Greenhouse Software Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Greenhouse Software Sales Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
95%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
Daniel Chait
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome Company~"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time

    Pros

    -Nice People -Great Onboarding -Ease of Training

    Cons

    -Career Ladder as an SDR

    Greenhouse Software2019-06-24

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 22, 2019CEO

    Thanks for sharing your review. SDR Career Ladders are an ongoing area of interest for me - what can we do to keep people productive and lasting in the role, while remaining challenged, interested, learning, and growing? We've upgraded our trainings, added more management & enablement support, and re-worked comp & targets. I'm sure there's more to do! Open to ideas or even just a chat about it to see if we can come up with more. Ping me, let's get a coffee!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Greenhouse is one of the best places to work in NYC. I truly love my job. I've met some of my best friends here and also done some of my best work. I feel empowered and I know that management really cares about me and my success. I'm excited about the company's future!

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to correct obvious problems. Power can sometimes seem to be concentrated in the hands of a few people.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2018-06-11

    Greenhouse Software Response

    June 21, 2018CEO

    Your "pros' are a powerful statement and a true compliment - I'm thrilled! Those cons sound concerning & would love to dig in more. I (or your friendly neighborhood People Team member) would be happy to hear from you and learn more so we can help improve things. I'm 100% certain we make mistakes, act too slowly, miss things that seem clear to others, etc. It's only human nature. Only through getting good critical feedback from folks like yourself who have the close perspective can we improve, so I would strongly encourage you to engage in these matters and help us to get better. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (9)

    "I am not messing around..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am writing this review with a smile on my face. I feel extremely fortunate to be selling a product that truly helps companies. Pros? Cons? Where do I start?? 1. Great working culture. Everyone working at Greenhouse understands the value of GH. 2. Everyone who is a part of Greenhouse Software believes in the platform and believes in the impact we can have on the industry. 3. Customers love the platform - there is nothing better than selling a product that we know will truly add value to the customer. 3. Every member of the Greenhouse team is passionate about Greenhouse customers and making sure the Greenhouse is experience is the awesome!!!

    Cons

    We can relate to any successful teenage startup -- learning as we go...

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2017-06-17

    Greenhouse Software Response

    June 26, 2017CEO

    To paraphrase an old saying: "If you have an apple and give it to me, then you and I will still have only one apple. But if you have a smile and share it with me, then we will now have two smiles." Thanks for sharing your smile with me! :-)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Great product, but poorly run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, and there is no shortage of intelligent and hard working people.

    Cons

    Management is inexperienced, and the culture is very fratty and catty. It's not uncommon for someone to get a negative attitude from higher ups including the CEO. There is no growth, and the message that they "invest in their people" felt false more times than naught. Recognition no matter how hard you work, or what good work you produce, will be over looked because of the value on popularity and being a part of management's fan club.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2017-03-06

    Greenhouse Software Response

    March 14, 2017CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your point of view. It really sounds like you had quite a negative experience working here. As you can imagine, I’m disappointed that we didn’t do a better job for you. I care deeply about people and have dedicated my career to building a successful company by starting with great people and culture. Now, it’s hard for me to know exactly what your comments mean because of the anonymous nature of Glassdoor. But I will say this - like everyone, I definitely am subject to my share of emotions. Sometimes I get frustrated, lose some perspective, have a bad day (or week), etc. I have my biases and personality preferences that I work to increase my awareness of and to overcome, not always successfully. Even though it’s painful and embarrassing to see it called out (moreso publicly), it helps. So I’ll choose to take this feedback constructively and use it as a learning experience. I’m truly sorry for any times when you didn’t feel positivity from me. All startups are works-in-progress. As an entrepreneur for the past 20+ years, I am acutely aware of the need for continual improvement and hearing critical feedback is vital to that process. Thank you for taking the time to provide your perspective.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "SDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Greenhouse is hands down the best company I have ever worked for and truly embodies everything I would want in a company. The people here are not only fun, welcoming, helpful, and team oriented- but are also extremely bright individuals who have an understanding of both independent and team/company success. Everyone encourages each other to be the best employee you can be. Our CEO is amazing and trustworthy. I have never experienced a company with so much transparency, collaboration, and where my voice actually matters. It's also a fun, vibrant work environment where there is a great understanding of work life balance.

