Greenhouse Software Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
Daniel Chait
154 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Company

    Mar 26, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in La Verne, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They wanted you to grow as a individual

    Cons

    Work life Balance was not clear

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall a very mediocre place to work

    Feb 1, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team bonding and friendly managers

    Cons

    I just didn't enjoy working here. The people were nice and the office was okay, but it felt like you were constantly on the chopping block of a company that could not make ends meet. There were two massive layoffs when I worked here. Yikes. The overall vibe at Greenhouse was cordial but superficial. I would not recommend working here if you are motivated by working with people who lift up your ideas or management that celebrates creativity.

    3 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the feedback and sorry to hear that your experience here was not what you hoped. We strive to be a place where everyone can do the best work of their career and feel as if they truly belong; clearly we were not able to deliver on that expectation for you. I sincerely hope you've been able to find a workplace that better supports you and meets your needs. One note for interested readers: we in fact did have one layoff, during April 2020, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and resulting economic disruption. While of course extremely difficult for those affected by it, we felt it was necessary to take swift and significant action to ensure we could withstand the challenging economic circumstance. We did not have a second layoff.

  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pros and Cons

    Feb 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product, definitely the best in the market Great people, truly amazing employees Great founders, they're good guys Good work life balance, for a startup Good benefits, medical, dental vision, PTO, etc - all solid

    Cons

    Salaries are fair at best, nothing special, no 401k match Leadership is mixed, some executives are really experienced, others are really under-qualified Confusing HR policies, nothing egregious, just always tends to be confusing, unclear, not well thought-out Some teams are a little clicky, again not egregious, just not a great experience for everyone

    2 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. I know people appreciate hearing real perspectives from employees on the inside so I'm grateful that you took the time to provide it and to spell out where you think Greenhouse is not only great but how we could improve.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great experience

    Mar 25, 2021 - Customer Success 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Building with driven, intelligent people

    Cons

    You experience the typical startup challenges

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome!

    Feb 16, 2021 - Customer Support Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diverse, Inclusive, Great work/life balance

    Cons

    Compensation could be a bit better.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Wow! Short and to the point, I like it 💚

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent people!

    Feb 7, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer I in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People are amazing - Great comp

    Cons

    - Product direction changes as we grow (typical growing pains)

    1 person found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Wow what outstanding feedback! Thanks for sharing it, I know that people really value hearing about our company from those who work here. So glad to hear that the people are among your top reasons for rating us so highly - I agree! I am super proud to be part of this amazing team and committed to continuing to build a workplace where everyone can be their best. Thanks for being a part of that! 💚

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place for work life balance

    Feb 1, 2021 - Customer Success 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Health insurance through cigna was not great.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the positive company rating and glad to hear you would recommend Greenhouse. I agree that our team is first-rate and I also love working with them! Too bad to hear that our health insurance wasn't up to standard; will take that feedback into consideration next time we review our benefits.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place To Work

    Jan 25, 2021 - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support from management whenever you need it

    Cons

    I don’t really have many cons with it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    💚love to see it

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Love it there

    Jan 11, 2021 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had a really great culture

    Cons

    There were some gaps in the processes

    1 person found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the love! As to your feedback, yep I hear you -- keeping processes tight and well tuned as we scale is a constant challenge and, as much as we focus on and invest in that, invariably there will be gaps, things that need to be updated, etc. I'm proud that you point to our culture as such a positive -- as they say, "culture eats strategy for breakfast"!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company, on the verge of greatness

    Jan 20, 2021 - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Great clients 2. Amazing benefits, perks, and work/life balance 3. Quality solution that does good in the world

    Cons

    1. lacking long term product vision 2. Culture at times doesn't feel geared towards action, lots of encouraging others to do the work or encouraging you to look at content on an internal wiki 3. Don't know where the company is going....is it acquisition, ipo, or other?

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    First of all thank you for investing the time to write such a thoughtful and thorough review. I know people value and appreciate hearing from actual employees. Second, I hear you on the need to continually improve how we think about and communicate our long term visions (whether around product or overall company direction) and hopefully with recent all hands improvements, our new internal comms, and other efforts, you have seen some traction there. It will always be a work in progress, and helps to hear this feedback so I can know to continue focusing on it. As to the bias for action comment - I totally empathize! I, too, get frustrated when I can't get stuff done quick enough, struggle to drive cross-functional teams to line up, etc. Part of it is probably endemic to fast-growth startups where everyone has a million things to do. But no doubt there are actions by the other leaders and me, aspects of our culture, processes, etc we can look at which are holding us back. Fair feedback and appreciated. All in all seems like you're having a positive experience with us which I'm really happy about!

Viewing 11 - 20 of 185 Reviews

Popular Careers with Greenhouse Software Job Seekers

Customer Success Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Sales Development Representative
Learn About the Job
Growth Marketing Coordinator
Learn About the Job
Senior Customer Success Manager
Learn About the Job
Enterprise Account Executive
Learn About the Job

Work at Greenhouse Software? Share Your Experiences

Greenhouse Software logo
or