Greenhouse Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Greenhouse Software Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
Daniel Chait
122 Ratings
  1. "Great Product, Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Greenhouse less than a year now and in my career, have not worked for a better company. This is a product that is best of breed and always innovating to move forward. The true care from everyone in the company towards each other and the customers is real. The fact that Daniel and Jon, along with other senior leaders across all departments, will happily join in customer or prospect calls, shows... that this company practices everything it preaches. Everyone cares. There is no surprise that the formula here works - as seen with the explosive growth and market share grab.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with all start up environments, structure can be lacking at times, but this also opens up opportunities for discussion around changes - which are always taken into consideration.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! This company is a best place to work and a best of breed solution to help solve critical business challenges

    Greenhouse Software2018-03-20
  2. "Challenging and rewarding (and longest) tenure so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - It's A Secret in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +work projects are interesting, challenging and rewarding. +colleagues are respectful, fun and make the day feel less like a "work day". +manager is very attentive to me needs and development; provides the autonomy needed to learn and succeed. +company culture overall is a a very positive, warm experience. +Total rewards (salary+benefits+perks) are exactly what I would expect from a maturing start-up in the tech... space.

    Show More

    Cons

    -though my manager is great, not all managers hold that same greatness. Many managers are new/green or less effective and definitely need ongoing, consistent training and development. -internal transfer and promotions are definitely present, and that presence can always be improved upon -the only meaty thing missing from the rewards package is a 401k match.

    Advice to Management

    + double down on managerial training programs. Perhaps hire someone (like an HR Business Partner) to focus on these kind of programs. +Be sure employees are being heard when they tell their managers they want to grow into the next step in their career. +Onboarding, company communication, and overall company culture is A+ - keep it up!

    Greenhouse Software2018-02-15
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Authentic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only been here for a week and I love it! - A company that truly values its employees – you'll find that tenured folks here have interesting (in a good way!) career paths that allow for unconventional growth you rarely find anywhere else - Genuine, empathetic people – everyone makes an effort to get to know you as a person (during the interview process and even in the hallways on your first day!) - A... culture that fosters diversity and inclusivity

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of, but Greenhouse is definitely scrappier and smaller than other companies, which could be a "culture" curve for some.

    Greenhouse Software2018-01-20
  4. "awesome place to work and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great coworkers, good pay, weekends off - they really care about employee happiness and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some teams are still small and get stretched thin.

    Advice to Management

    Stay real!

    Greenhouse Software2017-12-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I <3 Greenhouse!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is extremely open minded and they have a very diverse culture. Their interviews are long but really fun. They have amazing medical benefits. They offer a ton of organic snacks including avocados, bananas, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, chips, pretzels, gummy snacks, guacamole dip, bread, bagels, honey, sriracha sauce, carrots, hummus, granola bars, protein bars, protein powder, string... cheese, every flavor of la croix water, every type of milk (almond, coconut, soy, half n half, whole, 2%, lactose free, etc), cereal, and beer.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish we had a panini maker, lunch meat and cheese, and I wish we had matched 401k.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! There is a reason that Greenhouse is #1 on Glassdoor!

    Greenhouse Software2017-10-10
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Real review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greenhouse Software full-time

    Pros

    -Product is actually great. -Customer Support & Account Managers are awesome people

