Greenville Utilities Reviews | Glassdoor

Greenville Utilities Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greenville Utilities CEO Ron Elks (no image)
Ron Elks
4 Ratings
  1. "Opportunities Await"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undisclosed 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    GUC takes great pride in their work. Commitments to safety and customer service are equally shared as the number one priorities.

    Cons

    The company is growing and many are eligible to retire. This means opportunity and sometimes unique challenges. It's worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on supporting cultural change within the company. Our future depends on it.

    Greenville Utilities2019-12-07
  2. "The place to be for great opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greenville Utilities full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, great benefits.

    Cons

    None there are no real cons.

    Advice to Management

    There are no advice other than figuring out how or why?

    Greenville Utilities2019-09-18
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greenville Utilities

    Pros

    Excellent experience, great pay and great co-workers

    Cons

    Nothing really comes to mind.

    Greenville Utilities2018-02-27
  4. "1st class lineman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and paid time off

    Cons

    Lots of new faces and a lot of upper management retiring soon

    Advice to Management

    Care more for employees. We feel like we have no say so

    Greenville Utilities2018-02-16
  5. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Winterville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great promotion opportunities

    Cons

    Some old school management techniques difficult to manage

    Advice to Management

    New Management team is in the future

    Greenville Utilities2017-01-08
  6. "Good company overall, must be patient to move up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, laid back environment, and company is growing.

    Cons

    People retire well past their minimum retirement age and that creates little upward mobility. The good old boy network is in play. Recognition is hard to come by.

    Advice to Management

    Identify employees with potential and do what's needed to ensure they stay.

    Greenville Utilities2016-04-05
  7. "Staff Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities

    Pros

    Great place to work. Everyone works together and is very helpful. Greenville Utilities cares about their customers as well as their employees.

    Cons

    20 word minimum may be too much .I have 0 cons. It is an awesome place to work

    Greenville Utilities2016-01-19
  8. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good organization. They try to take care of the employees with benefits, on-site clinic and health programs. The internal training is important, so they do emphasize going. A good sign of an organization is how long people stay and here their are many people that have been there for over 20 years. Even though the organization is a public entity, they do have their own board and do not report directly to the local... government per the charter from congress.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are silos within the different operational groups. They do not appear to talk and often duplicate processes. Waste of resources in many cases. Many people have been there a long time, causing issues with new innovations.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to move the company forward and bring down the walls between departments.

    Greenville Utilities2015-08-06
  9. "Business Analyst Student Worker/PMO Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst Student Worker/PMO Intern in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nice clean office environment - Plenty of work - Never a dull moment

    Cons

    I don't not notice any

    Greenville Utilities2014-03-19
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greenville Utilities

    Pros

    Great place to work. Very good environment and the people are to notch. Perfect blend of a government organization and public organization.

    Cons

    The staff and management is slow to adopt change. This can be positive at times and at others draining. I like it.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Greenville Utilities2009-07-14
Found 10 reviews