KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Grey Group

Part of WPP
Engaged Employer

Grey Group

Add a Review

Grey Group Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 619 of over 786 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Grey Group Global Chief Executive Officer   Michael Houston
Michael Houston
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Comfortable environment, great people to work with(in 31 reviews)

  • "Cool work environment, helpful colleagues, opportunity to do great work(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Intern program needed to be a bit more organized, long hours(in 46 reviews)

  • "No work- life-balance at some position(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good place

      Apr 28, 2021 - Planning 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work and some big opportunities

      Cons

      big agency, easy to get lost in the mix

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic and Unwilling to Change

      Jun 2, 2021 - Creative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good amount of people that I worked with were talented and kind

      Cons

      I was promised work/life balance when I joined on. This was the most imbalanced workplace I've ever experienced in my ten years in advertising. Whenever I would turn to my managers for help or support in regards to the unrelenting workload, I was told "This is just what you sign up for when you work in advertising." On top of that, my ECD was a totally disrespectful, and incompetent. He literally vaped during meetings, and would say inappropriate/insensitive things constantly. He was almost always late to a meeting or not pay attention during meetings and then ask us to begin explaining or presenting again. We asked for more support countless times. And we were promised that we would get it in the form of new hires to join our team. That never happened. There are certain team members that succumbed to a sort of toxic positivity too. There's a really bad "It is what it is" mentality, even when everyone's health, both mental and physical, is taking a toll from the insane amount of work that was expected of us. I can honestly say that this was the worst work experiences of my life and I'm so relieved to be done with this place.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful

      Jun 22, 2021 - Junior Art Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Centered on teamwork and supporting our growth

      Cons

      slow to climb the ladder

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work, but not great at compensating employees

      May 28, 2021 - Senior CopyWriter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fun culture - Amazing people (everyone is nice) - Good work/life balance

      Cons

      - They refuse to give raises until they are literally about to lose the employee. If you do get a raise, it will not be significant or in line with the responsibilities you take on or the value you bring. When you ask for a raise, they string you along for a long time like they're "fighting" to get you the money but it rarely happens.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Producer

      May 18, 2021 - Producer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of great people really cool work

      Cons

      work/life balance can be stressful at time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall a Great Agency

      Apr 23, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent health and wellness leadership, and equally talented creative While Team dependent, I had opportunity for professional development and mentorship - made great relationships

      Cons

      Regular agency issues, like minimal work life balance Project Management Department seems a bit unorganized, and noticed quick employee burnout

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Company

      Mar 22, 2021 - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The onboarding process was very smooth and the company is excellent in providing training. Everyone is kind and respectful. The company has amazing values and an excellent atmosphere. They have great benefits and support career growth. Company truly cares about the employees well-being and provides a warm culture.

      Cons

      I been working here for almost a month and have no cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Burnt Out, Exhausted and Grasping for air

      Apr 5, 2021 - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -the office location -working remote the past year -some of the people were really great

      Cons

      -Zero work life balance, and you don't get to order food if you work past a certain point, during the summer I was pulling 16-18 hour days and I wasn't allowed to expense take out -Your success really depends on the account you're on plus your team and manager which you can't control, if you don't have someone looking out for you that is a title like SVP or EVP you are just a pawn depending on where finances can support your role since things are constantly changing -I had to move teams 4 times during my 3 years of working there AND each time I had to start over since it was a new team, new client, new product etc. Basically it was as if I was starting a new job so no matter what I did on my previous account it didn't matter as there is no plan with management to help transition to ensure growth/proper merit and monetary compensation based on previous experience AT THE AGENCY is NOT considered. JUST BE VERY CAUTIOUS, this doesn't happen to everyone BUT you have no way to control this and it's very frustrating to have to stay the same title/role because you have to keep starting over at no fault to you -EVERY single decision is made by how the company can save a dollar, I think this has to do with WPP overall, I know someone senior who met the founder once and the first question the founder asked was "What's the rent/overhead cost on this space." NOT stuff like what do you envision for our corporation/what's working etc. LOL this should just give you an idea at the core how this company operates AND IT IMPACTS EVERYTHING -On the note above they outsource IT to another country and literally it can take weeks to get your computer fixed if you have an issue, you'll also have to spend numerous hours maybe even days trying to get help yet you're still expected to be able to do all your work. When you try to raise your hand your SVP/EVP deals with the same thing and has no answer, when you try to bring it up in your group department meetings the head of the department says to go to your SVP/EVP to escalate and the rig-a-marol continues -HONESTLY I could go on.... and my main thing is I think there really isn't an impactful mission driving the work you do which may be a more personal thing but keep that in mind if it's important to you

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Mar 31, 2021 - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful people to work with and you can learn a lot!

      Cons

      Long hours from both Grey and client

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic coworkers, mediocre HR

      Feb 16, 2021 - Senior CopyWriter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love almost everyone I work with here, and it's exciting that there are so many open briefs and cool things always happening.

      Cons

      There's very little transparency or consistency in the raise or promotion cycles, except that they never happen together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 619 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Grey Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grey Group? Share Your Experiences

    Grey Group logo
    or