Greenhouse Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Greenhouse Software Reviews

Updated 26 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
Daniel Chait
121 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was drawn to Greenhouse for a number of reasons (great culture, exciting stage of growth, best-in-class product), but the reasons I will stay far exceed that. All of those things remain true, but Greenhouse has: -Amazing, down to earth people. You can have a great culture full of fun, free perks, but what means the most is my ability to come to work and communicate with people who are kind and authentic at every level. -A "hustle" mindset -- people want to move fast, be effective at what they do, and win -A strong belief across the board in the product roadmap and company vision

    Cons

    My team is still in a period of growth and some restructuring with new leadership, so there is a bit of shifting in team mindsets, attitudes, approach to work, etc. We feel positively that this is just a time of transition, which happens in any org.

    Greenhouse Software2018-12-12

    Greenhouse Software Response

    December 17, 2018CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this review! Really glad to hear your career here is off to such a positive beginning. I really appreciate the lovely things you have to say about Greenhouse. And thanks for your perspective on the cons - growth brings change, new leadership, etc. - not uncommon and yet something to work through nonetheless. I'm sure people will appreciate learning about Greenhouse from the inside, so thanks again for taking the time to share!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great Customer Success Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Challenging work so there are a lot of opportunities to learn and grow. - Great company culture - they practice what they preach and you can bring your whole self to work. - Our customers are great and our product is great! Leads to really rewarding experiences with customers. - Just moved to a new office with a lot of great perks. - Great collaboration amongst teams.

    Cons

    - The company is growing so it is hard to know everyone in the office and plan company-wide activities.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-10-31

    Greenhouse Software Response

    December 17, 2018CEO

    Wow - so great to read all the positive aspects of what you're experiencing. It's bringing a smile to my face on a Monday morning! Work, culture, customers, product, office space, team - you covered it all! 😀 I too struggle with the challenges of growth that you mention - especially knowing everyone's name. That's a real weakness of mine & something I am trying to work on. I really appreciate that you took the time out to share and write up your perspective. Helps everyone to learn more about us and see what's going on from the point of view of those already working here.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (11)

    "The Best Place To Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time

    Pros

    Working on amazing products with a truly amazing team. Everyone here is so helpful and welcoming! I am encouraged to do my best work and I am also lucky enough to be able to keep learning and growing. The team is super diverse and encourages openness, individuality and inclusion. I've seriously never worked anywhere better than this. We are also in a great location with great snacks!

    Cons

    There are legitimately no cons.

    Greenhouse Software2018-08-14

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 28, 2018CEO

    I love the positivity. As much as I really value constructive criticism and see it as a gift, sometimes it just makes me smile to hear the really nice stuff. 💚 Don't worry - if you ever have anything bad to say, I want to hear that stuff too!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Greenhouse rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Awesome product - People are really passionate about our mission - Great opportunity for career development - Founders are solid and I always feel like employees' best interest are at heart - If you want to roll up your sleeves and build something Greenhouse is for you - you are encouraged to do meaningful work, even if it's not your immediate job description - Great people - some of my best friends are made here - Data-driven - pretty mature company for our size and decisions are almost always backed by data and measured regularly, rarely "flying by the seat of our pants" but still nimble when we need to be - Highly transparent culture - from the top down - Consistently hitting most of our numbers

    Cons

    - Highly collaborative environment can sometimes feel like "too many cooks in the kitchen" - Somewhat "flat" hierarchy can sometimes be tough to navigate - Sometimes can seem like a heavy meeting culture - Sales culture doesn't seem very competitive,

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-08-07

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 28, 2018CEO

    Thanks you sincerely for taking time for this thorough writeup. It feels great to see the long list of Pro's and thoughtful critiques - many of which are echoed by many of your colleagues here. To pick up on one point you make - the heavy "meeting" culture - yep heard that! In fact one of our departments recently did a quick "time and motion" study and found that a large percent of time was spent on internal tasks like meetings vs external tasks like helping customers. In response they restructured some work, reduced & reformatted meetings, and were able to free up many hours/week of the team's time to be more focused on working with customers. So - please keep up the feedback! We always need to adjust and modify so we can learn & grow.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time

    Pros

    Some of the reasons I love working at Greenhouse include: - Clear visibility into career growth and encouragement to partake in learning & development to increase skillset - Emphasis on diversity & inclusion within the workplace - Priority to maintain company culture during high-growth periods - Increased share in the market, proving our continuous impact and ability to scale - Authentic and open two-way communication from executive leadership down - Cross-departmental collaboration to achieve company & team goals

