Greenville Technical College Reviews | Glassdoor

Greenville Technical College Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Greenville Technical College CEO Keith Miller
Keith Miller
4 Ratings
  1. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greenville Technical College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A really great place to work!

    Cons

    No down sides that I can think of!

    Greenville Technical College2018-06-20
  2. "This is not a professional organization. Don’t waste your time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greenville Technical College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can’t think of any.

    Cons

    If you’re a professional who enjoys working with professionals in a professional environment.... while being compensated as a professional... don’t waste your time... you will be sorely disappointed with any time spent with this employer.

    Advice to Management

    I can’t think of anyone professional enough to even be able to interpret my recommendations and implement useful corrective actions.

    Greenville Technical College2019-08-11
  3. "Great place to work if you don't need the money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Greenville Technical College full-time

    Pros

    GTC faculty and staff are wonderful!

    Cons

    Salaries are low and increases are very rare - unless you're an Associate Vice President or higher. Salary increases are substantial and occur frequently at that level.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees the way you would want to be treated. Share the wealth!

    Greenville Technical College2019-04-03
  4. "Lab Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Coordinator in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Greenville Technical College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to help people in their education

    Cons

    Pay not very high, hours limited

    Greenville Technical College2018-10-26
  5. "Good Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Greenville Technical College full-time

    Pros

    Good working hours and flexibility of schedule

    Cons

    Stagnant salary, slow promotion and no opportunity for growth

    Greenville Technical College2018-05-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Adjunct instructor, Developmental English"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greenville Technical College full-time

    Pros

    The students, when they are mature enough to be in a college classroom, are great.

    Cons

    Absolute nightmare of assistant department head. Bullying. Rampant cronyism and racism.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the good old girls. Set up a work psychologist to find the bullies and fire them.

    Greenville Technical College2018-06-12
  7. "Current Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greenville Technical College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big on Family time off, Generous time off and sick time

    Cons

    Mandatory 9% retirement contribution but salary does not pay coincide. Need higher pay.

    Advice to Management

    Higher starting salaries, in conjunction with the mandatory 9% retirement contribution. Also more hours accumulation based on a monthly salary, ie. GHS gives you 6.77 for every 80 hrs. worked. Which we had something similar here at Greenville Technical College.

    Greenville Technical College2018-05-09
  8. "Overall okay but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greenville Technical College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed helping people move forward in their careers or education. Having half days on Fridays was a big perk.

    Cons

    My biggest issues were benefits (state benefits are not great). I came from the nonprofit world and I actually had a higher salary and better benefits there than with the state plan. Also, the culture in my department was very standoffish. I came from a much more welcoming environment.

    Greenville Technical College2018-05-02
  9. "Financial Aid Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant/Tax Preparer in Greenville, SC
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Greenville Technical College part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Assisting students/parents over the phone with finalizing there paper work for financial aid assistance.

    Cons

    Students waiting until the last day to try and get funding, instead of preparing ahead.

    Advice to Management

    I suggested that a deadline be set for students to have their paperwork submitted by that deadline, in order to begin taking classes.

    Greenville Technical College2018-01-03
  10. "Part-Time Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Greenville Technical College part-time

    Pros

    Friendly Staff to work with

    Cons

    State run facility=LOTS of red tape

    Greenville Technical College2017-12-17
Found 36 reviews