KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Grist

Is this your company?

Grist

Add a Review

Grist Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
41%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Grist CEO Brady Piñero Walkinshaw
Brady Piñero Walkinshaw
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome Org w/ Great Career Advancement Opps

    Dec 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    (1) Grist's CEO Brady Walkinshaw has transformed Grist in a lot of positive ways over the past two years. He did a lot of impressive and critical work to steady the ship, and more recently has charted an ambitious path forward for the organization that he built staff buy-in and excitement around. (2) The culture at Grist encourages participation and leadership from the bottom up; anyone can speak up with a great idea and not only be heard but be empowered to act. This has been increasingly evident over the last 18 months and is a trend everyone at the team is excited about and is encouraging. (3) Benefits and compensation have improved and are now very competitive in the media landscape as well as the environmental nonprofit landscape. (4) Grist has hired so, so well over the last year. The standards for talent have increased in a fantastic way. It's awesome to look around every day and be blown away by your colleagues. (5) Grist has embarked upon DEIJ work over the past year, which has been heartening and has seen a high rate of participation among the staff. We have made leaps and bounds as an organization on this over the past 2 years. There's more work to be done, but we're headed in a good direction on this and it's great to see authentic buy-in from all levels of the organization.

    Cons

    No major cons to speak of, honestly. A lot of the issues mentioned in previous glassdoor reviews have been resolved, though of course there's always room to keep improving and Grist is focused on doing so.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dynamic and fast-paced, but increasingly an organized and super professional place to work People at grist really, really care about climate and justice issues — and covering them well Great leadership

    Cons

    Work life balance has gotten blurrier during the pandemic - but where isn’t that true

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Passionate and friendly

    Dec 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work at Grist are wonderful. They are kind, friendly, smart, and passionate about the work that they do. Brady, the new CEO, is inspiring and ambitious. The company is growing in a positive direction and responding to employee needs. They are directly addressing the negative reviews on this site.

    Cons

    Since it is still growing, structure and resource management can be an issue. At times, it's frustrating to feel there's a lack of communication between departments. Sorely in need of project managers.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Editorial

    Nov 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm really impressed with how Grist seems to have transformed as an organization in a relatively short amount of time. I had great access to board members and saw the CEO respond very quickly to employee requests re: improving benefits. Environment feels really positive and the work is exciting and challenging.

    Cons

    A good chunk of the staff is remote, so it's not as social as other orgs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    We're moving forward

    Apr 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone at Grist is a brilliant, hard-working individual passionate about their work. There are no slackers that I've encountered, and everyone generally likes their job. - We get to do some really awesome work. The Grist brand is know by a passionate (albeit small) group of people passionate about environmentalism, so we mean something special to those people. - Work/life balance is great. People generally work 9 to 5 with after-hours work very rarely for special projects. Vacation and sick time are about average.

    Cons

    A lot of the previous negative reviews are true, but there should be some context. We just went through a round of layoffs (which is extremely unfortunate) but not something out of the ordinary for a media company. Grist is in a time of great transition, a new vision and mission, a new CEO, and a large fundraising push. While I agree with a lot of the critiques by employees whom were let go, I'm confident that we are headed in the right direction. To the diversity/equity problem at Grist, it's something a group of employees are very passionate about. Our new CEO is also passionate about this, so I'm hopeful we will see more action behind this.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Well-meaning but deeply flawed organization

    Mar 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's great flexibility in terms of hours and working remotely as needed, which helps with work-life balance. Many of the staffers are talented and genuinely nice people.

    Cons

    The leadership is full of white men and they talk about diversity and equality but don't walk the walk. Women are not treated or paid equally with men. People of color often don't feel supported and the few that are hired don't tend to stick around long. The leadership flails about constantly, having endless meetings and discussions about mission and vision, and the game plan shifts dramatically every year or even every few months. The leadership tends to micromanage. Pay is great for the people at the very top (and for outside consultants) and poor for everyone else. The founder makes snap judgments about employees and if he doesn't like them he tries to make them unhappy enough that they'll quit or he outright fires them or lays them off. That's just one of many factors leading to tons of turnover.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Grist

    May 15, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the best part about working at Grist. Sadly in the time I have been there, many people have left.

    Cons

    The turnover rate is extremely high. The management and the overall running of the company is unorganized. The "vision" is constantly being discussed and updated much to the chagrin of the non-managerial staff. There is also a massive gap in pay and treatment of managers vs non-managers, including but not limited to Grist paying for transportation and furnished apartments in the most expensive neighborhood in Seattle for management staff who only live there a few days out of the week. Grist is very negligent about hiring people of color and the staff is 99% white, despite a lot of talk about being diverse and inclusive.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Tremendous Intentions, The Best Intentions

    Apr 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For the right person, Grist is a fun place to work. The work/life balance is great, and employees are generally friendly, committed, and good for a laugh. The magazine occupies an interesting space in journalism - sort of like the communications arm of a non-profit. It offers an outlet for mission-centric work.

    Cons

    Grist is kinda the Rachel Dolezal of environmentalism. It aspires to center environmental justice and organizational equity, but these things just aren't in its DNA. I think the toxicity comments in other reviews here are broadly true. During my time at Grist, I watched a lot of strong writers lose confidence in their own writing because of conflicting/shifting editorial standards and warped incentive structures. The organization's mission/vision was reworked so many times it failed to mean anything. Senior management is masterful and generous with the non-apologetic 'we think that's important and it's something we're working on'. When I think about Grist, I feel tired. It was unclear whose words and ideas mattered.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great people, lousy leadership, no transparency

    Apr 1, 2013 - Editorial in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Grist's best asset is its people. It's a fun, lively place to work. It feels good working for a nonprofit doing cool, progressive stuff.

    Cons

    For how small it is, Grist can sure be dysfunctional. C-level staff don't communicate vision beyond vague brushstrokes. Mid-level management is well-intentioned yet ultimately ineffective. Turnover is high. Major shifting of gears occurs, seemingly at the whim of outside consultants, without much warning. Pay is low. All of this breeds resentment and failure to keep talented people who have fled for more stable pastures.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A bad experience

    Mar 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some amazing people that work at Grist – not just in editorial, but also across several departments.

    Cons

    During my time there, Grist made eight additional hires. Despite a lot of buzzwords like diversity, equity, and justice, all eight hires were white people. Some of the staffers made my time there intolerable as a person of color. For example, an editor casually said the n-word (the whole actual word) to me during a conversation. Another time, an editor posted a racist gif that was later taken down without explanation or apology to the staff or to the readers. On a different occasion, I had an editor explain to me that they "felt like a person of color at heart," in response to my describing the lack of diversity at the organization as a unique challenge for me. Meanwhile, my ability to communicate in the English language was called into question on several occasions by at least two different editors. I also found out that there was no use in me complaining. After the executive editor attempted to explain to me why it was sometimes acceptable to call indigenous peoples "savages," I complained to the president. I was laid off two months later.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Popular Careers with Grist Job Seekers

Director of Innovation and Growth
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Grist? Share Your Experiences

Grist logo
or