KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Green Dot

Is this your company?

Green Dot

Add a Review

Green Dot Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 288 of over 320 reviews

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Green Dot CEO Dan Henry (no image)
Dan Henry
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great benefit, met some great people(in 21 reviews)

  • "Nice work environment and Co workers(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Management reporting from sales to C level very challenging(in 9 reviews)

  • "High turnover, penny-pinch to the extreme(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Things Are Coming

      Jun 7, 2021 - Human Resources Business Partner in Pasadena, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people that work here are amazing! Executives care about our people. Great ESPP -- Highest discount available with tax benefits. Management wants to see their people succeed.

      Cons

      It takes time for change. I know people want to see immediate results to their input. Luckily, in my role, I can see that the leaders are working on it. You have be intentional about your work life balance or it can get out of control. Even I am guilty of this.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Company in rapid decline

      Jun 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from anywhere model Friendly coworkers, easy to work with

      Cons

      I have watched this company decline so rapidly under the new CEO. It is a shell of its former self. There is no job security. Good luck with work life balance, managements goal is to work you until you die or quit. Teams were already running with the minimum possible number of workers and so many have been fired or quit. Every few months there is a mass firing. Every meeting the CEO threatens to fire everyone. The decisions on who is fired makes no sense. The remaining people are expected to take on the work and they won't hire replacements. Everyone is miserable, and everyone is trying to leave ASAP. A lot of people are trapped because they have no free time at all. Sometimes you are told to work nights and weekends because projects are so behind and can't say no or else you will be fired. No bonuses or raises this year, and CEO is already threatening to do the same next year if the business doesn't improve. Yet the CEO and management are doing everything possible to make sure the business fails. They are either unbelievably incompetent, or being instructed to destroy the business. It's hard to tell because some of the decisions they make are so blatantly awful. Management has been filled with CEOs friends who get special privileges and don't care about employees at all. I wouldn't be surprised if it was announced they were moving to offshore or selling the company any day now.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Culture Doesn’t Fit

      Jul 29, 2021 - High School Math Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a teacher’s union. You get to have your own classroom. A lot of sports & clubs for students.

      Cons

      I didn’t fit into the teachers’ culture. Students weren’t the most well behaved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun and hectic!

      Jul 14, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun people to work with, bit of a cowboy culture. If you believe in a project and can prove its value management will listen. The work can be overwhelming at times, but there are good people to help you out. The pay is competitive, and the benefits are improving. The new permanent work from home policy is really great.

      Cons

      Management can be change priorities rather quickly and new hot items from the C-Suite can sometimes really upend your week.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Green Dot Response

      HR Business Partner

      We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts about your experience at Green Dot. Thank you for trusting us with your feedback. Fun people to work with – We agree! That’s why one of our core values is to have fun! If you believe in a project and can prove its value management will listen. – We are thankful that our management team listens. The work can be overwhelming at times, but there are good people to help you out. – We think so too and hear this all the time… The people are what make Green Dot awesome! The pay is competitive, and the benefits are improving. – We strive to be competitive and are always looking for the best benefits to better support our team. The new permanent work from home policy is really great. – We’re glad you like it… We do too! Management can change priorities rather quickly – We do get excited about all the cool things going on in the company and are working on communicating the whole picture when priorities shift quickly. Find a better process for launching new initiatives – We respect the work you do and we are thankful that you take pride in what you’ve done. It can be frustrating when we shift away from a project after you put in hard work to bring it to fruition. We are constantly striving to improve the way we do business. We value open communication and hope that you will share your ideas to help us improve with your manager or a member of our HR team. Thank you again for your input to help us make Green Dot the best place for our employees and customers! Best, Amber Taylorson, HR Business Partner

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Find work in some other company

      Jul 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only good thing is the WFH policy which was started after the pandemic.

