Greenhouse Software Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
Daniel Chait
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing benefits, perks, and work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Outstanding company culture that makes coming to work enjoyable(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Compensation is very good at Greenhouse(in 17 reviews)

  • "Fast growth comes with growing pains(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work.

      Apr 12, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and their Manager Team is very responsible.

      Cons

      Unless you are in a senior role, your voice is not heard

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      First of all thanks so much for taking the time to provide your perspectives, I know people appreciate it. Great to hear that overall you had a positive experience and recommend Greenhouse. Especially gratifying that you think GH is a great place to work and you had positive things to say about the managers here. I agree they're a strong group! And, thank you for your constructive feedback as well. We are growing super fast and with that growth, it can be a real challenge to make sure everyone's voice is heard. I'm sure that didn't feel great to be giving it your all and yet not fully feel like your views were landing. Whether it's our AMA's, survey's, small group meetings, or other channels, we are constantly looking for ways to improve communication and help every voice to be heard. We will keep at it!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic company with great values!

      Apr 1, 2021 - Customer Support Specialist in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great benefits, and they really make you feel included and part of the team.

      Cons

      The only downside so far has been that the pandemic prevents us from working in the office together.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      Thanks for the wonderful write up. Really great to see and I'm proud we have had such a positive impact on you.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Many job oppurtunite's if you have the confidence

      Apr 22, 2021 - Payroll & HRIS Specialist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast-growing pre-IPO company with stock options

      Cons

      Company organization chart needs adjustments

      1 person found this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      Thanks for your feedback. I know people appreciate hearing from insiders, and while of course I'm disappointed that it seems we've come up short of some of your expectations I'm glad you recommend Greenhouse overall. As well, I would appreciate learning more about how I could have earned your approval. Please feel free to drop me a note directly, I'd be pleased to chat further in the interest of learning & continual improvement. As you mention, we are fast-growing and invariably that means there are always things we could be doing better. In any event - thanks for the recommendation.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Thoughtful leadership and good core mission

      Mar 8, 2021 - Data Scientist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, flexibility to make sure employees have a good work/life balance, good vision, and mission

      Cons

      Risk aversion. Greenhouse can be slow to move in new directions including how the business operates as we scale.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Phenomenal Company. Amazing place to work.

      Jan 29, 2021 - People Operations Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Greenhouse is a company with a great product and an amazing social impact. The executive team truly cares about its employees and thinks deeply on DEI related issues internally and in regards to the product. Everyone is kind and collaborative, and I feel really jazzed to work with my colleagues. I'm really happy to be here.

      Cons

      I don't see any cons about working at Greenhouse! I love it here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      Holy moly - what a wonderful headline. So, so great to hear that we're living up to our ambitions for you -- to be a place where people can do the best work of their career and where they can truly belong. Thanks for sharing!

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great!

      Mar 11, 2021 - Customer Support Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company culture, and trips to New York

      Cons

      Support work, is tough, and not the best pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Hypocritical Culture: Talk a big game, but they don't walk the walk

      Nov 25, 2020 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - learned a lot - was successful - good product

      Cons

      Overall, I was very disappointed by Greenhouse. While I learned a lot for my career, I also learned that they make decisions that benefit leadership and don't look out for their employees. If you want to work for a company that is honest, dependable, principled, or accountable, do not work here. CONS: - poor leadership decisions. - poor sales team culture, not inclusive (despite advertising themselves as a DE&I leading company - in fact, there are many complaints internally about having a non-equitable culture). the sales team is much like a 'boys club' and very immature, even catty. - good performance is not rewarded, often promoting people who have missed quota many months or quarters in a row. - they talk about caring for employee happiness and good culture, but they don't follow through on promises. promotions are promised, then taken away. raises and bonuses promised and then not given. commission earned and not paid.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      Ugh, so sorry to hear you had such a negative experience here. We truly strive for excellence in how we manage and treat people. We can't be perfect so I'm sure there are times when someone doesn't feel the organization lives up to our aspirations; nonetheless it's disappointing to hear about it and I'm sorry. Having said that, I view feedback as a gift and appreciate that you cared enough to take the time to provide it. In the spirit of trying to learn as much as I can, I went and researched our sales promotion numbers. From what I can see, I am not able to match your comment around promoting poor performers to the data I was reviewing. Our SDR org for example, is probably one of the more metrics-driven orgs -- in order to be eligible for a promotion, there are strict quota achievement requirements (including >90% attainment in trailing 3 months in the role). Of the AE's we've promoted over the past 2 years, only 1 had attainment less than 100% (and it was 92%) in the 3 mos prior to promotion. Etc, etc. So, I'll continue to keep an eye out for these dynamics but so far have not been able to find much evidence for them. Meanwhile I wish you the best and hope that future teams provide you with satisfaction and the ability to fulfill your potential.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work at

      Feb 27, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The amazing Inclusive and authentic culture

      Cons

      There are no cons from what I’ve seen

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      Wow thank you for the super kind note - great to hear! I really hope that Greenhouse is a place where everyone can do their best work and feels that they belong. Sounds like we hit the nail on the head for you in that regard. Fantastic! 💚

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Culture

      Feb 16, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, onboarding was thorough, it is clear they practice what they preach in regards to their product.

      Cons

      Covid layoffs took place 2 weeks after joining the team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      Ugh what terrible timing. The period in spring of 2020 was scary and sad in so many ways; I can't imagine the mix of feelings that starting a new job amidst all of that must have created. So sorry to hear it.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great product, great team

      Feb 8, 2021 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture and employee benefits stellar product, lots of room to grow and develop from a career standpoint.

      Cons

      No real cons/complaints. Standard growing pains as expected for any fast growing start up

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greenhouse Software Response

      CEO

      I know people appreciate the feedback , thanks for contributing your perspective.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 186 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Greenhouse Software Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Growth Marketing Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Greenhouse Software? Share Your Experiences

    Greenhouse Software logo
    or