GreenPath Financial Wellness Reviews | Glassdoor

GreenPath Financial Wellness Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
GreenPath Financial Wellness President and CEO Kristen Holt (no image)
Kristen Holt
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Customer service I admit has a little bit of real world transferability if you want to go to another mediocre call center job(in 21 reviews)

  • "Repetitive work as a Bankruptcy counselor you have to go through a counseling session basically using a script(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time

    Pros

    Great company, treats employees well & nice vacation/pto.

    Cons

    Was tired of sitting at a cubicle constantly speaking to not so happy people on the phone.

    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-04-03
  2. "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None. Not a single thing was pleasant about this job.

    Cons

    Where to start, management is inconsiderate, unreasonable and disrespectful. They have no idea what they are doing. They are not honest about their reports, reviews, or about promises they make to you. When management flat out does not tell the truth about something on your progress review and you go to HR your just given excuses told to appeal it then when you do get flat out ignored. When management writes you up about not notifying them you were late then you literally show them the proof your met with oh well the write up was already submitted. On top of this the upper management make decisions that triple your workload and make everything harder to get accomplished, it ends up angering the customers off as well but who cares they dont have to deal with it right? Upper management is also unbelievably disrespectful, the best one is they would send out emails almost by the hour when it was slammed saying could you take a call pretty please, as if we were sitting around twiddling our thumbs. You get these "coaching" ops sent to you thats not even reviewed by the manager that sent them so over half the time they are not a mistake you made or not a mistake that was made at all but when you call managers out on it they just make excuses. You also get leaders who reach out to your manager to give feedback yet cant seem to actually give one example of what was done, what was said, or what could be done differently but expect you to magically just know what to fix.

    Continue reading
    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-03-31

    GreenPath Financial Wellness Response

    April 1, 2020HR Manager

    Good morning, I am sorry to hear that you feel you've had negative interactions with our Management and Human Resources teams. I would love the opportunity to hear more about your experiences. We are passionate about providing timely, qualitative and fair feedback throughout their employment in an effort to aid them in being successful in their position. We are passionate about ensuring that employees are treated fairly through all performance management activities. If you feel that this is not the experience that you have had, I would invite you to reach out to me directly. I would like to learn more and hear your feedback. Sincerely, Julie Crichton jcrichton@greenpath.com Manager of Employee Experience

    Continue reading
  3. "Great PTO hard to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Specialist 

    I have been working at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time

    Pros

    Great time off, good people, good culture

    Cons

    Hard move up and grow within the company

    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-03-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Very misleading job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Wellness Expert in Fullerton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    literally the only pro of this company was the coworkers.

    Cons

    management is not understanding constant changes no commission for basically a sales position micromanaged overworked with no pay increase Your entire day is basically watched like a hawk by your manager constant manager changes absolutely no growth from a field office, you start at a position and the only room for growth would be becoming a manager which is literally half a step up. Extremely heavy on the heart and management expects you to just brush it off and continue with your day with no form of help or relief. You’re basically listening to sob stories all day and you have to find ways to make these sob stories into ways for the company to bill someone for it without you helping the client at all.

    Continue reading
    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-03-05
  5. "Great Place to Work - Visionary Leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Commitment to excellence - Human-centered mission, vision and values - Incredible leaders, managers and employees - Challenging and rewarding work - Values remote and on-site workers equally - World-class professional development and benefits

    Cons

    - It is a very large enterprise with many great people. So many awesome teams to work with across the nation, so little time to connect with everyone.

    Continue reading
    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-01-22
  6. "Great environment and benefits but very draining role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Advocate in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits with one of the best workplace facilities I've ever seen. Great management and co-workers that work with you and care about you. Some of the most caring people I've ever worked with.

    Cons

    The work is emotionally and mentally draining. Constantly taking calls from very distressed and depressed people takes a toll on you after doing it for +8 hours.

    Continue reading
    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-01-19

    GreenPath Financial Wellness Response

    January 27, 2020HR Manager

    Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experiences while at GreenPath. I am glad to hear that you feel that our benefits, pay, and facilities met your needs. I agree our leaders and employees are amazing and some of the most caring people that I've ever met. They truly care about both our clients and fellow employees. The work can be emotionally taxing, as every year we have hundreds of thousands of people calling us for help, and many times they are overwhelmed, scared, and not sure what to do. It can be tough to hear these stories over and over. We do everything we can to provide employees with avenues to learn techniques to have strong self-care as they provide support to our clients. We have an empathy coach on staff, we have a supportive management team that previously held client-facing roles that have an understanding of what employees are encountering during their calls, and we have a phenomenal Employee Assistance Program that provides free counseling to our employees. If you had ideas or suggestions, from your experience, on how we might make improvements for our employees, I would love the opportunity to speak with you. Sincerely, Julie Crichton Manager of Employee Experience jcrichton@greenpath.com

