Greyhound Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Greyhound Canada Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Greyhound Canada CEO Dave Leach
Dave Leach
2 Ratings
  1. "Area manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greyhound Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent senoir management with good communication and transperancy

    Cons

    Wages on lower end of spectrum

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the excellent communication

    Greyhound Canada2019-04-09
  2. "I haven't any experience at grayhound Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Taxi Driver in Tbilisi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greyhound Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like car driving and i can drive car all day long

    Cons

    I can't see any cons

    Advice to Management

    Senior i need help i need work and i trust you please help me

    Greyhound Canada2019-03-24
  3. "Firstgroup lost touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Greyhound Canada

    Pros

    Decent money good benefits aswell

    Cons

    First group lost touch with the grass roots

    Advice to Management

    There none left.

    Greyhound Canada2018-11-13
  4. "Be your own boss!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greyhound Canada full-time

    Pros

    No one looking over your shoulder. Good pay. The best view from any office window.

    Cons

    Shift work. Spareboard to start. Working nights and holidays.

    Greyhound Canada2018-08-31
  5. "Courier express"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courier Express in Coquitlam, BC

    I worked at Greyhound Canada for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty relaxed atmosphere. Management easy to get along with.

    Cons

    Seniority in union takes a long time to climb.

    Greyhound Canada2017-05-12
  6. "Overall, it was a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Express Clerk in Coquitlam, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greyhound Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Kind and compassionate managers -Good pay for little education -Co-workers can be helpful at times -Extra pay for working after a certain time -Steel toe boot cost reimbursed -Unionized --Flexible and accommodating, if a day off is needed, just ask and it can usually happen.

    Cons

    -Physically challenging/repetitive -Loud (machines and conveyer belts) -Some co-workers can also be unhelpful at times -No full time work for many positions, so if needed, look elsewhere -Dealing with some sketchy individuals

    Advice to Management

    Some cosmetic work on buildings would do wonders. Fix AC's and heaters in a timely fashion. Offer some sort of customer service classes to employees dealing with the public, it might help.

    Greyhound Canada2017-01-25
  7. "Maintenance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Greyhound Canada for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money, people, location, fun, safety

    Cons

    Being run by the united states who have no clue how to run a Canadian company

    Advice to Management

    Buy some new buses and fire some of the old thinking managers

    Greyhound Canada2016-05-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Get off the bus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator-Bus Driver in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Greyhound Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Health Benefits are ok -AOMs care about employees -pay is highest in the industry..........for now

    Cons

    -Old falling apart equipment -Upper management very uncaring - does not care nor do anything about moral. -high stress due to management caring MORE about ontime performance & freight rather than customer service -waiting until the last possible moment for changes in routes, times, locations and giving little to no warning/training -spareboard/on call (no life)

    Advice to Management

    Look at any pro sports team and other corporations in the world, if said companies or sports franchises have 10+ seasons/years of losing, they replace the entire management, including the president. Maybe it's time Greyhound does the same

    Greyhound Canada2016-05-23
  9. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Greyhound Canada

    Pros

    Employee discount for travel and sending packages, discount extended to immediate family

    Cons

    Union Environment, the employees only care about themselves and never the customer. Management have been with the company since forever and do not realize things do not run the way they did in 1970. It's a boys club, women will never hold a Management position.

    Advice to Management

    It is 2015, management and people skills need to be updated. Clean house, hire new staff.

    Greyhound Canada2015-12-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Greyhound Canada

    Pros

    driving people nothing nothing . nothing , nothing and NOTHING

    Cons

    log books dinosaur company pay grumpy old men no routes 1950 style company

    Advice to Management

    get some new blood in management not 40 year veterans. they have no clue about the 2000's the 50's called they want their men back!

    Greyhound Canada2015-05-12
Found 14 reviews