Grosvenor Casinos Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Grosvenor Casinos Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Grosvenor Casinos CEO  John O’Reilly
John O’Reilly
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "You will find a better job anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Room Dealer in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible shifts Tips are divided Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    No perks ( -50% from the meals.. avg meal is like 10£) Low salary Badly allocated breaks Short training time Vague lunch breaks Huge staff turnover Unsociable hours ( no extra pay for that ) Long shifts

    Advice to Management

    Fix the cons.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-05-28
  2. "Ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Dealer in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Made great friends, work life balance was manageable.

    Cons

    So many cuts in salary and benefits. Removed nightshift premium some time ago, used to get free meals on shift but since been removed. Management can’t seem to see the bigger picture and tend to micromanage staff over the most ridiculous things.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-05-25
  3. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time

    Pros

    Good salary Good tips Opportunity to gain experience

    Cons

    Handel complains Work over night

    Advice to Management

    Be attentive Back up your staff

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-14
  4. "Enjoy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time

    Pros

    Working different days and shifts

    Cons

    None at moment that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    None at present

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-12
  5. "Great work force"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, people, Hours, values, food

    Cons

    Support Office, Brand, People, Moral

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-08
  6. "Do not seem to care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be a fun place to work

    Cons

    Take away standard company benefits sold at interview to be absorbed by minimum wage increase. Do not pay anything at all extra for night shifts.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-17
  7. "Gaming Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GTM in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team, being part of a team with a family feeling.

    Cons

    could be chalenging at times

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not what they used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time

    Pros

    Personally for me I liked the shift work. Until I was made redundant the training programmes were excellent. I believe that has changed now though

    Cons

    The company is cutting everything to the bone which has had a knock on effect to morale. The gaming industry has changed over the years and the company is not really moving with the times. They still want to make the same profits as in previous years when there were a lot less restrictions on players. This does not work

    Advice to Management

    Your people are the most important, treat them as such and they will become the commodities you expect them to be. With the board of directors behaving how they do, this company will go downhill very quickly

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-03-23
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Croupier in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - On time payment - Friendly Environment - Professional Staff and Supervisors

    Cons

    - Monotonous work - Night shift

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-03-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Conditions for staff getting worse and worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Salaries frozen, redundancies, company squeezing more and more work out of those who are left. Staff morale at rock bottom and not always possible to get another job in gaming as there are so many trying to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting money on software unfit for purpose. Do some systems analysis before you buy.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-04-07
Found 187 reviews