    Cons

    We are a startup so changing of management is often frequent so this can be a bit difficult but our higher ups handle the change well and provide outlets where necessary to discuss

    Greenhouse Software2016-12-09

    Greenhouse Software Response

    January 20, 2017CEO

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your perspective, and for the kind words about Greenhouse. Nice to hear.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Couldn't dream up a better experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I spent most of the last 2 years at Greenhouse and genuinely enjoyed every minute. Tons of opportunities for growth, great compensation and perks, a sense of purpose at work and good managers - Greenhouse is the real deal. On top of it all, the support I was given was more than anyone could ever expect. Candidates often asked me about the best part of working at Greenhouse, and my answer was always: the people. My colleagues were smart, interesting, motivated people that made the weeks fly by.

    Cons

    It's been said here before, but I'll say it again -- it's hard to think of one single con. I consider myself lucky to have had such a great experience so early on in my career.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2016-12-06

    Greenhouse Software Response

    January 20, 2017CEO

    Thanks for the comments - means a lot. I'm glad that you can look back on your time here positively... I've always said that Greenhouse should be a great place to be, and also a great place to be from. Best wishes as you progress in your career.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "True Ownership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software for less than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative Environment - Amazing Culture - Energizing Teams - Hardworking Contributors You can really tell how much the leadership team cares about and invests in Greenhouse employees. There’s a positive buzz in the office knowing that each person is impacting growth, and everyone plays an active role in building a company worth working for. A lot of companies, specifically in technology, talk at length about hiring for a “culture fit”, which eventually prevents hiring people who could bring a lot of value. Greenhouse takes the approach of finding people who add to the existing culture, making it a more inclusive and diverse environment.

    Cons

    Anything that one might consider a “con” is simply a product of headcount growth. There are people in place to address all kinds of concerns in a constructive way.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2016-07-05

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 4, 2016CEO

    Thanks for the encouragement and for taking the time to make your perspective known. It's really helpful to hear. Let me know of course if things ever change!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management truly cares about it's people. Because there is such an emphasis on hiring the best people for each role, there is an amazing product, sold by amazing sales people, with an amazing customer success team to back it up.

    Cons

    While the company is stellar at hiring, it could do a little better in promoting professional growth of employees and promotion within.

    Greenhouse Software2016-03-07

    Greenhouse Software Response

    March 14, 2016CEO

    Hi - thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Greenhouse. Curious to know more about your thoughts regarding promotions! I know we've done quite a few promotions - some stats from your department (sales): 7 of our 19 AE's were promoted from our SDR team, and 14 of our 29 current on the SDR team have been promoted either to SDR II/III or some sort of lead. Yet we can always do a better job. Feel free to ping me directly, your manager or HR business partner Cheryl, or if you'd prefer, to submit me an anonymous AMA question, to discuss any ideas or concerns. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Working at Greenhouse is a blessing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software for less than a year

    Pros

    Clearly defined career ladder - lots of room for growth if you hit your goals and do your job. Management is receptive to new ideas. Leadership leads by example. There is not one a-hole on staff. Everyone is super friendly and the company culture encourages learning, even cross-departmental learning. Very positive work environment - they recognize accomplishments and encourage everyone to be friends through outside-of-work activities. As the company goes through hyper-growth, they still try to make it feel small and encourage everyone to get to know new hires. They do an exceptional job hiring the right people for the job (this is what Greenhouse helps other companies do, so duh!) and hiring people who are a cultural fit for the organization, also bringing about a diverse range of employees. There is not one boring person in the office.

    Cons

    Because the company is going through hyper-growth, there is a constant shift in priorities, but leadership does a really good job communicating with the entire staff the reasoning behind this shift and how everyone can play their role in helping the company achieve short-term and long-term goals.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2015-08-07

    Greenhouse Software Response

    August 10, 2015CEO

    Dangit, now you got Lionel Ritchie stuck in my head! #DERP# Dionne Warwick. Whoops.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great and booming place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is very receptive to ideas and the executive management has been superb. These are truly some of the smartest people I have met, and do not have an outsized ego about it.

    Cons

    When a company is growing as rapidly as this, there are bound to be times where you must jump into the drivers seat and solve new problems on your own because people get spread thin quickly.

    Continue reading
    Greenhouse Software2015-07-21

    Greenhouse Software Response

    July 27, 2015CEO

    Thanks for the helpful comment. Yup, no question there are lots of moving parts and sometimes growth exceeds our ability to carefully plan. Good to see that you've found that a "hands on" attitude is effective and well received. It's that type of proactivity that we need. Of course if things are getting frustrating, please don't hesitate to reach out and say something! It really helps to hear not only what's working but what we could be doing to better support you.

    Continue reading
Found 12 reviews