Greenhouse Software Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Greenhouse Software Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
Daniel Chait
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong emphasis on continuous learning and career growth. Consistent manager meetings are a great resource for pinpointing your weaknesses, strengths, and discussion of your career path. Regular Lunch and Learn events are both well-arranged and well-attended. Moving across departments is not only possible; the Mentorship program helps interested employers learn to be application developers.

    Cons

    The company is growing fast and with that comes a lot of office logistic questions/issues. That being said, there is a lot of transparency regarding the subject during the monthly AMAs and through consistent communications from the People team.

    Greenhouse Software2019-06-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "The best company I've worked for by far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the most professional, respectful, fun, challenging and rewarding job I've ever had. Offering a lot of autonomy, but with guidance whenever I need it. Work life balance is second to none, I literally am in charge of my own time and it's great. The culture is awesome (and I love all of the clubs), people are so nice and welcoming,

    Cons

    Really can't think of any at the moment? Maybe the lack of 401k matching?

    Advice to Management

    Keep being so open, honest and accessible as you are

    Greenhouse Software2019-04-04
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    colleague, manager, work / life balance, personal growth

    Cons

    I have been working at Greenhouse for almost 3 years and it is very hard to think about a negative experience. One con for me is that the benefits are not as good as companies like Facebook or Google. But I think it is a unfair comparison.

    Greenhouse Software2018-08-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Greenhouse genuinely cares about its employees. Managers have always been thoughtful and considerate, and really help you do your best work.

    Cons

    While there are a lot of interesting problems to solve, it's not "flashy". Just the nature of Sas honestly

    Greenhouse Software2018-06-12
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Best Job I've Had, Surrounded by Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You join Greenhouse not for the perks or anything (which aren’t half-bad) - but to be surrounded by people who, at the end of the day, you want to spend even more time with. Work itself is a lot more enjoyable when you’re working with, and are surrounded by, people who like and respect. Everyone here is hard working and dedicated to their job, as well as fun to hang out with! I can’t emphasize that enough.... Additionally, the work is continuously interesting and challenging. There is perpetually an endless list of things to be done, and being on a team that is passionate and introspective/self-improving helps you accomplish and learn a ton. This type of work environment comes from the top. Our leadership really leads by example. The perks (unlimited PTO, snacks, fridge full of beer, etc) are great and all, and the work environment (great work/life balance, flexible work hours, high levels of trust and autonomy) don’t hurt - but the reasons above are why I’m still working here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being on the engineering team, at times I feel isolated from what's going on in other departments. The two-floor layout, being separated from many other teams, definitely contributes to that as well. But things like an in-office cornhole tournament, or our quarterly Fun Days (we take an afternoon and go do fun activities each quarter) help bridge that gap!

    Greenhouse Software2017-06-02
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Great People, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, thoughtful leadership, really cares about customers, great place to develop your skills

    Cons

    Struggling a little in maintaining the original company culture.

    Greenhouse Software2017-02-19
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * work/life balance is good * great senior management * good engineering culture

    Cons

    * it will be better if there could be 401k matching in the future

    Greenhouse Software2017-02-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Best startup in NYC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product that customers love. Management seem to genuinely care about the employees. We are giving a lot of opportunity to voice our opinions and are involved in day-to-day decisions. We are given the tools we need to not only do our job well, but also build our own brand and grow our career.

    Cons

    Not all the advantages of working for a bigger company in terms of benefits.

    Greenhouse Software2016-05-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sincerely the best job I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenhouse Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + I get to concentrate on writing software instead of going to meetings + Small company with great coworkers with the same values that I have + Lots of energy in the workplace; everyone's excited by our success + Friday night 90's jam sessions

    Cons

    - Hours can be long (like most startups)

    Greenhouse Software2014-02-09
Found 9 reviews