    Cons

    -Things are inconsistent. Some people get let go immediately, other people they'll let loiter for 1-3 months. Management plays favorites with people like this and sometimes not even announce they are getting rid of someone who plays a role in your day-to-day. When it comes to your goals, they'll switch those up mid-quarter or not even set them until mid-quarter. They also don't know how to communicate their goals... that well and can't explain their bonus plans accurately to the team. I suggest you fully read everything they want you to sign. -Hypocritical. The company stands by everyone vetting who gets hired to a team then they'll just go make the call themselves. That is literally going against what they instill in their product. They will tell the team, "you'll know if you aren't performing" and "be given a 30 day notice if you aren't" then just push them out without notice. This rings true for people that are actually performing at high levels as well. You could see this as the leadership lying, but I prefer to think that they want to give off an image that they can't really back up nor do they want to. -They put people in the wrong roles. Some people get roles that have 0 experience in that field. It leads to a ton of questions that'll slow everything down and frustrate people when everyone is striving for hyper growth. You'll also see some very advanced strategies get axed right away because of other people's lack of knowledge. Company is getting too large for that and this creates a bunch of "talkers" and no "doers". -Mistakes aren't learned from. Bunch of layoffs happened at the beginning of the year, they are pushing to hire fast again and make the same mistakes going after the same roles that didn't work before. -Leadership will take your projects and ideas for themselves. They will even steal the way you talk about things and present it like it's their own in a meeting. You will hear leadership take credit for successes and the people that actually put in the work get no recognition. -It's an HR software, so the HR team pretty much takes control of everything. They talk to the company like they know everything. They came up with ELTV (employee lifetime value) that should output a value hence the "V" in the acronym, but will tell you it's more of a theoretical practice that you can't calculate. So pretty much they are just telling you to trust the graphs they show you that have 0 numbers behind them that can't actually prove a mathematical theory.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The experts are below the director level. The lower level employees are rockstars, should be listened to, and be given some respect. The culture has shifted to a shady area and I don't think people trust leadership anymore. Everyone has had to put on a happy face so they don't get fired. Leadership egos have to go. It's HR software, there are so many products/services bigger than you and quality talent won't stay at... this rate.

    Show More
    Greenhouse Software2017-10-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A truly open and inclusive workplace aiming to constantly iterate and improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software

    Pros

    -An amazing and supportive People team who makes sure we have the best benefits and perks and are constantly working to make them better -An employee run culture committee in place (that rotates each year) to make sure that team specific feedback is being heard and changes are being made -People who bring their whole selves to work and are honest about struggles and successes at work and outside of... work -Transparent bi-annual engagement surveys with feedback that is implemented across the org

    Show More

    Cons

    -Open office can be challenging for concentration. Important to find productivity tools to make sure you're successful and efficient -Constant growth and change can be really exhausting. Being solution oriented and chasing those challenges is a great skill to have in this environment. -Working across coasts is difficult not only because we're in different places but because of the different working styles we... have

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -More team specific on-boarding is going to be important as teams change/evolve and work to find their identities -Continuing to be as open and honest (and asking for team feedback) as much as possible around org changes -More robust manager training/coaching for managers that have never managed or aren't as comfortable with it

    Greenhouse Software2017-08-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A Truly Special Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As someone who used Greenhouse's software in the past, it's incredibly refreshing to be on the other side. The Greenhouse product is next to none, and only getting better. Leadership (including our CEO) sits alongside the team and is very approachable and open to feedback. The sales environment is full of driven, focused professionals striving for success, and you can meet the aggressive goals with hard work and the... support of your team. It's a wonderful place to land, and grow for the future.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons at this time!

    Greenhouse Software2017-08-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I know it sounds cheesy, but the people I work with are the reason I wake up every morning happy to go to work. Greenhouse lives by the product/services it sells: just as we help other companies to have world-class people-practices (hiring, onboarding, etc.), Greenhouse has built its own world-class organization.

    Cons

    The mood may vary by team in the organization. E.g. the engineering team's morale seems higher than in other departments.

    Greenhouse Software2017-08-22
  10. "It's Only the Beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time

    Pros

    - Super ambitious future goals with high potential for positive outcomes - Intelligent and mature founders and executive team with proven track record of success - Name and brand recognition in the HR tech space - Tons of smart people working on very challenging problems - Organic, unforced culture - Opportunities to stretch beyond your role and develop new muscles - Vertical and horizontal role change... opportunities - Past the initial startup phase and moving into distinction as established segment leader

    Show More

    Cons

    - Office and perks due for a 2.0 revamp. Time to start making the office environment and hooks more palatable.

    Advice to Management

    Start bringing in some external heavy hitters. A lot of our challenges and opportunities have been solved at other SaaS companies and it's time to steamroll some legacy hurdles.

    Greenhouse Software2017-09-08
Found 135 reviews