    Continue reading
  7. "Good...but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Specialist in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management, generous PTO, flexible scheduling, managers try their best to accommodate your needs

    Cons

    Repetitive, no room for growth

    Continue reading
    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-01-28
  8. "Very poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helps people in deep financial crisis

    Cons

    Training is useless, and if you dont stay for a year you owe thousands of dollars

    Continue reading
    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-02-15

    GreenPath Financial Wellness Response

    February 18, 2020HR Manager

    Good morning, I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience at GreenPath. I am in the process of evaluating our policy and encourage you to reach out to myself or anyone on the employee experience team if you would like your individual situation reviewed. I can be reached at jcrichton@greenpath.com. Sincerely, Julie Crichton Manager of Employee Experience

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "This job is not rainbows and butterflies like they made us believe."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Advocate in Fullerton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) PTO. There's a generous amount of paid time off which makes for good work life balance. However, there may be a lot of date restrictions.

    Cons

    There metrics are unrealistic. We started with a team of about 8-10 employees in my office and by the time I was finally terminated from employment there were only 3 of us in Client Advocacy. Most others had either quit or had also been terminated. In order to meet their metrics I basically had to become a robot on the telephone, lacking empathy for the callers, and repeating the same words to every single client calling in. Honestly, if you're a client advocate all you do is transfer a call and by some odd reason this job made me think less of myself for not meeting there metrics. Keep in mind, I graduated with a communication studies degree and I felt I always provided clients with superior customer service. Yet, none of my skill sets actually mattered to them. Bottom line what they care about is how many calls you get transferred in the shortest amount of time. I was eager to start this role because I believed I would be able to help people but that is not your role in client advocacy. Additionally, they waited 1 year and a half to finally fire me because I was not meeting their metrics. You do not wait this long to tell someone they cannot get the job done. If after 6 months I was not meeting their metrics I would understand but why wait 1 year and a half to finally let me go. When we only had 3 employees the call volume was extremely draining. Overall, I can honestly say I wasted 1 year and a half here.

    GreenPath Financial Wellness2020-01-16

    GreenPath Financial Wellness Response

    January 27, 2020HR Manager

    Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experiences while working at GreenPath. I agree we are focused on providing our employees with time off to promote a strong work/life balance. Our Client Advocate role is the catalyst for our clients to ensure that they are being directed to the correct area that can best meet their immediate needs. They are oftentimes the first interaction and impression a client has, and our Client Advocates are tasked with connecting with each client and creating a foundation of trust that allows us to guide them through their journey towards financial wellness. This is not an easy feat and can be a demanding position. I would love the opportunity to learn more about your experiences while at GreenPath so that we might continue our focus on making this a phenomenal career for all of the team members. Sincerely, Julie Crichton Manager of Employee Experience

    Continue reading
  10. "No real defined career path."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bankruptcy Specialist in Farmington Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GreenPath Financial Wellness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New CEO has made it better

    Cons

    The new CEO has made it better. Workforce management and HR are horrible. Management is so so. There is no real defined career path. You can't just transition from a credit counselor to the real world unless you are maybe lucky enough to get in as an entry level credit analyst at the bank but even then the skills you learned at Greenpath would be inadequate for a position like that. Those positions are very rare and hard to find though. Most people in the real world at interviews raise their eyebrows and say "so what exactly does a credit counselor do?" Customer service I admit has a little bit of real world transferability if you want to go to another mediocre call center job. Even if you get promoted to management, it is highly doubtful that you would get a job in management at another company. It just seemed like a waste of 5 years of my life. Thankfully I was able to get into an entry level job in a in demand field that has no relevance whatsoever to Greenpath threw my connections.

    Continue reading
    GreenPath Financial Wellness2019-11-23

    GreenPath Financial Wellness Response

    November 25, 2019HR Manager

    Good morning, I am sorry to hear that you feel you've had negative interactions with our Workforce Management and Human Resources teams. I would love the opportunity to hear more about your experiences. While we have focused on offering several opportunities for professional growth, both through promotional opportunities and through our tuition assistance programs, I understand that our opportunities are highly competitive internally. We are passionate about ensuring that employees are treated fairly through all performance management activities. If you feel that this is not the experience that you have had, or a fellow team member has had, I would invite you to reach out to me directly. I would like to learn more and hear your feedback. Sincerely, Julie Crichton jcrichton@greenpath.com Manager of Employee Experience

    Continue reading
Found 136 reviews