Cover image for Greenhouse Software
Logo

Greenhouse Software

Engaged Employer

Greenhouse Software

Add a Review

Greenhouse Software Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated May 26, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 251 of over 251 reviews
4.7
95% Recommend to a Friend
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
97% Approve of CEO

Found 2 of over 251 reviews

4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Greenhouse Software CEO Daniel Chait
Daniel Chait
202 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Daniel and Jon are two great people to get behind and they compensate very well for great talent.(in 49 reviews)
  • "And of course, the people and the culture are amazing.(in 27 reviews)
  • "Greenhouse is the rare great job with strong leadership and fantastic peers.(in 20 reviews)
  • "I've never seen so many people drop whatever they're doing to help someone from a different team.(in 14 reviews)
  • "good benefits(in 11 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Greenhouse Software and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent Product, Excellent Culture, Slight Growing Pains

    May 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General company culture revolves around transparency, collaboration, empathy, and authenticity. Pay is competitive and the benefits & perks & pto policies are excellent. Goals are set publicly and we hold ourselves accountable to them. The company also performs very well in our market, which is a big plus; the product is truly great.

    Cons

    Still on our DE&I journey with minor bumps along the way, particularly as the company implements new initiatives while simultaneously growing at an unprecedented pace. Along those same lines, certain systems and headcount distributions are causing issues as we continue to scale. The foremost drivers are doing an excellent job and I do fully believe these growing pains to be temporary, but if I have to list cons, they're worth noting.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. I really like the context you provide for both the positives and the challenges we face -- it helps give a true picture of what we're going through here at Greenhouse. Much appreciated!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent people!

    Feb 7, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer I in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People are amazing - Great comp

    Cons

    - Product direction changes as we grow (typical growing pains)

    1 person found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Wow what outstanding feedback! Thanks for sharing it, I know that people really value hearing about our company from those who work here. So glad to hear that the people are among your top reasons for rating us so highly - I agree! I am super proud to be part of this amazing team and committed to continuing to build a workplace where everyone can be their best. Thanks for being a part of that! 💚

  3. Join the Greenhouse Software team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great product, great team

    Feb 8, 2021 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture and employee benefits stellar product, lots of room to grow and develop from a career standpoint.

    Cons

    No real cons/complaints. Standard growing pains as expected for any fast growing start up

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    I know people appreciate the feedback , thanks for contributing your perspective.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company I've worked for

    Sep 30, 2019 - Customer Support Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Growing fast - Incredibly generous benefits - Remarkable people and culture

    Cons

    - Growing pains from high-growth - Starting pay bands feel a little low for the amount of work - Workload can feel intense, job is more technical than many other support roles.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your perspective & views. I'm really proud you're having such a positive experience. Interesting feedback on the Cons - thanks for sharing! The fist two I understand. The third ("more technical than many other support roles") I'm super curious about - would love to hear more. In any event I appreciate you writing up your notes - people really do value reading about what it's like here. Thanks!

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Greenhouse is a better company than most

    Mar 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great group of people. Everyone is truly passionate about the work they do and really want to see each other and our customers succeed - Accessible leadership. Dan and Jon remain highly visible and accessible. I hope this continues as the company grows -Challenging work. You can't coast through your day here, but you can expect to be challenged and given the room to develop your unique style of work -Flexbiility. Most managers are supportive of different work styles, needs, and arrangements

    Cons

    -Fast growth comes with growing pains. Not sure if some of our mid-level management is truly equipped to support us as we grow at this rate - Not hiring fast enough for the needs of the business which causes workload and frustrations to trickle down to IC's -Lot's of survey's with some of the less than stellar survey feedback being swept under the rug. -Favoritism abound, but to be fair this exists at many orgs. So come prepared to "play the game"

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Hello! Thanks for taking the time to provide your perspective and for the honest feedback - both positive and negative. It helps to hear areas where we can be improving - your note on staying close to IC's is a great one, I've just refreshed my skip-levels to ensure a regular rotation of 1-1 time for me with folks throughout the org. The blunt math is that as any org grows, I will be able to spend proportionally less 1-1 time with folks so the best I can do is sampling a variety of tools (some 1-1s. some surveys, some AMA's, etc). Hearing from folks like you in places like this is certainly one important avenue for feedback, so thanks! If you'd be so generous, I would greatly appreciate a private note letting me know one or two examples of survey results being swept under the rug -- I promise to thank you for the information and look into the situation! Best - Daniel

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The best place I've worked!

