Grocery Outlet Reviews | Glassdoor

Grocery Outlet Reviews

Updated May 5, 2017
152 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Eric Lindberg/ MacGregor Read
67 Ratings

152 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • No benefits no raises no set schedule ur (in 11 reviews)

  • And who in this state can survive on minimum wage (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (5)

    "Great Hiring Experience!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Emeryville, CA
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I recently came on board at the Grocery Outlet corporate office in Emeryville. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the interview process. The initial video interview was a fresh way to screen and was fun to complete. The in-person interviews started on time and were focused on making sure we were a good fit rather than going over a list of tasks.

    After two weeks on the job, I realize the enjoyable process is a direct result of the corporate culture and tone set by the leadership of Grocery Outlet. I chose this company over others based on that "vibe" and am extremely happy. The people are friendly, helpful and fun to be around. This is a company that focuses on your strengths and provides support for a very successful team.

    Cons

    There has been rapid growth and we are experiencing growing pains. However, the company is addressing this by putting strategies in place for future growth.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to advance in technology and infrastructure to accommodate the planned future growth.

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Nov 4, 2016

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We take candidate experience very seriously. It is gratifying to know that your interview experience has continued into your employee experience. We are excited ... More


  2. "Loved it!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Orland, CA
    Current Employee - Cashier in Orland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - atmosphere
    - training
    - floor managers are great

    Cons

    Too cold sometimes, weird customers at times, but most of it is manageable. EBT card customers can be very picky at times.

    Advice to Management

    Team building activities


  3. "Operations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Company cares about their employees, upper leadership actually listens.

    Cons

    Can tend to have employees stretched in order to maximize productivity


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Been here a while now"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Modesto, CA
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have been with this company over 20 years now. There are a lot of us with over 20 years. This company provides a stable platform to allow me to do what I need to do. I have watched this company grow and I know that my position will always be here. There will be no cutting departments. No lay offs without merit. This is a stable company that will do nothing but grow.

    Cons

    The only con that I can think of is the loss of the family feeling that this company had when it was smaller. It is now a corporation. before it was a company with a family feeling.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work


  6. "Co-workers are the one beauty."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bend, OR
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bend, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers, teamwork, humor, Hours, Startpay

    Cons

    Teamwork, Stress, Responsibility Avoidance, Pettiness.

    Advice to Management

    I do not know current management. Good job on appearance of store, and investing in what you own.

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Apr 11, 2017 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Our stores are independently owned and operated. We have passed along your feedback to the store's management team.


  7. "Awesome Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Hayward, CA
    Former Employee - Manager in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Opportunities for Advancement, Fun Atmosphere, rewarding

    Cons

    Very physical at times, negative aspects of customer service

    Advice to Management

    Encourage Employees to continue to seek personal development

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Vice President of Human Resources

    We're glad you had such a good experience working at a Grocery Outlet store. We will pass along the good news to the independent store owner/operator.


  8. "Mixed bag"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atascadero, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atascadero, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours with school or other jobs, privately owned, free food after it passes date sometimes.

    Cons

    Receiving my schedule less than 24 hours in advance each week consistently, so being unable to plan anything, even though inward not hired as on call. Privately owned so you may get people who have no idea how to run a business, hire, train or manage, like I did. Not only were we short staffed the entire 7 months I worked there, but they expected other employees to do way more than is reasonable to make up for their lack of help. I wasn't properly trained but ran departments, trained another employee and was even asked to keep up on yet another department because the people working it weren't doing it properly...as if I had time to run the entire store for them, and for minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Get better help, stop taking advantage of your employees who are actually capable and playing petty control games. You get what you give. Good luck

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to give feedback. We're sorry that you didn't have a better experience working in a Grocery Outlet store. Our stores are independently owned and operated, so we will be ... More


  9. "Red Flag, Stay away don't put your career search at waste"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Emeryville, CA
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Nothing I can find

    Cons

    Too many to list here...

    Advice to Management

    No future here ....Company new directions...

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Vice President of Human Resources

    We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a more positive experience during your 3-years at Grocery Outlet. We would like to be able to address concerns directly, but without more detail as to why ... More


  10. "Cashier's perspective"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hanover, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hanover, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grocery Outlet (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Owner is flexible and accommodating with employee's schedules.

    Cons

    Favoritism towards dayshift employees and no set rules on return policies, employee call outs, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Set rules and standards for all employess and actually follow through with them and have a disicplinary means in effect.

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Jan 30, 2017

    Thanks for your post, we are glad you are enjoying your experience in our stores. I will let the independent operator in Hanover, PA know of your feedback.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Threatening, uncomfortable and unprofessional."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Lynnwood, WA
    Former Employee - Cashier in Lynnwood, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grocery Outlet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It probably would have been a great place to work if not for the complete lack of professionalism and any desire to help new employees feel welcomed, wanted and secure.

    Cons

    No clear or concise leader, no training program and no parameters keeping the one doing the training in check. Half way thru the shift of my first day, the assoc. I was working with informed me the owner told her it was up to her that at the end of the day whether or not I was to be kept on.

    Advice to Management

    Don't set your new employees up to fail.
    Give current ones specifics on proper training.
    Allow new employees to finish the first week before drawing what are most likely erroneous opinions of them. Give them the opportunity to impress you, undoubtedly a motivating factor to them.

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Vice President of Human Resources

    We're sorry that you didn't have a better experience working at a Grocery Outlet store. Our stores are independently owned and operated. We will let the store owner/operator know of your ... More


Showing 152 of 155 reviews
Reset Filters