Great Lakes Caring Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Lakes Caring Reviews

Updated November 1, 2018
389 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

389 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You have work/life balance but still have the opportunity to work OT if you so desire" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Very good with leadership and lot of room for advancement" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "NO cons that I have experienced" (in 26 reviews)

  • "We are losing too many good employees due to appearances of or actual lack of support to those in the field" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great home grown company that is expanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Equipment Technician in Jackson, MI
    Current Employee - Medical Equipment Technician in Jackson, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    great hour, decent pay, family-based company

    Cons

    there really wasnt any cons

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your review!


  2. "RN Clinical Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN
    Current Employee - RN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very Supportive Family Like Team

    Cons

    Work hours can be long

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "PCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Very fulfilling job helping patients every day.

    Cons

    I currently have no complaints

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!


  4. Helpful (5)

    "This company serves the almighty dollar."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN/BSN in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - RN/BSN in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Salary is fair. Hours are mostly nice.

    Cons

    Company no longer cares about the patients or employees

    Advice to Management

    Please get back to a model of patients and employees are number 1.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. I've sent your comments to our leadership team for discussion.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Jackson Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Our Manager not only listens to our suggestions she embraces them. She gives us credit for our ideas. She provides us with an environment where free thought is encouraged. She knows that is the best practice that will create the best team possible. Thank you!

    Cons

    Change takes time. There was a bit of nepotism based on years of friendship as opposed to true leadership qualities. The end result was a toxic environment that included a caustic team leader and a fair amount of secrecy from the top down.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for listening and making the changes necessary to remove the black cloud. The entire department is jovial, and working together as a true loving team more than I have experienced over the last 13 months. I no longer fear going to work.
    If lower deductibles are possible for our insurance plan with this new merger I know we will be incredibly grateful.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your review!


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Case Manager in Lafayette, IN
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Case Manager in Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Supportive staff, flexible scheduling, rewarding work

    Cons

    Recent merger compromises integrity of company with numerous negative changes

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "A company that takes care of employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Great Lakes Caring is a company that takes care of its employees and works hard to ensure employees have the tools they need to succeed.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of recent growth and changes recently and this has created a lot of uncertainty.

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 17, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your review!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "I have learned many things from my supervisor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Palos Heights, IL
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Palos Heights, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hours, commute and pay. Most employees are friendly

    Cons

    Overworked, and never enough information is given regarding upcoming changes within company

    Advice to Management

    Keep team members involved and not in the dark with information regarding the company

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I've forwarded your comments to our leadership team for discussion.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Cna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits,flexible schedule ,good coworkers

    Cons

    Not sure at this time

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hanging in there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Great Lakes Caring full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, office is like a family, good insurance

    Cons

    Unsure what to expect with the new changes and company merge. Low on patients at the moment

    Great Lakes Caring Response

    Sep 25, 2018 – Digital/E-Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback!


Showing 389 of 391 reviews
Reset Filters