Greystar "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Greystar Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefits and they take care of their employees(in 124 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for because the starting pay can be really nice with the bonuses(in 56 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Loads of Benefits and great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Greystar offers great paths to promotion internally if you show the interest and initiative.

    Cons

    Work/life balance in the lease-up world is less than great, but this is to be expected with the work load.

    Greystar2019-11-13
  2. "Love Greystar!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Community Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Work/life balance -Awesome benefits-Greystar added more benefits this year including additional paid time off. Low cost to free health care! -Growth Opportunities -Promotes from within - Values team members -Training opportunities-you can always learn more even if it is not tied to your specific job title -Properties all over the world-you can transfer pretty much anywhere!

    Cons

    -Housing Discount to team members only applies if you live at your ownership property (not any Greystar property).

    Greystar2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits, Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Greystar really values their employees which is evident with everything they do to promote a work life balance. They offer generous paid time off, and low to no cost medical benefits. Greystar is the largest property management company in the world but they make me feel seen and appreciated.

    Cons

    Would love to see an end of year/holiday party for all staff in each regionals portfolio to help build relationships within our group.

    Greystar2019-10-04
  4. "Good Company with Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Greystar has lots of good benefits to offer with health and PTO. I also like that they encourage employees to participate in company events and learning seminars

    Cons

    Biggest con is work life balance needs to be practiced and people sometimes are spread too thin when they should have a bigger staff onsite.

    Advice to Management

    1 person per 100 units rule of thumb does not always work.

    Greystar2019-10-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Industry Leader in Numbers, Not Employee Satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing and Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company so there is structure, opportunity, and support

    Cons

    Work-life balance Low pay compared to other PM companies Low rent discount compared to other PM companies, and varies by property Awful commission structure Bigger is not always better

    Advice to Management

    Revise pay structure. A manager role should not be making comparable salary to Leasing Consultants. Revise commission structure. Why are we making $10 commission on a lease worth $15,000? Invest in the staff and properties at your money-making complexes. My complexes lease quickly, perform well, and bring in $800,000 a month and receive little recognition, bonuses, etc. We are hard-working employees and more... than just numbers.

    Show More
    Greystar2019-09-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Beyond Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    With having worked for other large organizations, I never expected the opportunity to have a voice. Leaders truly care about your thoughts on projects and how to implement ideas! They are also heavily focused on work life balance. Working for Greystar has exceeded my expectations!

    Cons

    Always keeping up with current trends can be challenging for updating processes and keeping everyone on the same page.

    Greystar2019-09-03
  7. "Greystar is a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growing, entrepreneurial company; challenging and rewarding work; great people; fast-paced but has work life balance; focus on innovation; leadership development focus

    Cons

    No one is perfect, sometimes the company moves too fast (i think it is exciting and have learned to raise my hand when i need to).

    Greystar2019-09-03
  8. "Constant fire fighting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Greystar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company, room for advancement and mobility

    Cons

    Work life balance is a joke and you're always fighting fires with knee jerk reactions from the leaders.

    Greystar2019-09-10
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, vast amount of experienced employees, good work-life balance, really feels like the company cares about me.

    Cons

    Promotions start to get tighter the higher up you go, but great pay.

    Greystar2019-08-19
  10. "Company for Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greystar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Greystar really cares about people. They have an excellent leadership development track, just increased their benefits and works hard to provide work/life balance. I know this is the company for me for life and so appreciate the senior leaderships focus on people and culture!

    Cons

    Greystar is a busy company. Some people cannot handle this but it is a reality of our size/3rd party. You just need to speak up when you feel overwhelmed and also take responsibility in how to manage your time. As long as you speak up you will do great!

    Greystar2019-08-19
Found 113 reviews