Grosvenor Casinos Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Grosvenor Casinos Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
30%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Grosvenor Casinos CEO  John O’Reilly
John O’Reilly
2 Ratings
  1. "Constant Cut backs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casino Manager in Leeds, England

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wage, Good team members, Nothing else

    Cons

    Hours Constant cut backs from head office

    Advice to Management

    A company on the way down

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-12-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be good but went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff used to work there

    Cons

    Low Pay Low Freedom All perks were taken away

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-10-08
  3. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casino Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Development Career progression Good team works

    Cons

    Cuts in the business have really limited the service we can deliver.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the team and the managers...it would be wise to!

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-08-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Walsall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Poor wages. No respect or recognition. Long unsociable hours. No rewards. Verbal and physical abuse off customers. Your vehicle will be broke into.

    Advice to Management

    Leave.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-22
  5. "Great work force"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, people, Hours, values, food

    Cons

    Support Office, Brand, People, Moral

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Conditions for staff getting worse and worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Salaries frozen, redundancies, company squeezing more and more work out of those who are left. Staff morale at rock bottom and not always possible to get another job in gaming as there are so many trying to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting money on software unfit for purpose. Do some systems analysis before you buy.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-07
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Staring down the barrel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casino Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Unfortunately they have all gone, all with the excuse that living wage has replaced the benefits. Not true.

    Cons

    Lack of vision and leadership from the top.

    Advice to Management

    A very sad place to be right now, A company that had great years when it had a vision and direction from the top, that has gone since Phil Urban left, they never managed to replace with someone that could guide them through the purchase of Gala, In hindsight the company was not ready in structure to take on a competitor. Over 500 redundancies, upper management that can't stop the income and attendance slide. 10% less people year after year. Bringing in people from outside of gaming that do not know or trust the long serving GM's. It is now a race to the bottom in cost cutting. Nobody has been safe from Head office all the way down to the cleaners. Team, customer, shareholder used to be the Mantra, Now it is cut, cut, cut. With little or no thought behind decisions. It all started with changes at the top. You knew when HR people that had been around for 20 years decided it was time to go, it was going to be the end. Mecca Bingo is a dying business, and gambling in a land based location is quickly following. They are calling it "fit for future" but in reality it is making cuts while it can, closures will be next. It won't be long until there is some kind of take over. The current owner has had his money and will more than likely be looking for an exit. Fortunately I was one of the lucky ones to take a redundancy payment and get out, the morale is rock bottom and there were people in tears at being made to stay and work!

    Show More
    Grosvenor Casinos2019-01-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "A once great operator that’s now lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The perception of people looking from outside the company is that it’s a well run and organised operation. The reality is far from it.

    Cons

    There is corporate and then there is Rank. The company uniform requires you to wear belt and braces at all times. There’s a real lack of vision and ambition across Grosvenor Casinos. The group is at best 3rd in class in terms of competition. Very tired, lacklustre estate with disengaged and demotivated teams running them.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the exec team are great, passionate leaders but lack the ability and sometimes the right personnel to filter their vision to the teams within the operation. The London casino operation is a prime example. It’s tired, dull and uninspiring and it’s been like this for years. There is no ambition to step out of the ordinary and try and do something different. You know it’s time to leave when they bring in somebody from Travelodge to run the show. Obviously championing the high volume very low spend model. I’ve worked for 4 different gaming organisations and Grosvenor is the most negative place I’ve ever worked. If you like working in a toxic environment and looking over your shoulder to try and see the axe coming before it hits you then work here.

    Show More
    Grosvenor Casinos2018-03-22
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be great.......not any more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great personalities in our team Good GM ( atm ) Friendly atmosphere at work in the casino with customers have a laugh Clear progression plan if you want to move up career ladder

    Cons

    The company seems to change its mind what direction it wants to go in all the time At the moment we have to push online gaming - they’ve no interest in the clubs futures & I think it’s looking bleak . No investment for refurbishing our clubs which are tired Not interested to listen to our views & people are frightened to even say there views. General managers have no real authority now & can’t make even small decisions Don't even feel safe to speak out about anything you don't agree with never ever felt like this in 13 years used to love my job . Lost all are benefits & so no real reason to work unsociable hours

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's the small stuff that matters to us little people in the clubs Live the company values instead off just expecting us to

    Grosvenor Casinos2018-01-31
  10. "changing business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    friendly staff and working with public

    Cons

    shift patterns are poor, no social life

    Advice to Management

    dealers wage is too low

    Grosvenor Casinos2017-12-20
Found 19 reviews