KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Greater Good

Engaged Employer

Greater Good

Add a Review

Greater Good Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 of over 69 reviews

2.4
32%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Greater Good CEO Tim Kunin (no image)
Tim Kunin
27 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

3m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Account Executive - Love the diverse environment!

    Apr 2, 2021 - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I cam from a corporate office and the environment is so refreshing here. People are happy at work, I'm encouraged and people sincerely want me to do well. I don't feel threatened as if I would take someone else's spot.

    Cons

    I have to use a key card to use the bathroom.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Longest-Running Startup

    Jun 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You can find many truly wonderful, intelligent, and hard working people in the various teams at GreaterGood - Remote work flexibility is nice - Company direction shifts very often. Sometimes, someone new is brought into the executive team, and sometimes that individual is a fantastic addition - Opportunity to wear multiple hats and get some good experience somewhere you may not have planned for (can also be a con when said hats are worn for years with no adjusted compensation) When I was hired, morale was good. Worked with lots of really smart people, and I had a great manager.

    Cons

    - Stagnant and low wages. I was paid far below average for my position. The response I got when asking for increases was that the company's profits needed to improve. That might be fair in the short term, but this was the answer for the past 5 or so years I worked there. - Out of touch CEO. He appears to be a nice and soft spoken individual, but he becomes defensive and antagonistic toward the work force if he perceives "ungratefulness". This bad look was mitigated for a period where he stopped running company-wide meetings, and a more professional exec communicated between the executive team and the rest of us. - Short-sighted decisions regarding company direction. Fast talking and loud people make it far here, so if they do not represent your team, it's bad news for you. We abandoned our home-built store site for a flashy off-the-shelf product. There is a pretty clear correlation between this transition and impacted revenue, but the drivers behind this decision had the CEO hypnotized, and shut down any present discussion about this. - Managers can be very hit or miss, nothing is or can be done about poor managers. A process for manager feedback was requested during a townhall meeting, and the response from the CEO was "If you want to complain about your manager, that's what HR is for. Most companies don't have HR" - There's not really any structure. This can be nice in the short term, not to be blocked by too much process, and putting out good work with a good team. But GreaterGood is not a new company. It really feels like the wild west. - Mixed messages regarding charity vs. business. As other reviewers have commented, GreaterGood has a sort of complex relationship with charity. Leadership frequently throws around "good work" that's been done, but there's an unpleasant feeling with how it markets to and targets demographics, and with the quality of the products it sells. Some big layoffs happened in 2018, and some teams/projects never really recovered. Many employees were given the axe with no regard for what institutional knowledge would be lost, or even what losing them would mean for projects in progress. Lastly, I have to mention that some employees are definitely "favorites" regardless of value they bring. One person I worked with admitted to me that they sabotaged work to make someone else look bad. This person also did generally very low-quality work that I tried in vain to bring to light. I was told by one boss to mind my own business, and by another boss, I was basically hand-waived away. This poor work not only reflects badly on the team (and did so many times throughout my employment), but it is a danger to the company. This person is very siloed, and remains in their position to this day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Is this a vanity project, or a viable business?

    May 12, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get your feet wet in a first job

    Cons

    Ownership makes inexplicable and dire business decisions, seemingly on a whim, to the detriment of the company and its resources.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great benefits

    Mar 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits flexibility and working remotely

    Cons

    Not able to go to the office anymore

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Low pay, sexual harassment, HR is a joke

    Mar 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I met some good people there.

    Cons

    Horrific, abusive behavior by one executive tolerated due to his ability to generate money-making schemes. A minuscule amount of profits actually go to charitable causes, but you’re expected to be happy with low pay because the company is “giving to charity.”

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Started Off Strong...

    Oct 19, 2021 - Senior Marketing Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Knowing that your job has direct impacts to improving the world is a major plus. Very strong focus on diversity and inclusion, particularly for LGBTQIA+. Full support for WFH.

    Cons

    Low pay, even for a charity. Recent changes to benefits packages bring them more in line with industry standards when they previously were a big selling point of the position. Very sudden shift into "profit at all costs" mentality is ruining the sense of community and "doing good in the world" feelings among the workforce.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Look elsewhere if you can

    Apr 6, 2022 - Content Marketing Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health insurance was pretty solid. But that's about it.

    Cons

    Everything you can think of, from the top down. No room for growth. No leadership. No direction. And the pay is terrible.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Greater Disappointment

    Dec 21, 2021 - Marketer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only thing worse than a terrible job is one that starts great but betrays you in the end. When I first started at GreaterGood, it was wonderful. It was the first time I felt like I had true creative freedom. I gained invaluable writing experience and loved that the job combined my love for shopping with making a difference in the world. My coworkers were all very talented and a joy to work with and interact with. There is a lot of flexibility with the job, including WFH and remote work. Leaving for appointments or taking time off was (mostly) not an issue.

    Cons

    Money isn't everything, but the pay is insultingly low. We were paid nearly $20K below the low-end of market value for mid-level roles. When we brought this up to senior management, we were denied despite all of us working so hard throughout the pandemic and getting positive performance reviews. Meanwhile, they listed a new job posting after much of our department quit, offering up to $4K more for a new candidate with less experience. Work processes changed daily, making work tedious, stressful, and confusing. Changes in upper management had a negative impact on team morale. The writing aspect of our jobs was completely removed from our roles, essentially demoting us. This also damaged career prospects for anyone who was hired on as a writer. Any innovative idea or creative concept is always shot down by upper management. We are discouraged to take time off from Oct - Dec. They cut benefits and stopped offering free healthcare, which originally made the low pay somewhat worth it. Everyone is jumping ship. No one wants to stay here anymore.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Changes in Management

    Nov 24, 2021 - Marketer in Howell, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job is flexible and remote, has flexible start/end time

    Cons

    Changes in upper management and company wide changes have made things difficult for employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Separation of Work & Personal Life

    Sep 22, 2021 - Email Copywriter Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Professional communication - Solid benefits - Fully remote work

    Cons

    - Needing to be available all day with no set break - Rolls and expectations shift frequently

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 66 Reviews

Greater Good Reviews FAQs

Greater Good has an overall rating of 2.4 out of 5, based on over 69 reviews left anonymously by employees. 32% of employees would recommend working at Greater Good to a friend and 6% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Greater Good employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Greater Good. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

32% of Greater Good employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Greater Good 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.9 for culture and values and 2.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Greater Good to be workplace, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Greater Good Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Greater Good? Share Your Experiences

or

Greater Good Photos

+ Add Photo
Greater Good photo of: the view
Greater Good photo of: Main Lobby
Greater Good photo of: Main Lobby
Greater Good photo of: View from a break room kitchen area

Have you worked here?

See All Photos