numerous negative changes

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.

  3. "Cna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits,flexible schedule ,good coworkers

    Cons

    Not sure at this time

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Occupational therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Kalamazoo, MI
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Kalamazoo, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Lakes Caring part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and patient based care until recent merger. Paid mileage and salary were good.

    Cons

    Recent business merger is a huge negative for the little people.
    Making money became more important than people's livelihood or patient care.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 17, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I've passed along your comments to our leadership team for discussion.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Palos Heights, IL
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Palos Heights, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay is good, coworkers out in the field are nice and cooperative, corporate is expanding the company

    Cons

    Clinical supervisors and branch manager have no idea what they are doing. They make up policies and rules as they go along...and then when it turns out they were wrong...you have to learn the new way all over again. Clinical supervisors also never have your back when it comes to patients... lack of support and communication with field clinicians...lots of pointless office meetings in which they complain about missed visits, productivity, etc., when they are not processing orders in a timely manner, which is the the reason for the bad reports. The in office staff has favorites and those are the only people that will get support and good raises.

    Also, HR for this location know absolutely nothing, she is simply a space filler, so don’t expect any real information.

    Advice to Management

    Monitor what is going in each individual office, a lot of the problems you see on reports are because of the office staff.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. I've forwarded your review to our leadership team for discussion.


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Rn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring part-time

    Pros

    Great people and patients people who work here take great care of there patients

    Cons

    They just fired all massage and music therapists After merging with another company they thought the best way to make money was cut the services to our terminally ill patients .

    Advice to Management

    Change your mind hire back all massage and music . Keep your patients first or change your name from great lakes caring to Great Lakes

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Aug 28, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I will forward your comments to our leadership team for discussion. If you’d like to talk more about your concerns, please reach out to Carrie, our VP of Human Resources... More


  7. "Busy bee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Lansing, MI
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Milage reimbursement
    Continuing education
    Independence

    Cons

    Case load
    Large territories
    Driving
    Emotionally draining

    Advice to Management

    Hire more float nurses

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Aug 28, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. I'll share with our leadership team for review.

  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Management and coworkers are supportive
    Opportunities to move up in the company
    Great for self motivated people due to being able to set up schedule

    Cons

    Drive times can vary with this job

    Advice to Management

    Maintain your current level of caring for your employees! Definitely makes us feel appreciated and heard.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Aug 10, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback!


  9. "Great place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great leadership, team support, work/life balance, building for the future.

    Cons

    Currently do not have any cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job!

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for your feedback!


  10. "STNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toledo, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Compassionate Friendly Staff and Co-workers

    Cons

    There isn't any that I have seen

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!


Showing 384 of 386 reviews
Reset Filters