    May 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing people, great managers, fulfilling work, flexible PTO, lots of room for growth and new opportunities within the company

    Cons

    Honestly I can't really think of any besides not having a 401k match. There are some growing pains here and there but nothing concerning or unexpected.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Wow that's a powerful statement. We aim to be the place where people can do their best work... to hear that it's also your best job so far is very rewarding! Thanks for sharing.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It doesn't get better than this

    Oct 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am so so incredibly happy at Greenhouse and can't imagine going anywhere else because: 1. The leadership is extraordinary, even if I hated my job I think I would stay just for Dan and Jon (our founders). 2. I love the people I work with, so much so that I look forward to going to work in the morning no matter what's in store for the day. They push me to be better every day, I push myself to not let them down. We are constantly making time to support each other and give help where it's needed. I honestly can't talk about how amazing things are with people outside of Greenhouse too much because I don't want to make them feel bad about their own workplace. 3. I know without a doubt that I am a valued part of the company, I know that the people I work for are invested in my success, I know that my team and mangers will have my back and go to bat for me, I know that I will grow more here than anywhere else, I know the company is heading for great things and I feel so lucky to be a part of it.

    Cons

    Most of the regular cons associated with working for a startup are dealt with proactively - management is well aware of the stress that comes with constant change, growing pains, uncertainty, and a fast-paced environment, so they do everything in their power to give us full visibility into what's coming down the line, listen to our feedback on how things are working, and give us the chance to take action where we want to see change. Not really a con I guess..sorry...

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Well, thank you! What a great note, thanks for taking time out to write up your thoughts.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A Rare Find - People Focused and Effective

    Jun 13, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Greenhouse's products help companies hire and build great teams so you would hope they would live up to there own vision. I am happy to report it seems to be the case. The company and leaderships are very people focused and have assembled a team of smart, helpful, friendly professionals. There are women in leadership positions and it is becoming increasingly diverse while staying effective. I find the founders to be very accessible and human. You generally have the resources you need to do your job.

    Cons

    In early 2016, the company is still adjusting to growing from 45 to more than 200 staffers. There are growing pains as I would expect at any organization in this position. Communication is something that constantly needs to be worked on to keep the departments and various layers of management in sync. Sometime there are to many goals and too much going on.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    I think that is outstanding advice that it helps to hear re-emphasized and repeated. As a founder/CEO of a growing company, even as I know how critical it is to keep pushing information and authority outwards, it's a constant challenge. I will keep trying! I've been checking out a series that LinkedIn published called "Conscious Business" which has provided me with some great inspiration and insights into how to do this better. Thanks so much for the feedback.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The Real Deal.

    May 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) This is a place where you can grow your career. The company recruits people from various industries and backgrounds. I always feel like I can learn from anyone here. 2) The leadership team is experienced and thoughtful. They are honest about what's working and what isn't, and they empower everyone to help fix what isn't. 3) Every team sets a high bar for themselves and their work. These are driven people. 4) This is a people-focused company, and the team here truly aspires to be leaders in their space.

    Cons

    1) The company is growing quickly, so there are a few growing pains. If you're not a person who can get your hands dirty to build something great, this might not be your cup of tea.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Great write up, very helpful to see the various facets of how you think about work life here @ Greenhouse. Oh, and I'll follow your advice!

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Opportunity of a lifetime

    May 13, 2016 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people that work at Greenhouse will always be the first "pro" that I mention. From the early stages of the company, a team of hard-working, intelligent people were assembled which set the standard early. Greenhouse has successfully maintained that caliber of employee even after coming off a year where about 150 hires were made. I could go into the classic perks that go along with working at a SaaS startup, but if that is what attracts you to GH then you should work elsewhere. Everybody here works tirelessly to be the best as there is a healthy balance of individual performance and operating as a team. The people that push you and help you reach that next goal of yours is the difference maker.

    Cons

    The only "con" in my time at GH would be the growing pains that came along with the hyper-growth we experienced. Things like moving offices, adjusting workflows were successfully completed, but could have been done a lot better. But hey, it was the first time!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Greenhouse Software Response

    CEO

    Hey - Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! Yup, sounds like a pretty spot-on description of life at GH these days... rewarding, great people, with a dash of growing pains. Great advice!

Viewing 1 - 2 of 2 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Greenhouse Software Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Greenhouse Software? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Greenhouse Software Photos

+ Add Photo
Greenhouse Software photo of: All In!
Greenhouse Software photo of: Daniel speaking at Greenhouse OPEN 2018!
Greenhouse Software photo of: Our Engineering team has a stand up everyday.
Greenhouse Software photo of: Engineering team with rollbar swag
Greenhouse Software photo of: Greenies Bombas Day 2017
Greenhouse Software photo of: Post Fun Day happy hour!
Greenhouse Software photo of: Wellness Week powered by smoothie bikes!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Greenhouse Software Job Seekers Also Viewed

Influenster Logo
Influenster

3.0

51 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 251 Greenhouse Software reviews submitted anonymously by Greenhouse Software employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Greenhouse Software is right for you.