    Cons

    The only 'con' is that we have run out of meeting rooms and don't have much space for private meetings. That being said, we are moving offices in the near future and I know these concerns are being addressed.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-08-07

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 28, 2018CEO

    Hi there - appreciate the note! So, so happy to hear you're having such a positive experience here. As to some of the cons you point out, as I'm sure you know, we hope many of those to be addressed by our upcoming move to a new NYC office (just a few weeks away now!). Good advice!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Empathy and collaboration are really highly valued, making this a really great place to work with other people * Everyone is really motivated to be better every day, there's not a lot of complacency, and this is true of senior leadership as well which is refreshing * It's fun and exciting to be with a company that continues to succeed in the way Greenhouse does

    Cons

    Many of my complaints are small inconveniences that are part of a larger story. * Sometimes desk space is sparse (because we are hiring great new folks) * Sometimes it's too loud (because people get excited about their work) * Sometimes someone has eaten all the apples by 2pm and I'm hungry These are cons I deem pretty livable. What I appreciate though, is that if/when a Con does bubble up that concerns me, I feel comfortable escalating it to senior management.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-07-31

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 28, 2018CEO

    Grateful for you sharing your perspective, thanks. I love your balanced review and your even keeled perspective about some of the challenges of working at Greenhouse (or any small/growing startup). Thanks!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    colleague, manager, work / life balance, personal growth

    Cons

    I have been working at Greenhouse for almost 3 years and it is very hard to think about a negative experience. One con for me is that the benefits are not as good as companies like Facebook or Google. But I think it is a unfair comparison.

    Greenhouse Software2018-08-10

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 28, 2018CEO

    Hey after three years if that's the only con I think we're doing allright! Thanks for being here all this time & here's to many more to-come!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Thoughtful and Authentic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The leadership team at Greenhouse is thoughtful and authentic. This encourages staff to be the same. - People truly care. - Coworkers are great, I can get lunch or coffee with anyone and have a great time. - Management may be slow on changes but the results will be seen.

    Cons

    This can be a con to some people, the company changes a lot. Management changes, executives change, policy changes as we grow to accommodate the growth, budgets change, etc. Leadership is transparent and open to questions about all the changes which helps but it's a lot of change. If you are looking for boring and consistent, this isn't it.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-07-17

    Greenhouse Software Response

    July 25, 2018CEO

    Great comments! Great advice! I'll try to do lunch in the rec room from time to time - honestly it's habit more than conscious decision to eat at my desk, why not change it up? Yes great advice on change as well - if you come here, you should be the kind of person that thrives under change and adapts well to new circumstances.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Amazing company and product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am more than 3 years into my time at Greenhouse. I love it here. What an amazing, smart and inspiring group of people I work with. Being a first time mom the Parental and Family leave benefit was so helpful to me along with all the support I receive from my fellow moms. Our team shows up to work every day to make the product better, challenge the norm and help companies hire better. You can feel it in our office which is high energy, collaborative and a really positive experience. Our Benefits and Perks are top notch. Our vision and values inspire me and I've loved being challenged by my colleagues and customers.

    Cons

    Our growth means our open floor office is pretty loud, it's sometimes hard to find quiet places to work or even take a call. Career paths for the AE team don't really exist so you have to create your own.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-07-10

    Greenhouse Software Response

    July 25, 2018CEO

    Thanks so much for the kind words & great feedback. Really nice to hear the positive impact that the company's support & benefits are having for you and your family. Appreciate the time you took out to write up your perspective for everyone to read.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "BEST PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -entry level employees are treated with the same respect as senior employees -you are invested in and middle management is stellar in helping you grow -SF has a strong relationship culture among employees. Over time people become your family -The customer support team is amazing. We have each other’s backs and if a conflict arises we take care of it -smart customers that push you to provide a top tier product -anyone in any role can contribute to new processes/ideas -transparency from the decision makers. Even as an entry level employee I’ve had individual time with all major leaders of the company/my team - good benefits

    Cons

    It can take time to get used to small office/start up culture if you’re coming from a different industry. Also a very complex product so onboarding can take months. Better commuter benefits would be nice :)

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-07-17

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 28, 2018CEO

    I've heard often that the best feature of Greenhouse is "our customer support" and it's folks like you that help make it that way - so thank you! You take what could be seen as an unglamorous job and elevate it. Of all the things I've read across our Glassdoor reviews, the fact that you see entry level employees being treated the same as more senior employees is one of my favorite! It's a great feeling to know that people can come to work and be seen for who they are, trusted, and feel like they can contribute to the overall team in a positive way. THANKS for taking out the time to write this!

    Continue reading
Found 133 reviews