Groendyke Transport Employee Reviews about "dispatch"

Updated Aug 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 142 reviews

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Groendyke Transport Chairman and CEO John D. Groendyke (no image)
John D. Groendyke
80 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "every terminal doesnt have the great terminal managers such as i had.(in 7 reviews)
  • "FORCED to work days off due to management's inept scheduling.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Higher than average insurance(in 5 reviews)
  • "Department director without the skills and education to lead a corporate training department.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Shop and tank wash’s get HUGE bonus as Christmas time.(in 2 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Sexual Orientation

This rating reflects the overall rating of Groendyke Transport and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "dispatch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Decent pay new trucks

    Aug 15, 2019 - Local Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay if you’re willing to work ..flexible schedule.. new trucks

    Cons

    Benefits steadily getting worse ..switching to central dispatch and adding cameras inside cab ( then again every company is doing it)

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Groendyke Transport Response

    Communications and Brand Development Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. It’s great to know that your overall experience with Groendyke Transport has been positive. We also understand there are some challenges to overcome as we complete our transition to a centralized dispatch model. We are working through these, and once everything is completely in place, we believe you will see the benefits this model brings to all of us. As for the in-cab cameras, we have only begun a pilot of this technology to see if it’s the right fit for Groendyke at this time. We’ll have more information to share once the pilot is complete. Finally, if you ever have concerns or questions, including how to navigate our benefits, feel free to contact our Talent Office at 580-234-4663. We’re always available to help and looking for ways to improve.

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Mixed feelings

    Aug 17, 2021 - Truck Driver in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    newer equipment, newer trailers, newer terminals

    Cons

    pay management dispatch home time driver-facing cameras governed at 65 mph

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Groendyke Transport Response

    Communications and Brand Development Manager

    Thank you for the review. It sounds like you have a lot of concerns, and we want to help. To do that, we’ll need more specifics about your situation and the issues you’re having. As a current employee, there are several ways to get the ball rolling. You can speak to your Terminal Manager, call 580-234-4663 and ask for a member of the Groendyke Talent Office, or call the anonymous ethics hotline at 1-855-467-3462. We hope to hear from you soon. Our goal is to make sure our drivers, and all our employees, are treated with respect and feel fulfilled in their careers.

  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Reality check

    Oct 24, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many improvements in the last couple years with the pay and benefits. Newer trucks and decent trailers.still a long way to go!

    Cons

    Central dispatch is not fulfilling the mandate to improve driver health and welfare which causes a lack of driver retention. And lower wages across the board.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Groendyke Transport Response

    Communications and Brand Development Manager

    Thank you for your candid comments. I can assure we are serious about taking care of our drivers and leading the industry. To that end, we’d like to address the issues you’ve been having. Before we can do so, we need more details to get a full understanding of your complaints. Please call your Driver Advocate or one of our Talent Office Specialists at 580-234-4663 to discuss, and we’ll be happy to help you.

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Driver

    Sep 20, 2017 - Truck Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, pay is decent could be alot better.

    Cons

    Favortism is a huge problem with this company. Certain drivers come in and cry and complain about their loads and dispatchers will pull loads off other drivers and give to them. Insurance is way too exoensive for such a big company. New drivers come in get assigned trucks and weekends off because they have a family member that works there. Company only seems to promote dispatchers and in order for a driver to get promoted to safety or assistant terminal manger or higher you have to be here for 10 plus years. If you habe to wait at a rack for a long time the hourly pay sucks bad when other companys went to hourly to help their drivers during time of crisis. VACATION AND SICK DAYS you will not see these until your first year is up which is total crap. There are numerous companies that will give you vacation the day you gey hiried or it will kick in after 90 days.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Groendyke Transport Response

    Communications and Brand Development Manager

    Thank you for your candid feedback. We really do appreciate hearing how our employees feel about the company, whether positive or negative. We also want to take action on their concerns. Some things we can change quickly, others take more time, and still others have broader concerns at work that may prevent us from making the suggested change. Still, we always make a genuine effort to help. Unfortunately, because this format is anonymous and many concerns don’t include full details, we honestly find it difficult to act solely on the information in a Glassdoor review. As a current employee, you have more productive channels at your disposal, such as addressing your concerns with terminal management or the Talent Office, that will allow us to work with you toward a solution. With full details and a professional discussion, we’re confident we can find a solution beneficial to all parties. Please help us start the conversation by calling 580-234-4663 to speak with a member of our Talent Office.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    This place is going to hell.

