Grocery Outlet Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Grocery Outlet Co-CEO's Eric Lindberg/ MacGregor Read (no image)
Eric Lindberg/ MacGregor Read
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, Schedule, Friendly Employees, Work Environment(in 13 reviews)

  • "The grocery industry is a great place to work and I enjoyed my time at Grocery Out Let(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "No benefits even if you are working full time(in 19 reviews)

  • "Regular staff make minimum wage; Department Leads and Managers only make(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive, fun, information sharing, educational, supportive environment. Everyone cares about your success and go out of their way to assist and support in any way. As a new employee, my experience has been seamless and successful.

    Cons

    Not a reflection on Grocery Outlet, but working remotely due to Corona virus.

    Grocery Outlet2020-04-29
  2. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time

    Pros

    Good customer service the best

    Cons

    None everything was very nice

    Continue reading
    Grocery Outlet2020-05-19
  3. "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Haba Manager in Ontario, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with scheduling, time off always approved, good management and co-workers.

    Cons

    Low wages for work performed.

    Grocery Outlet2020-05-11
  4. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Petaluma, CA

    I worked at Grocery Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management team, attentive towards customer service, and always treated me well!

    Cons

    I honestly have no complaints!

    Grocery Outlet2020-04-17
  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers, non pretentious culture and benefits

    Cons

    Working weekends and nights, could sometimes be understaffed during busy periods

    Grocery Outlet2020-04-18
  6. "Was a great place to work for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Long hours, piles of work, hard to get any time off, system is as slow as a turtle, and constant meetings about the same things over and over again. More like ego boosters for the three handling this department.

    Continue reading
    Grocery Outlet2020-04-28
  7. "At first it was great but as the business grew it has become evident that the ceos do not retain a strong lead."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy work. Infact boring. Not rewarding. If you want to be apart of something bigger and organized this is not the place for you. If you are looking for something laid back, come aboard.

    Cons

    Pay and responsibilities are not accurately regulated. If youre an honest worker who wants accurate pay dont work here if you want to be over or under compensated this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Grocery Outlet2020-05-08
  8. "Why I love G.O."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Carson City, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's family owned and operated so everyone is real close and supportive

    Cons

    The pay isn't that great because they are a small store.

    Grocery Outlet2020-03-23
  9. "Great internship"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Emeryville, CA

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time

    Pros

    The leadership is very interested in developing skills and maintaining a strong culture

    Cons

    There are not a ton of in house options for food

    Grocery Outlet2020-03-21
  10. "Is a very nice company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker/Cashier in Everett, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you can move up with this company they will even show you the ways how to start your own business and open up your own grocery outlet

    Cons

    If you working for the right owners it is a very good company to work for I have anything negative to say

    Continue reading
    Grocery Outlet2020-03-08
Found 276 reviews