Greenman-Pedersen Reviews | Glassdoor

Greenman-Pedersen Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greenman-Pedersen CEO Christer Ericsson (no image)
Christer Ericsson
3 Ratings
  1. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Culture and People at all levels

    Cons

    Nothing but positive evaluations from management

    Advice to Management

    Communication

    Greenman-Pedersen2019-06-26
  2. "Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greenman-Pedersen full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunities for advancement and great benefits

    Cons

    No cons for this position

    Greenman-Pedersen2019-05-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Florida operations are a dumpster fire and corporate culture is not one you can thrive in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are AMAZING. Paying $5 copays on doctor visits and meds is fantastic these days. The 401K match is pretty great as well. You even get part of the company's earnings after being fully vested but that doesn't pay out til 6 years after you're gone (supposedly, who knows if I'll see that - especially after writing this). When they fire you, at least in the Tampa branch, they actually call it getting "laid... off" so you get the benefit of unemployment which was nice, I suppose. But with all these shiny distraction techniques you know there's got to be something REALLY ugly under the hood. And boy is there!

    Show More

    Cons

    This company is managed in a way that is not sustainable for the future. It will die out like the dinosaurs that run it. If you're under the age of 40, don't even bother applying. If you're in your 40's and you're a mediocre white male, by all means - go get on that ladder straight to the overpaid top where very little will be expected of you! Administrative staff is treated like disposable diapers, but like, really... FANCY and well-paid ones, so it's totally ok. Sexism - it's still a thing. The now-CEO, then-CMO, sent out a screen grab of the company on YouTube and forgot to take out his personally suggested up next playlist - lingerie football doesn't seem like it relates to engineering but who knows. My female supervisor was told to tell me (I'm female) not to be so "pushy" - she did nothing to defend that. Racism - take a look at the pay rates and levels of management across the company and you'll see some trends. Ageism - there's definitely a sweet spot that management appreciates, they'll kick ya out if you're too old or devalue your work if you're too young* (*if you're a woman). Overall in the Florida operations it's just tanking like a dumpster fire that's careening toward a gas station. Beware is my advice. Oh, and don't ask your boss about your bonus - you might just get fired like, 2 hours later. Not that I know from experience or anything.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let's not be threatened by anyone using the term "engineer" in their job titles. Follow the advice of the person who attends HR training, maybe then employees won't have to be "laid off" all the time. Keeping a branch manager on board who loses the entire company money, then giving them a bonus and a raise is quite possibly the most demoralizing thing to other employees. Well, the ones who KNOW (ya know, us lowly... admins). Also, writing a book on company time should not be compensated. Just sayin.

    Show More
    Greenman-Pedersen2019-02-08
  4. "Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great environment, great pay, great compensation

    Cons

    Sometimes getting information from local HR is not the best

    Greenman-Pedersen2018-11-08
  5. "Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Greenman-Pedersen full-time

    Pros

    good company culture, excellent benefits

    Cons

    no place to grow for senior marketing personnel

    Advice to Management

    professional development is not just for technical staff

    Greenman-Pedersen2018-07-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "GPI is a Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Babylon, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ESOP Company, great work environment, excellent benefits package, interesting / challenging projects

    Cons

    I'd like to see a suggestion box in our branch.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The changes you're making such as 401K profit sharing are very much appreciated by employees.

    Greenman-Pedersen2018-06-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Very toxic environement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits package- almost 21 days PTO

    Cons

    If you are getting hired as junior or entry level, get ready to work with the rudest people on earth than they don't do anything but disrespecting, bullying, and degrading you. They do not provide proper training and sometimes you gotta get trained over phone with another manager in another location! Worst experience ever.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider your behavior and attitude toward your new employees.

    Greenman-Pedersen2018-06-18
  8. "GPI Is A Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    ESOP, great benefits, competitive pay, ample PTO

    Cons

    None that are worth noting.

    Greenman-Pedersen2018-05-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Ostricized and blackballed after 15+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Outstanding benefits, including an ESOP Plan.

    Cons

    Unprincipled upper management, very cunning and condescending people.

    Advice to Management

    I am appalled by the decisions made based on lies and hearsay.

    Greenman-Pedersen2018-02-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Employee Owned-Employee Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenman-Pedersen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GPI is an employee-owned engineering firm that offers big company benefits in a small office environment. Growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Interoffice communications are sometimes lacking.

    Greenman-Pedersen2017-12-06
Found 44 reviews