      Cons

      Avoid Green dot. Lots of turnover often, some newcomers leave in a few months, insufficient KT, unpredictable projects and has many testers or QA of low caliber. *** Bad onboarding experience. *** - No structured plan and vague goals change every few weeks. - Insufficient documentation. - Everyone is so busy that they don't have enough time to enable new employees. *** Bad career growth for QA. *** - Many QA have little curiosity and are more focused on checking for "expected results" like a robot. - The bar for QA code is shockingly low like high school level code. - China team does a lot of the automation work. So, not enough learning opportunity for onshore. - QAs who survived reorgs might hoard knowledge and work i.e. no growth for new employees. - Some people lead teams but don't have relevant degree or have little work experience. *** Bad QA tools and process. *** - Many QA tools which are almost abandoned by industry or in decline. - QA often don't review each others tests and code, or don't do it properly. - QA rarely document review of tests or code. Hence, no visibility into the quality of their work. - QA hardly or improperly document important features, even though its required. Document reviews are uncommon or hasty. - QA add too many little tests for testing trivial things which requires lot of cleanup.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Green Dot Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for sharing about your experience while you were at Green Dot. We appreciate all feedback and want to respond to some of the items you mentioned. We encourage all employees to speak with their leaders or a member of the HR team if they have suggestions on how we can improve. The only good thing is the WFH policy – We are glad you liked it. Based on current employee feedback, WFA will stay. Lots of turnover often, some newcomers leave in a few months – It can be uncomfortable when someone we like leaves the company. Sometimes, turnover is part of the growth process. We believe that when we have the right people in the right roles everyone succeeds. Bad onboarding experience– I am sorry to hear about your onboarding experience. We work hard to make new employees feel welcomed. Our team is currently in the process of updating the new hire experience to ensure future employees have the best onboarding experience possible. No structured plan and vague goals change every few weeks. Insufficient documentation. Everyone is so busy that they don't have enough time to enable new employees. – Employee development is the key to our performance management program. Employees and managers are encouraged to have continuous feedback to adjust goals and realign with company priorities as needed. Bad career growth for QA – I am sorry you didn’t feel that you had growth opportunities. One of our core values is to support each other. Our HR and management teams work closely to develop employees and help them grow their careers. It is not uncommon for employees to move from entry level to professional to management roles as they grow in the organization. QA Concerns. – We value challenging ourselves and each other and are always striving for ways to make improvements. Let employees review their managers. – We have several anonymous employee feedback surveys throughout the year focusing on our executives and managers so we can ensure our employees are supported to succeed. We hope all employees participate in these surveys; they help our leaders make informed decisions and give us real time feedback from employees. There are more than two countries in this world and some of them have more than one state. - We love the diversity at Green Dot. Provide courses related to the job and not random ones. – To support our value to think long term, our employees have full access to the Linkedin Learning platform and can also speak with their manager or HR about other ways to continue their education or participate in professional development. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience. Feel free to contact a member of the HR team if you want to share more. Best, Amber Taylorson, HR Business Partner

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sad and disappointing

      Jun 10, 2021 - Analyst in Pasadena, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good coworkers to work alongside of, but mostly it's because pretty much everyone is burnt out and working like a slave so it becomes easier to have something in common to chat about, I guess.

      Cons

      Some bad apples at the company as well (especially those in the management positions who do not belong there and only got there but throwing other people under the bus or kissing upper management's butt - you know who you are. Stop pretending like you care about your employees by giving us a $50 gift card year end bonus, it's sad and pathetic. If you really appreciate us, you would stop the constant mass layoffs every few months or so and get rid of those at the top who have no idea about how to run a business or a team for that matter.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Continu

      Mar 28, 2021 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay competitive but diminished with excessive hours worked

      Cons

      CEO and direct reports replaced with competitor’s C-levels with old ideas. CEO consistently made claims to separate himself from previous CEO but has same reactive reprioritizing of competing initiatives. not different just less interested in the employees that are exhausted and ready to leave. Poor top down communication and lack of effectiveness sharing how to meet organizational strategies. Extensive layoffs over last year with disregard for how work gets done but helpful to release employees already looking elsewhere. Common misguided optimism to bring in short term c-level consultants to improve products/ costs when existing mid managers or revenue proven fin tech competitor’s employees have better ideas. Thought layoffs would help the stock price but there is so much uncertainty with this leadership the price hasn’t improved in 6 months. Employee culture is gone and turnover will continue with current leadership as employees are overworked and migrating to saturated fintech market with better work environments and product execution

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      DO NOT JOIN THIS COMPANY IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR HEALTH

      Jun 3, 2021 - Unknown Title 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working remote that is all. some of the coworkers are nice

      Cons

      If you truly care about your health , please do not join this company. * there is almost zero work life balance and do not be fooled by their working remote policy. * below average salary * IT and engineering team are treated like trash * you are expected to work around 60-70 hours a week . So whatever they offer you divide it by 70 to get your hourly rate. * There is no promotion. * No salary adjustment inflation (Your salary always will be the same). * The word "culture" does not even exist here.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Half the team, twice the work

      Mar 30, 2021 - Senior QA Engineer in Pasadena, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work remote full time helps with commute lots of good tools are being used Some hidden talent waiting for chance to excel

      Cons

      A lot of the talent in the product teams has left, by left i mean forced out or put into positions where quitting was best option Tendency to rename or rearrange teams to try and fix an issue instead of actually addressing root cause Lean Agile seems to mean, less resources twice the work Promises of bonuses on things you have no control over, so do not count on them

      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fairly good experience

      Jun 9, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Pasadena, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good working culture, Team work and good work atmosphere

      Cons

      Job Security, Uneven distribution of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 288 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Green Dot Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Green Dot? Share Your Experiences

    Green Dot logo
    or