Grosvenor Casinos Reviews | Glassdoor

Grosvenor Casinos Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Grosvenor Casinos CEO  John O’Reilly
John O’Reilly
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "If I could give 0 I would!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nothing, I would not recommend Grosvenor to anyone.

    Cons

    The lowest paid casino operator in the UK. Greed has taken over.

    Advice to Management

    Hurry up and sell the company so a responsible employer can take over.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-07-29
  2. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casino Dealer in London, England

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    loud and busy environment, mostly working at night

    Advice to Management

    non

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-19
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Host in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Progress to different roles in your casino or other locations.

    Cons

    Minimum wage whether you work days or night shift till 6am.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Going down hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Head 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Your colleagues and some of the customers.

    Cons

    Major cutbacks and downsizing. I worked there for 7 years and every benefit that I started with was removed. Extra pay for working after midnight - gone Staff meals - gone Discounted staff meals - gone Christmas vouchers (around £125 worth) - gone Basically if you want some sort of career then this company isn't the place to be.

    Advice to Management

    The management at club level have a tough job dealing with all the cut backs and what seems to be a dying industry(land based casinos). Management at board level. Might as well just pull the plug, at the moment it's death by a thousand cuts.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-07-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Treats their staff horribly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Poker Dealer in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly rate once tips are factored in is ok

    Cons

    Staff are treated horribly. Customers get free parking, staff have to pay. Hugely understaffed and so everyone is constantly stressed. Food is still quite expensive even for staff. Feels like the company doesn't care at all

    Advice to Management

    Hire adequate staff. Being so critically understaffed is horrible for employees. And if you're going to pay for customer parking, it's a kick in the teeth to not give it to staff too

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Walsall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Poor wages. No respect or recognition. Long unsociable hours. No rewards. Verbal and physical abuse off customers. Your vehicle will be broke into.

    Advice to Management

    Leave.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-22
  7. "casino"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Croupier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fun atmosphere to work in sociable fun with other staff staff friendly below management promotion if face fits

    Cons

    unsociable hours pay bad harsh discipline procedures management treat staff badly no room for promotion

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-19
  8. "poker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Dealer in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good food , friendly staff , great atmosphere

    Cons

    lack of customers , tournament structures a bit lacking of attention

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-05-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "You will find a better job anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Room Dealer in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible shifts Tips are divided Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    No perks ( -50% from the meals.. avg meal is like 10£) Low salary Badly allocated breaks Short training time Vague lunch breaks Huge staff turnover Unsociable hours ( no extra pay for that ) Long shifts

    Advice to Management

    Fix the cons.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-05-28
  10. "Ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Dealer in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Made great friends, work life balance was manageable.

    Cons

    So many cuts in salary and benefits. Removed nightshift premium some time ago, used to get free meals on shift but since been removed. Management can’t seem to see the bigger picture and tend to micromanage staff over the most ridiculous things.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-05-25
Found 185 reviews