KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Grocery Outlet

Engaged Employer

Grocery Outlet

Add a Review

Grocery Outlet Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 548 of over 574 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Grocery Outlet CEO Eric Lindberg
Eric Lindberg
213 Ratings

Featured Divisions of Grocery Outlet

See all divisions

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay; you're suck forever as Cashier(in 41 reviews)
  • "The management is poor and you get yelled at for things that either aren’t your fault or things you weren’t even trained for.(in 37 reviews)
  • "Doesn't allow employees to work full time (no benefits)(in 32 reviews)
  • "Store owners and managers do not give employees any credit for their outstanding performance even when it is pointed out by customers.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Short staffed, no call outs, minimum wage is $13(in 10 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Grocery Outlet and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    5.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing

    Jul 6, 2022 - Grocery Outlet in Tulare, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing co workers, fun environment

    Cons

    Pay isn’t the best Cashier isn’t the funest job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. Grocery Outlet - Corporate | Division of Grocery Outlet
    5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Jun 29, 2022 - Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place of employment for all ages.

    Cons

    The pay is not always the greatest.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place

    Jun 29, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great management and amazing co-workers

    Cons

    Very low pay compared to other places.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Employment

    Jun 26, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours management very nice and respectful.

    Cons

    Pays minimum wage only No medical benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Cashier. We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with us and that you felt appreciated throughout your time at work! As you know, our stores are independently owned and operated. I would encourage you to reach out to your store’s independent owner to share more about your experience. Best of luck in your career endeavors!

  5. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    4.0
    Former Employee

    Love my Job!! (Owners need to care more)

    Jun 27, 2022 - Grocery Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Equal opportunity for everyone to grow.

    Cons

    Choosing and training better candidates for store owners.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Store Manager. As you know, our stores are independently owned and operated. I would encourage you to reach out to your store’s independent owner to share more about your experience. Best of luck in your career endeavors!

  6. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Expected work everyday

    Jun 19, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Concord, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You know what to expect Working here.

    Cons

    It's easy to get stuck working for this company forever

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Cashier. We're glad to hear you had a positive experience with us! We work to foster a family friendly environment. As you know, our stores are independently owned and operated. I would encourage you to reach out to your store’s independent owner to share more about your experience. Best of luck in your career endeavors!

  7. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    3.0
    Former Employee

    Decent job

    Jul 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good staff, clear scheduling

    Cons

    Repetitive, short lunch, heavy lifting at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    4.0
    Former Employee

    Cashier

    Jun 14, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cash bonus, dealing with customers

    Cons

    Hard, physical, Hot and some mean customers

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Sales Associate. As you know, our stores are independently owned and operated. I would encourage you to reach out to your store’s independent owner to share more about your experience. Best of luck in your career endeavors!

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    LC

    Jun 27, 2022 - Learning Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collaborative work, friendly environment and room for future expansion

    Cons

    Hiring process and initial pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Learning Coach. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the working environment. We pride ourselves in everyone feeling like "family" here! Please feel free to reach out to me directly in order to discuss the hiring process more in detail: 510-381-0879.

  10. Grocery Outlet - Stores | Division of Grocery Outlet
    3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It’s okay

    Jun 21, 2022 - Aot 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learn some cool new things

    Cons

    I’m store training is more like free labor for IOs

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Grocery Outlet Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an AOT. We're glad to hear you've had the chance to learn a lot in your new role with us and are excited to take on your next store. We understand the training process can be a lot and work to best prepare our AOT's to take on a store; supplying all of the tools they may need. We will be sure to pass along this feedback to the appropriate parties.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 548 Reviews

Grocery Outlet Reviews FAQs

Grocery Outlet has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 574 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at Grocery Outlet to a friend and 47% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Grocery Outlet employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Grocery Outlet. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

64% of Grocery Outlet employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Grocery Outlet 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Grocery Outlet to be career development, culture, coworkers and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, benefits, management.

Popular Careers with Grocery Outlet Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Grocery Outlet? Share Your Experiences

or

Grocery Outlet Careers

Cover image for Grocery Outlet

In 1946, Jim Read started selling military surplus for deep discounts in San Francisco and Grocery Outlet has been WOWing bargain-minded...More

  • Work at HQ
  • Philanthropy
  • Own a Store
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Grocery Outlet

1730 days ago

Grocery Outlet continued supporting the communities we serve with our Independence From Hunger® Food Drive campaign this past July. Our more than 270 Grocery Outlet stores partnered with a local food agency, directing support to the communities we serve. Working together with our great customers the stores raised over $1.0 million dollars. Thanks to all who supported this great cause.
Logo

Grocery Outlet

2558 days ago

Grocery Outlet has launched its 5th Annual Independence From Hunger® Food Drive today to donate food throughout July, traditionally a time when food agencies experience the greatest need to serve children who are off from school during the summer. According to the Food Research and Action Center, 6 out of 7 low-income kids who eat a free or reduced-price school lunch during the academic year do not get a free meal during the summer. (Source: Food Research and Action Center, Hunger Doesn't Take a Vacation: Summer Nutrition Status Report 2012).
See all

Grocery Outlet Photos

+ Add Photo
Grocery Outlet photo of: Grocery Outlet store
Grocery Outlet workplace photo
Grocery Outlet photo of: Love the team!
Grocery Outlet photo of: Kokoda Class
Grocery Outlet photo of: Halloween Party
Grocery Outlet photo of: Our CEO, Eric Lindberg
Grocery Outlet workplace photo
See All Photos