    Jun 4, 2016 - Dispatch 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your drivers are like family and if you are in the military they will hire you even if you have no experience at all

    Cons

    Where do I even start?! This place used to be an amazing place to work. Now they have a lack of good management. If you are a driver make sure you look at each and every pay check because if they can short you even just a dollar they will. Also don't expect any home time....they could care less about your family... Office staff are treated as if they can be replaced by the next John that walks in. If you are a female do not plan on going anywhere in this company. Dispatch is severely under paid and under appreciated. They don't understand that without a good Dispatch team you have nothing.. They hire military at extremely high salaries and those who have been there for a long time will be making less. It's ridiculous. A terminal with 6 drivers will make more as a dispatcher then one with 70. They don't appreciate anyone!!! The management is a joke!! Can you say power trip!? Sit down do your paperwork and collect your paycheck. The drivers can't stand the Tm and atms. They have no people skills and will cuss you out without even blinking an eye. Do not work for this company!!! You can go anywhere and make more and not deal with half the bs you do here I promise!!!!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Groendyke Transport Response

    Communications and Brand Development Manager

    It is very disappointing to hear how you feel about your experience at Groendyke Transport. I can assure you our company operates with the utmost of integrity, and we do not encourage or practice payroll fraud. We care greatly about our employees and their families and value each and every position, knowing that without just one piece, we would not be able to function. I can also assure you that Groendyke Transport has no glass ceiling. We have several female Vice Presidents and Terminal Managers, and we take pride in our diversity and inclusion efforts. Clearly your perception of Groendyke is to the contrary, and we would welcome an opportunity to discuss the details of your experience. If you would like to discuss this with us, please call 580-234-4663 and ask for a member of the Groendyke Talent Office. We always welcome feedback as an opportunity to improve.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Micromanage extreme

    Dec 4, 2013 - Class A CDL Driver/HazMat Tanker in Enid, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GTI is a good company if you work in any division except for crude oil They take great care of there equipment and put saftey above common sence and push it to the point of stupidity.

    Cons

    Terminal managers treat there drivers like little children that havent the sence to come in out of the rain. Its nothing to be trucking on dry roads and get a call to find a safe place to park. And be told by a guy whos only trucking experience was a tonka toy growing up. If you haul crude oil be prepared to work for half price the going industry rate...its pretty sad when a company this big and hasnt but one old dinosaur that drums up business.. the dispatchers here play more games than fisher price if your not kissing were they sit you will sit all week in elk city they love the favorite game nothing at all fair about dispatch. Advancement in this company is not happening.. I feel sorry for guys who put in 20 years here I know I hope I'm not doing this in 20 years.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people, reliable equipment.

    Nov 6, 2015 - Fuel Delivery Driver in Grand Junction, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Home every night 95% of the time. Reliable workload and safe working conditions. High level of responsibility is necessary if you like being part of a team of drivers that are true professionals.

    Cons

    Sometimes workload can be exhausting and troublesome but when I worked there, the shop manager was replaced and equipment became much better and more reliable. Not all terminals are managed well, but I had a fantastic manager and head dispatcher.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Found a good, solid place to call home.

    Sep 4, 2013 - Petroleum Dispatch in Wichita, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced, always changing job. Keeps you on your toes, and no 2 days are ever the same. Great Corporate mentality, Good pay & benefits. Room to grow.

    Cons

    Poor training program for Dispatch. Play pass the trainee around, instead of training with same person in the beginning. Very confusing to trainees, since we all do our jobs differently

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    So far so good

    Feb 13, 2017 - Class A CDL Driver/HazMat Tanker in Tulsa, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coming out of the oilfield to driving a truck was different. They tend to help me out with my on going family issues. Equipment for most part is in good condition.

    Cons

    Dispatch can be a joke. Don't know if they look at time or the fact do they know how fast we can drive. I should not be expected to do their job and my also. Would like to keep from having to dead head empty so many times. It's does not help me or Groendyke.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Groendyke Transport Response

    Communications and Brand Development Manager

    It's great to hear things are going well for you so far. As for your concerns with dispatch, we can certainly see where the situation you've described can be frustrating. We're always looking for opportunities to improve, so I would encourage you to contact your Region Director to discuss the situation. If you have any issues, we are here to help. If you'd like, you can also call 580-234-4663 and ask for a member of the Groendyke Talent Office.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pretty good company

    Oct 8, 2016 - Fuel Delivery Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ok pay, family feel, flexible, open door, decent benefits, solid customer base, steady year round.

    Cons

    Favoritism, high turnover in dispatch, stagnant pay scale

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with Groendyke Transport Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Groendyke Transport? Share Your Experiences

or